Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical menagerie
It’s rare you come across an LP where the influences are apparent but the overall sound is quite unlike anything else. The musical gumbo takes in elements of highlife, fidgety guitar funk, R&B slow jams, quirky Planet Mu electronics along with more niche African sub-culture sounds like the frenetic Shangaan electro. As a whole it darts from one idea to another but...
Published 6 months ago by Tee Double You Bee Esq

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Wizards cd
It was recommended by a friend & wasn't as innovative as I expected… I would classify it as easy world music listening
Published 9 months ago by Dissatisfied


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical menagerie, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: John Wizards (Audio CD)
It’s rare you come across an LP where the influences are apparent but the overall sound is quite unlike anything else. The musical gumbo takes in elements of highlife, fidgety guitar funk, R&B slow jams, quirky Planet Mu electronics along with more niche African sub-culture sounds like the frenetic Shangaan electro. As a whole it darts from one idea to another but manages to retain a cohesive and addictive personality all of its own despite the eclectic nature.

The very best quality of this album is the open-hearted, grin-inducing, life-affirming vibe that pervades every tune – check out ‘Iyongwe’ & ‘I’m Still a Serious Guy’ for details.

Easily one of my favourite LPs from 2013 and a ray of sunshine I highly recommend for cloudy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of year 2013 for me, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: John Wizards (Audio CD)
John Wizards are something pretty special. From South Africa these guys have made some truly magical music. The previous review stated this is no easy going world music. I would agree in the sense that it is not really world music. The album fuses indie, dance, and funk. Smooth silky guitars and beautiful singing by Emmanuel (From Rwanda) and John Withers (South Africa). Seriously worth spending some money on and seeing live if you get the chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wizards (MP3 Download)
this is such an amazing summer album. its sounds sweet while high on a sunday morning. buy it now . boom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 19 Jan 2014
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Wizards (Audio CD)
I got this based on the fact it was in the Guardian's top ten albums of the year and wasn't let down. Its varied and generally quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastically original and creative, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wizards (Audio CD)
What a lovely fresh South African album, mixing and blending African sounds with everything from funk to post rock... I would go so far as to say it is a masterpiece.
Very well done, managing to stretch the canvass so wide without sounding like it is being forced!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Wizards cd, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wizards (Audio CD)
It was recommended by a friend & wasn't as innovative as I expected… I would classify it as easy world music listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Wizards
John Wizards by John Wizards (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews