Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars61
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2008
Just watched this movie again for the first time in thirty years, haven't seen it since it was a favorite sunday afternoon flick when I was about ten and unbelievably, IT STILL ROCKS!

I have read some reviews about the cheesy effects but then there's something great about a movie where your imagination is required to fill in the gaps. I haven't seen a movie in years that left me on tender hooks from start to finish like this. Truly magnificent sci-fi classic.

To see this movie in restored 235.1 widescreen is a sheer joy and the two channel stereo track works perfectly on a surround system, it's the closest you will get to seeing the origional cinema release. The movie score is intense and what more can you say for a movie that has Raquel Welsh in a skin tight 'white' wet suit.

Bliss!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2003
Fantastic indeed when it first hit the cinema screen in the early 70's, science fact has caught up with Science Fiction.
The idea that a machine of atomic size can be intoduced into the blood stream to target a specific site in the body has arrived with the, "magic bullet," therapies now under development. Even though the notion of mechanical and human minaturisation remains fantasy one has to wonder for how long this will be the case.
The value of the film today, however, lies not in the realm of passive audience watching, but in its (the film's) use as an interactive tool in the teaching of basic human biology. Especially for students who have difficulty in visualising the abstract three dimensional world, watching and discussing the film can provide the means of achieving a mind broadening leap in students' understanding of the mechanisms that define the function of the internal 3D world
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
First let me give you a quick synopsis: In order to save the life of a scientist, who holds the secret to miniaturization, a group of people, including a surgeon, are miniaturized inside a submarine and injected into his bloodstream to perform an operation. They only have one hour, before they grow back to full size.

As this film was made in the 60's, once inside, it turns into a psychedelic adventure. As the plot suggests, it is sheer fantasy, but enjoy it for what it is, entertainment.

When this film was made lava lamps had already been invented, so you can see where the ideas were coming from.

The film is presented on blu ray, in it's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. Picture Quality is outstanding, considering this film is now 47 years old, the image is pin sharp, with vibrant colours
the Soundtrack has an optional 5.1 track, but the film was originally shot with a mono soundtrack.
This transfer looks better than some newer films.

Final word:
definitely worth buying on blu ray
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film tells the tale of a team of specialists being shrunk to microscopic
size on board a submarine 'Proteus' which is injected into a ''key'' scientists
bloodstream to identify his medical condition in the hope of saving his life.
The team encounter several difficulties along the way including a traitor on
board.
The journey has to be completed within 'one hour' after which the mini beings
would begin to enlarge.
Recently I reviewed a 70's film and was very critical of the picture quality,
believing that if the distributors release older films such as this onto the
'Blu-ray' format a reasonable upgrade is the very least that should be offered.
This film tends to prove the point I was making when reviewing 'The Fury' ...
'The Fantastic Voyage' has been upgraded to a standard that I would describe as
acceptable........which leaves me with a simple task....recommending the viewing
of this family-friendly movie from yesteryear
Overall--acceptable picture and sound quality.
The disc also has several additional features on board for those interested,
including....
* Lava Lamps and celluloid: a tribute to the visual effects of the film.
* Commentary by film and music historian 'Jeff Bond'
* Whirlpool scene: storyboard to scene.
* Trailer & TV spots.
* Commentary by film and music historian 'Jeff Bond'
* Isolated score track with commentary by film and music historians 'Jeff Bond'
'John Burligame' - and 'Nick Redman'
The special effects during the film were in 1966 pretty impressive at that time,
today of course we have, the ever improving computer enhancements.
The film also has an impressive cast list which includes...'Stephen Boyd' 'Edmond
O'brien' 'Arthur Kennedy' 'Donald Pleasence' and 'Raquel Welch'
* Worth revisiting on the 'HD' format.
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2008
This is a movie that has played tricks in my memory over the years. I first saw this when I was a child, and for some reason recall a much more exciting journey with lots more happenings, including a much longer passing through a beating heart - which doesn't actually happen at all, and so I guess the memory really does play some giant tricks with the passage of time!

I guess many young people may be very critical of this film, since nowadays there are so many much more advanced and sophisticated special effects. However, for its day, this was quite brilliant!

A group of Experts climb into a submarine and are 'miniaturised' and sent on a mission inside a human body to repair some damage to the patient's brain - a fantastic voyage indeed! Of course the team meet with all kinds of 'natural' perils that are within the human body along the way.

There are some 'silent' points in this movie pretty early on which have impact.

Stars Donald Pleasence and Raquel Welch.

This has been re-mastered to a very high degree.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 October 2014
So a passenger plane lands at an airport to be greeted by a military escort. Off steps a nervous looking [Donald Pleasance]. His car is firebombed and he’s shot at –and the titles haven’t even started yet. Cut to a hospital scene of a man in a coma and the titles roll. The beginning is very 1960’s James Bond, underground bunkers that are minor towns, technology before its time etc.. Science can miniaturise anything, but the coma guy can stabilise the process and stop the minis growing big again after 60 minutes. Plan B is to send in a surgical team to provides life-saving brain surgery. And there you have it. A simple but fun idea
All dated by today's standards but lots of curiosity fun to look at now. Sure the scales are all messed up but for the time this was truly ground-breaking. After the initial start the film does plod a bit as the ‘boring’ technicalities and plot are explained, but once they get going it turns into a giant psychedelic trip. Raquel Welch looks stunning as ever [but she’s under-used and seems superfluous to the story], Donald Pleasance excels as the claustrophobic doctor and the little tracking antennae are brilliant bits of escapist fun.
The non blue ray extras are limited to scene selection, a theatrical trailer and multiple language selection only, but picture quality and sound are surprisingly good and better than many modern DVDs.
Great family viewing, this is also a brilliantly simplistic introduction to how the body works but don’t get too analytical or the contradictions and flaws could destroy the fun. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A medical and science crew board a submarine and are miniaturised and injected into an important foreign scientist body. The mission is to remove a blood clot on his brain that was suffered during an assassination attempt. Once shrunk and in their new bodily world, the team must battle the body's defence systems as well as avoiding trouble with the major organs. Also on a clock of one hour before they return to normal size, they have to also contend with the fact there may be a saboteur on board. This is one fantastical voyage indeed.

The crew's voyage thru the body's bloodstream and beyond is brought to life by the use of some inventive special effects. Thus making Fantastic Voyage one of the more visually appealing genre pictures of the time. The film won Oscars for Best Colour Art Direction and for Best Visual Effects. It was also nominated for Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Sound Effects. It is in short a tip top production. Based on the novel written by Otto Klement and Jay Lewis Bixby, the story is imaginative and totally engrossing, which is something that helps offset the staid performances from the cast. But really are we watching this for thespian delights? No of course not. We want director Richard Fleischer to take us on a perilous journey thru the human body, and maybe just give us some suspense into the bargain. Something that is achieved, even if the ending is a little too rushed for comfort. Silly and wonderful. 7/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This looks fantastic and sounds great, it's not the best transfer in the world, but it is a damned good one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I'm not a doctor and biology wasn't my strongest subject at school but for a sci fi film from the 60s about shrinking a submarine and injecting it into a human body so it can perform medical operations from the inside this film actually seemed like a sensible and realistic expression of a completely unrealistic concept. The acting is strong, the effects look good and hold up pretty well.

What strikes me the most is that as a film viewer watching in 2015 after seeing Interstellar and Moon and other recent 'now or near future' sci fi films with their huge budgets and top quality CGI effects, I found myself getting sucked into this film and NOT laughing at the sets or the practical effects or the overly obvious green screen. The film has a long surviving quality about it that I hope continues to last because despite the moments of cheesiness and points in the plot where the characters survive because they just get lucky, this is a fun film and as far as I'm concern a classic of sci fi.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Although many younger people would find this film 'slow moving', it's one of those gems I remember seeing on the TV a few times in the 1970s. The effects were groundbreaking for the time and although they look dated now, the film is still very enjoyable and worth watching. The Blu Ray quality is very good and there are some worthy extras.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.