Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Conan..
This new edition of Conan the Barbarian serves up the best quality yet, the picture is slightly better due to the special features being on a seperate disc, but the main improvement is the sound.
The legendary soundtrack is now rendered (at last!)in pure DTS sound providing 5.1 channel perfection and it sounds incredible!
The special features from the 2003...
Published on 18 April 2005 by the_nutopian

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar.
This is a review for the steelbook blu-ray edition.
As a long fan and admirer of this film,(I first saw this in the cinema in September 1982,and have owned every version both on VHS and DVD) I can honestly say I am somewhat disappointed.
As it is a blu-ray,you would obviously expect this version to have the best picture quality,however,it does'nt.
There is...
Published 11 months ago by Howard Watson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Conan.., 18 April 2005
This new edition of Conan the Barbarian serves up the best quality yet, the picture is slightly better due to the special features being on a seperate disc, but the main improvement is the sound.
The legendary soundtrack is now rendered (at last!)in pure DTS sound providing 5.1 channel perfection and it sounds incredible!
The special features from the 2003 'Special Edition' are reproduced here, with the only new feature (not history of fantasy films as advertised)being a short history of Conan with interviews with various fantasy writers, including those who worked on Marvels comic book adaption, Artists and the great James Earl Jones.
'Conan the Barbarian: Collectors Edition' delivers the goods, and if it were not for the daft censorship of BBFC butchering parts of this glorious film, then I would be quite comfortable in labeling this as Cinematic perfection.
This DVD is a must for your collection and I insist you order now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle of Edge Enhancement, 22 July 2011
At long last, 'Conan the Barbarian' comes to Blu-ray. I'm sure most of you reading this will already be familiar with the film, so I'll be brief. It's magnificent. The land of Hyboria is brought to vivid life, the action is brutal and exciting, Basil Poledouris' score is simply breathtaking, James Earl Jones is evil incarnate, Arnold punches a camel... Sure, it's also clunky and dated in that charmingly 80s way, and there's some unintentional comedy on offer (not least from Arnie's "UARGHAAAARGHNYUARGH" moments). But it's such a spectacle that almost all of its shortcomings are forgiven.

As for the new hi-def transfer, it's sort of a good news/bad news situation. The good news is that, for the most part, this presents a very pleasing and filmic viewing experience. There are no DNR issues to report (at least none that I could detect), and film grain has been rightfully preserved. This is quite a soft-looking film by nature - the same goes for most 80s movies - but there is still a decent amount of fine detail to be spotted.

BUT, the bad news: edge enhancement. It sticks out like a sore thumb, I'm afraid, and can be very distracting in certain scenes. Just watch the early sequence where Thulsa Doom lops off Conan's mother's head. When the young Barbarian looks unbelievably at his now motherless hand, his fingers are surrounded by jarring, thick white bars.

So a little disappointing, but certainly not a deal breaker. As previously stated, it generally looks fine, and is the best the film has looked since its orginal release. I have no complaints about the revamped HD sound, however. This is Poledouris at his most thunderous/tender/epic/enchanting, I could go on.

I guess the extras do deserve a mention. Everything from the previous special edition DVD has returned, along with three new docos - one covering the art of sword making, another comprised of early interview footage featuring Schwarzenegger and James Earl Jones, while the last takes an interesting look at the history of the Conan character. It's a good collection of bonus features which should please most 'Conan' fans. Of course, the main draw here is the legendary commentary provided by Arnold and director John Milius. Just... give it a listen.

All in all, this is a worthy upgrade over the DVD (and as another, more enthusiastic review has noted, it is now uncut in the UK providing you change your player's Disc Menu Language setting prior to putting the disc in). Universal will be releasing a new extended cut in the States this August, and their transfer may well best Fox's effort here, but for those who desire the original cut in its best quality yet, I highly recommend this.

Artwork's a bit crap though, isn't it?

EDIT: Should have done this ages ago, sorry, but it turns out that Universal's US release used the exact same transfer. The only difference between them is that Universal's doesn't have the "Wild Blueberries" scene (where Conan and Subotai have that heart-to-heart talk) which takes place just before the climactic battle. So the UK release is actually longer for once.

Also, it turns out that there ARE audio issues. I still stand by my original score, but check out the comments for more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar., 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Howard Watson (Margate,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
This is a review for the steelbook blu-ray edition.
As a long fan and admirer of this film,(I first saw this in the cinema in September 1982,and have owned every version both on VHS and DVD) I can honestly say I am somewhat disappointed.
As it is a blu-ray,you would obviously expect this version to have the best picture quality,however,it does'nt.
There is a lot of grain evident,the colours are not particularly vibrant and the print used here,looks very tired.
Of course it is still cut by the BBFC,but sadly it is no improvement over the FOX DVD release.Therefore,if you already own the DVD definitive edition,stick with it.
I can safely say the UNIVERSAL release on region 1 DVD and the Korean import are both vastly superior in picture quality,although they are both in the original mono soundtrack.On top of this,they are both uncut.
If we could only have this version with the 5,1 surround soundtrack,then we'd have it all!
As regards the steelbook,at first glance it looks lovely,but upon closer inspection we notice the original Renato Casaro poster artwork is doctored.Conan's face is different and a severed head has been added to his right hand.Once again,this being a Fox release,we also do not have the original Conan lettering with the sword going through the name.
So,all in all,what promised to be so good,is sadly just another average release.
A great shame and not the release this classic movie deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Editon ? Afraid not... :(, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. P. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Conan The Barbarian is probably my fave film. Since 2002, this film has been released on DVD 4 times, 2 of which were Special Editions, and now this Definitive Edition. All my life I had been waiting for a uncut version, but once again its the same old, same old - I'm not sure what the previous reviewer was on about concerning some cuts 'restored' but the fact is that like the previous DVD releases, some of the 'horse fall' scenes have been cut, mostly in the final battle sequence. Its particularly poxy because, like before, if you watch the Conan Unchained documentary on Disc 2, you will see one of the cut scenes shown ! (its the scene where Conan, and Rexor on a horse, charge each other, and Conan cuts at the legs of the horse - in the film, the actual fall sequence of the horse is cut, but its in the Documentary - ludicrous). As before, the film features the extended 'directors cut' ending with the Princess reinstated (on the old VHS Pan & Scan copies, the final scene did not have the Princess and is much shorter, but all the DVD releases have the extended ending - the old VHS ending would have been an interesting extra) and also has the short Subotai and Conan remeniscing scene (between the Funeral Pyre and Battle Of The Mounds) which was in the previous version and is similar to the scene early on when Conan and Subotai talk about the gods. I'll give this release one star cos the metal tin case is beautiful ! - but if you want an uncut version, the best route is to buy the US version (Region 1) from Amazon.com or the French "Edition Prestige" from Amazon.fr, which is Region 2 and has the English 5.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONAN - A LANDMARK FILM ON A LANDMARK DVD, 19 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
If you have not seen Conan the Barbarian before, you are in for a treat. If you have, buy this DVD now. Why, you might ask, is it priced ridiculously cheap then? Your guess is as good as mine. This DVD package is perhaps the best I have seen in terms of sound, documentaries and commentary. The soundtrack in Conan is totally overwhelming, stirring and brilliant - I am not exaggerating when I rank it as one of the best I have heard. With this blaring from your speakers occumpanied by a first-rate picture quality, it is an experience for any film fan. The documentary 'Conan Unchained' has all the interviews (Schwarzenegger, James Earl Jones, the directors, producers) and covers in depth how the movie was made. The deleted scenes are a bit dodgy though, it is obvious why they did not make the final cut.
As for the film itself, it is Schwarzeneggers best film (probably on level par with The Terminator) and James Earl Jones is haunting as the evil cult leader. The violence in this film is extremely raw and comic book, but are staged remarkably realistically for its date. Some famous scenes include Big Arnie talking to Crumb (Yes, talking!) and the magnificent revenge face-paint Thulsa Doom sequence ('YOU...'). I now appreciate how good this film is after seeing it on DVD. It doesn't even compare to Conan The Destroyer - that was a shocking attempt at a sequel. This however was a defining moment in 80's cinema and marked the greatest sword and sorcery film when released. It should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but one fatal flaw!, 8 Aug. 2004
You don't get more classic than these three with Arnie showing why he was such a star in the eighties. Well worth the purchase but it would've been five stars if it wasn't for one fatal flaw. Commando has a hell of a lot of violence cut out, it's like watching a Channel 5 version not a DVD! What's that all about?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crom would be proud!, 9 July 2011
By 
J. HILTON "jameshilton2" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First and foremost the picture and sound quality of thie blu ray restoration is simply superb!
I like a lot of fans have previously owned Conan the Barbarian on VHS (way back when...) and again on DVD. Upon watching this version I have seen details that I have never seen before. The scene where Conan is crucified on the tree of woe, for example, you can see the individual grains of sand on his chest as he is dying. The sound too is great, the metalic clash of swords and those meaty 'thunks' as bodies are cleaved are very clear.

I've just began watching the bonus features but it looks like all of the features from the DVD Se edition are included plus some new content as well.

I just hope the new version of Conan due out soon lives up to its predecesor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CONAN THE BARBARIAN, 15 Jan. 2009
By 
Yusaf Khan "BOOK SOUL" (BIRMINGHAM ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
HAVING PURCHASDED THIS SO CALLED SPECIAL EDITION, I WAS RATHER LET DOWN, AS ONCE AGAIN IT WAS ANOTHER RELEASE WHICH WAS CENSORED. CONAN FANS DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND TRY TO OBTAIN THE FRENCH 'EDITION PRESTIGE' VERSION, THIS IS UNCUT AND CAN BE VIEWED IN ENGLISH Dts 5.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST CONAN IN ITS FULL UNCUT VERSION, 21 July 2011
WE HAVE HAD TO PUT UP WITH A BBFC EDITED VERSION FOR YEARS NOW BUT FINALLY WE HAVE CONAN THE BARBARIAN IN ITS FULL HORSE FALL,CAMEL KNOCKOUT PUNCH,BLOOD THIRSTY GLORY AT LAST.YOU MAY WONDER WHAT IM GOING ON ABOUT IF YOU HAVE ALREADY BOUGHT AND VIEWED THE BLU RAY DISC AND SEEN IT IS THE CUT VERSION,THE TRICK TO PLAY THE UNCUT VERSION IS TO TURN ON YOUR BLUE RAY PLAYER,GO TO YOUR BLU RAY MENU PAGE AND SWITCH YOUR SET UP FROM ENGLISH TO DUTCH FORMAT.THEN PLACE THE BLU RAY DISC IN TO THE TRAY AND PRESS PLAY AND TO YOUR AMAZEMENT WATCH CONAN IN ITS ORIGINAL FORMAT!!!BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arnie Unleashes The Barbarian, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dvd Info.
Running time 121 minutes, Trailer,Commentary with John Milius & Arnold Schwarzenegger, Making of Conan, Deleted scenes & mini featurettes.

Trivia.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger was the first & only choice for the role of Conan.
2)James Earl Jones is the voice of Darth Vader in the Star Wars movies episodes 3-6.
3)Arnie received 5% of the movie's profits.
4)This was meant to be the first in a series of Conan movie's but Arnie to date has only ever filmed one sequel 1984 Conan The Destroyer although it is rumoured he's to reprise the role in a third movie titled King Conan.
5) Arnie extra Sven Ole Thorsen appears as villainous warrior Thorgrim.

Review.
A village is attacked by a evil ruler of a snake cult Thulsa Doom who murders a young boy's parent's & takes there son captive were he becomes a slave, His name is Conan.

Many year's later Conan now a man is trained as a warrior & after many year's of being a slave & fighting the toughest fighters he is set free as he set's out on a quest to avenge his parent's murders & solve the riddle of steel.

Conan is helped on his quest & falls in love with a warrior woman named Valeria & is also aided by an archer named Subotai & a Chinese wizard as they seek to rescue Princess Yasmina daughter of King Osric from Thulsa Dooms snake cult palace, There they battle many of Doom's barbaric warrior's leading to Conan coming face to face showdown with his parent's murderer Thulsa Doom.

Timelord Thoughts.
I remember winning a art competition when I was 8 & my prize was a Conan annual & featured the plot of this movie, I remember the annual had Arnie on the hardcover as Conan in camouflage.

This is a excellent fantasy movie full of sinister villains & great bloody battles that deliver although on occasion the swords occasionally miss there target's Shhhhh don't tell.

Arnold Schwarzenegger brings Robert E.Howards character to life whom delivers the look of a Barbarian & certainly can deliver in the movie's action scenes.

Sandahi Bergman is sexy & seductive as Valeria who can certainly handle a sword & gets to deliver plenty of hack n slash scenes as she aids Conan on his quest to avenge his parent's murders.

Of course voice of Darth Vader James Earl Jones is great as the villainous Thulsa Doom who has an hypnotic look to his character even though the special effects of Dooms transformation into a snake have aged badly, James Earl Jones handles the villainous role with expressions & needs very little dialogue to portray his character's thoughts.

What is slightly annoying is the minor cuts to the battle scenes that involves horses being attacked causing them to fall down, These cuts haven't been restored to any UK prints but are uncut in region 2 prints from the France dvd/Blu ray version's of the film.

Although the cuts are very minor do the BBFC class the British public as imbeciles & think we can't separate fantasy from reality as were deemed judged as being dumb by them in thinking that horses were actually slain when they fallen? IT'S PRETEND BBFC, Yet there are no cuts to any of the movies bloody battle scenes.

This is a improved dvd transfer than the previous dvd release as putting the extras on a second disc has improved the picture & sound quality somewhat as the print seems sharper & richer in colour than before & this is the best dvd version to purchase.

Classic fantasy film with a great performance by Arnie in the title role & a highly recommended 2 disc dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conan the Barbarian - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1982]
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews