Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good
The series was really good, the reviews were spot on, and the service was quick and easy, fantastic job guys
Published 6 months ago by luke

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Visual spectacle, but nothing special
As the description states, Guilty Crown is about a boy named Shu who lives in a Japan that has experienced a meteorite crash and the ravaging of the somewhat conspicuously named ''Apocalypse Virus''. Shu has a run in with an internet popstar named Inori, who just so happens to work as a freedom fighter at the weekends, and his world is changed forever as he has a...
Published 7 months ago by Christopher Morrow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Guilty Crown Series 1 Part 1 (Eps 01-11) [DVD] (DVD)
The series was really good, the reviews were spot on, and the service was quick and easy, fantastic job guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique programme that draws on a variety of elements to bring you an captivating story!, 13 Nov 2013
Guilty Crown primarily follows a shy & reserved school boy, Shu who is caught in the crossfire between a group rebels known as Funeral Parlor and the government in a world that has been devastated by a meteor crashing and in turn releasing a virus that divided the nation of Japan, leaving them to rely on international aid in their rebuilding.

Shu is caught at a cross roads because he develops the ability to wield a unique weapon that Funeral Parlor want to utilise for their goals, but at the same time the government become aware of his involvement with the group and want Shu to help them stop Funeral Parlor for the good of the suffering people of Japan.

A show that has some very unique characters (and their relationships with one another), tremendous action, stunning visuals and a story that constantly makes you intrigued and want to know what happens next. Definitely worth picking up if you're a fan of great action and lots of twists & turns along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best anime of recent years, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Crown Series 1 Part 1 (Eps 01-11) [DVD] (DVD)
Guilty Crown is one of few recent animes to have an original storyline not adapted from a manga or light novel which in my opinion is better as it means that the anime tells the entire story. Guilty Crown does have certain issues in regards to pacing however this does not affect the story that much (would have been better if 2 or 3 episodes longer). However Guilty crown does have some of the nicest animation i have ever seen and in my opinion the best soundtrack i have ever heard anime or otherwise.
Overall i would definitely recommend Guilty crown to anyone who like code geass as it is done by the same writers and has a similar feel. It also has the same director as death note and attack on titan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Crown Series 1 Part 1 (Eps 01-11) Blu-ray, 2 Feb 2014
By 
D. G. Slade "anime fan" (hazlemere uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shu is an average high school boy who on meeting the pop idol Inori inherits the hand of god which allows him to draw voids from any body he meets. The voids then form differnt weapons which he uses to help the resistance group known as Funeral Parlor.To fight the goverment's clandestine agency out to bring them down. The choice is his to make and the world his to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Anime, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Guilty Crown is focused around a boy named Shu who obtains a special power that lets him withdraw an object known as a void from every individual he comes into contact with. Without going into too much detail about the story I can honestly say that it is one of the most unique and intricate plot's iv'e seen in an anime for quite some time. Along with the exceptional plot you can find even better animation, music and character development. The visuals in this anime are as good as your going to get literally as you can clearly see the extent of the production value. The soundtrack on the other hand has been some of the most beautifully produced and heart touching music which consist of both vocal and instrumental performances. In particular My Dearest which is the opening to the first 12 episodes of the anime has definitely caught my eye while the ending them Departures has also managed to impress me to the point where I have sought out the individual CD's on Play Asia.

This anime is truly worth a watch for any anime follower as it does flourish in certain aspects and will ultimately leave you with a lasting impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Visual spectacle, but nothing special, 10 Dec 2013
As the description states, Guilty Crown is about a boy named Shu who lives in a Japan that has experienced a meteorite crash and the ravaging of the somewhat conspicuously named ''Apocalypse Virus''. Shu has a run in with an internet popstar named Inori, who just so happens to work as a freedom fighter at the weekends, and his world is changed forever as he has a mysterious power thrust upon him, and must decide how he will use that power, for what cause, and what purpose.

From the other reviews, you will find more praise than I will give here, but I just wanted to give a different perspective on this anime. I picked this up elsewhere but soon returned it after watching it. I'll start with the positive aspects of the show. The animation and art of the show is superb, with excellent, fluid fight scenes and vibrant, eye-catching colours that combined with the Blu-ray package is sure to give you a great visual experience, all thanks to the team at Production IG, who also worked on the original Ghost in the Shell, and its tv incarnation, Stand Alone Complex, so you know you are getting quality, and the soundtrack for the show is well done, there are no points where you feel that a track is out of place or not up to standard, so it's always nice when an anime has a good accompanying score. The dub for the show is also competent, some of the voices are grating or don't fit the characters, but it does its job and is not absolutely terrible. From a technical standpoint, this is one of the finest examples of a well produced anime in recent times.

However, there are some glaring negatives that need to be addressed. First, the plot. While at first the plot is quite intriguing enough, and the concept of the King's Right Hand is a great idea, the execution just does not match up. With awkward pacing at times, plot holes, nonsensical twists, and constant Deus Ex Machina all over that just happen along and are not there for convenience whatsoever (wink, wink), the show falls down as it jumps from one episode to the next, stumbling and bumbling like a drunk out on the town. An anime can have great action, and be visually sublime, a good soundtrack only adds to it too, but action is pointless without a cause, and so I found it hard to become invested in the show when watching. An example would be that the King's Right Hand is useless on anyone over the age of 17, which itself is a really convenient figure as Shu is at school surrounded by teenagers, but then it becomes utterly useless anywhere else as it has that age restriction. Following that, all the ways to solve whatever the episode's problem is are always on hand and ready for Shu to just remember about or stumble upon and use, and with that, all tension exits stage left. It seems like all the ideas for the show were thrown in a big pot, mixed, and then served as they settled. Second, the characters. I'll just come out and say it, I hated a lot of the characters. Shu is not as deep or complex a character as say Shinji from Evangelion or Spike from Bebop for example, and that seems to be what they were intending. He is a moody, perplexed, and socially awkward schoolboy, but not in an endearing or empathetic way, and can be infuriating, saying some of the strangest lines of dialogue I've heard, a point I'd make for a lot of the cast actually. Inori is also the Rei doll character, thus has no personality whatsoever, and what little character she does possess, when the plot finds it convenient to show it, changes sometimes on an almost episodic basis, completely throwing you. Gai is the standard cocky hero, who has insecurities and deep seated fears, but anyone who knows cliche archetypes can see through this immediately, and so he is just a boring lead. And third, character development. Which is painful to watch. Of course, the character development is hamfisted and forced into episodes very awkwardly, and leaps from one character to the next, throwing in cliche after cliche, with some poor writing to boot. Things like Shu exclaiming ''Inori is my everything!'' after he's known her for a fortnight at best, and also knowing apparently she shows no interest in him, makes you wonder at times.

But, all that aside, I feel that there was a genuine enthusiasm behind this project from the creators. The way I see it, it's a visually impressive trainwreck of a show, with a nice accompanying soundtrack for said trainwreck. It's not clever, and the plot and characters leave a lot to be desired, but if you don't care about it as a whole, and just want some big, dumb, fun action, if you switch your brain off, you could probably find enjoyment with it. I personally can't however, and this is reflected in this review and score.

Thanks for reading, take a look around about the show and decide for yourself, this is my opinion after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guilty Crown Series 1 Part 1 (Eps 01-11) [DVD]
23.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews