Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2013
O'Brien and Scott have concocted a quite magical chemistry, often achieved by alternating roles and blending the two voices so that you are sometimes uncertain as to who is doing what. Broadly speaking, Scott has the baritone voice and plays mainly guitar and five-string banjo, while O'Brien supplies the High Lonesome Sound high harmony vocals and mandolin and fiddle.
But this is an oversimplification, as occasionally Scott throws in a falsetto whooping vocal and swaps high /low responsibilities with O'Brien in mid-stream - their teamwork is good enough for either to throw in a potential spanner at any time, and the other has the ears and the skill to pick it up immediately.The songs are mostly original and very fine too, but they are joined by the great John Prine on a rendition of his beautiful song 'Paradise' , a sort of Kentucky version of 'How Green Was My Valley', lamenting the destruction of beautiful hillsides by open-cast coal mining. Unforgettable Moments and wonderful new memories.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
i bought this after downloading a solo album by Tim O'brien . An absolute revelation (to me at least) as i was never what you could call a fan of Americana/Bluegrass whatever. The musicianship on this album is of the highest order, and i heartily recommend it to the uninitiated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Saw these two chaps at the Transtlantic sessions at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester back in February 2014, and they were inspirational. The music here does not disappoint and whilst they show brilliant technique there is also that simmering passion that the folk scene seems to provide time and time again..........these fella's play with their hearts on their sleeves. Sensational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
My Wife bought this because of the Transatlantic session link. I listen to all the music that comes in the house so I settled down as normal with no advance information. It is a brilliant piece of work that is also very well recorded. It stopped the clocks !

A pity that there is no information on the Cd sleeve.

Brilliant though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Just saw these guys perform at the Transatlantic Sessions concern in Glasow. They managed to steal the show, which is some going considering the quality of the lineup. Judging by the way this CD was selling after the show there were many others who shared my opinion. They are both great musicians with fine voices who perform brilliantly together and this CD does them justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
These two are, as well as being superb singers, are incredible musicians. Many favourites on this album, particularly Memories and Moments and Brother Wind. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
two of the finest purveyors of this genre, simply stupendous. catch them on you tube/transatlantic sessions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
There isn't a track I don't like this CD hasn't moved far from my bose!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Yet another fine collaboration from Tim and Darrell. A pity that the CD comes in a cheap cardboard case with no internal notes. I would pay extra to get that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.13
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)