Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC TRANSFER
First let me give you a quick synopsis: In order to save the life of a scientist, who holds the secret to miniaturization, a group of people, including a surgeon, are miniaturized inside a submarine and injected into his bloodstream to perform an operation. They only have one hour, before they grow back to full size.

As this film was made in the 60's, once...
Published 17 months ago by Graham

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NICE PICTURE
Well worth it if you want to wallow a bit
You can see the wires clearly
Nice extras, also on Voyage To The Bottom of the Sea.
Two nice additions to your colloection
Published 16 months ago by Vlad the emailer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars body of mind, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966] (Blu-ray)
this is a story which really is unreal going inside the human
body to try and perform an operation and the things that
do happen along the way a very clever and interesting
film still remains fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Body Journey, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Tiger (England UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my wife as a reminiscence item. We had seen it a long while ago, saw some reference to it on TV and decided to buy it. We thoroughly enjoyed it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly conceived. Brilliantly executed Sci-fi, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great film. Watched it in the 70's as a kid. Stunning FX for the period it was made. Should do a remake sometime with today's technology. Brilliant idea + Raquel Welch = deep joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film. Good., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched the film years ago and rated the film then as 5 star.The quality of the film was good,the acting in the film was good and the imagination of the film as a whole was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The original micronauts, 18 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A top scientist is critically injured while fleeing soviet assassins. In a desperate attempt to prevent his death, the submarine `Proteus' and crew are subjected to an experimental miniaturisation process and injected into his bloodstream. There follows a surreal ( psychedelic, even) voyage into inner space, as the channels, cavities and chambers of the human body are revealed, and depicted as vast and alien, and the microscopic team face all manner of dangers (not least from themselves). What wonders and horrors await in this race against time to save the comatose scientist?.

I first saw this film a very long time ago, and although a science fiction and horror addict from an early age,(not easily freaked-out by the weird and fantastical) the idea of our own bodies containing environs even more bizarre than distant planets or cosmic dimensions had a unnerving effect on me.

Stunning special effects and a chilling atonal score help make this trippy 60's cold war sci fi adventure far more than a lesson in human biology. Raquel Welch looks great in a wet suit, Donald Pleasence is at his creepy best, there's a deliciously horrible death scene towards the end, and although the whole premise is wonderfully absurd, it is far more memorable than the similarly themed 80's film; 'Inner Space'.

Watch out for the phagocytes!!

One star deducted because the DVD is rather short on extras.

Trivia; Isaac Asimov wrote the paperback novelisation for this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good 1960's sci-fi with no cardboard sets or silly monsters, 10 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966] (Blu-ray)
Very good transfer to DVD, acting is a bit Time Tunnel at times and it is very obviously 60's, but a fine,clever film just as good as when I saw it at the cinema 50 years ago.I am still not sure whether Racquel Welch actually had any acting talent.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
A. M. Bennett (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
It,s lovely to see this again ,I watched this when I was a kid on the tele,not long after we got a colour set.As good to see again now as it was 35 odd years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NICE PICTURE, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966] (Blu-ray)
Well worth it if you want to wallow a bit
You can see the wires clearly
Nice extras, also on Voyage To The Bottom of the Sea.
Two nice additions to your colloection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child-hood memories!, 3 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [DVD] (DVD)
Funny! I seem to remember wetting the bed after watching this! Mind you i was only 5 at the time! Does`nt seem as scary now! Still a very good film,brilliant special effects for it`s day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another must......, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966] (Blu-ray)
Great transfer to Bluray. Thoroughly recommend its purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966]
Fantastic Voyage [Blu-ray] [1966] by Richard Fleischer (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews