Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book Elizabeth by William Shawcross. I have always been interested in Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother's childhood.
Published 1 month ago by Elizabeth Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars charming
interesting but well edited so if you are looking to find something you didnt know you wont find it here
Published 17 days ago by heathers reading kist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars charming, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
interesting but well edited so if you are looking to find something you didnt know you wont find it here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book Elizabeth by William Shawcross. I have always been interested in Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother's childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Duchess of York, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duchess of York (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting book but after a time the unending similar styled letters became tedious. It did however provide clear indication that the union between the Duke and Duchess was a happy one which ultimately saved the monarchy; that the Duchess was a fun loving person who was serious about issues and circumstances which had a detrimental affect on others much less fortunate than herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a normal girl!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
The smiles this young girl brought to my face. Whilst many letters she wrote to her mother she could have been writing to her young best friend. She had various nicknames for her and as she said wrote a lot of nonsense to her. However most letters are to one of her government's, and she had several. They were best friends for many years. She told her all her secrets, her dreams, the soldiers who were getting over their injuries from WW1 at the castle in Scotland where she spent much of her time and which ones she fell in love with. As she got older she detailed her social life, the events she loved and the ones she would rather avoid. All examples that any of us would tell our best friend, & in detail!
This is the 1st of 4 books of letters written by Queen Elizabeth throughout her live. Well worth a read as I believe letters show the inner soul of a person. I NOW START ON BOOK 2 WITH GREAT INTEREST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration to all widows!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful insight to the Queen Mother and the special way she could write about deep things in a way thousands of widows could identify with - just lovely. Every widow should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like it despite the fact that Im sure this has been severely edited., 4 Feb 2014
By 
Kerrypickle "KLE" (South Glos England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen (Kindle Edition)
Bought this and then was given the hardback edition.
Worrying that this history should come so cheap (59pence) in both formats, just under 12 shillings in very old money!
You don't need to be a "Royalist" or whatever the current term is to see the changes in the social and political climate of the late Queen Mothers lifetime.
Despite the editing, it gives a few new insights into the much published and rehashed life and times of the Queen Mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
I was a bit disappointed by this book. There was nothing to it. Childish letters saying .nothing of interest really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She was quite a lady, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duchess of York (Kindle Edition)
I have rated this as 5 star because it was very easily read biography.
It should appeal to anyone interest in the changes in British society of the last century.
it also was revealing in its treatment of the Royal Family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars repetative, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
Although I know it is a collection of letters and I presume they were faithfully copied, I found the use of pet names a little irritating but I appreciate they had to be included to remain truthful to the original letters. I think the next two books which deal with an older Elizabeth will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good help, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Kindle Edition)
This product really is a seriously good helper when my chest is bad. I have COPD and this is just the think to help at night to get a good nights sleep without wheezing and in the day to get me onto an even keel. I checked with my GP and he approved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duchess of York
Duchess of York by William Shawcross
0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews