Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation
i bought this after downloading a solo album by Tim O'brien . An absolute revelation (to me at least) as i was never what you could call a fan of Americana/Bluegrass whatever. The musicianship on this album is of the highest order, and i heartily recommend it to the uninitiated.
Published 11 months ago by Cumbrianblue11

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal
I thought it was boring with very little originality and rather poor songs--more work and flair was greatly needed in my opinion
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Richard S. Butler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
i bought this after downloading a solo album by Tim O'brien . An absolute revelation (to me at least) as i was never what you could call a fan of Americana/Bluegrass whatever. The musicianship on this album is of the highest order, and i heartily recommend it to the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Moments creating new Memories, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
O'Brien and Scott have concocted a quite magical chemistry, often achieved by alternating roles and blending the two voices so that you are sometimes uncertain as to who is doing what. Broadly speaking, Scott has the baritone voice and plays mainly guitar and five-string banjo, while O'Brien supplies the High Lonesome Sound high harmony vocals and mandolin and fiddle.
But this is an oversimplification, as occasionally Scott throws in a falsetto whooping vocal and swaps high /low responsibilities with O'Brien in mid-stream - their teamwork is good enough for either to throw in a potential spanner at any time, and the other has the ears and the skill to pick it up immediately.The songs are mostly original and very fine too, but they are joined by the great John Prine on a rendition of his beautiful song 'Paradise' , a sort of Kentucky version of 'How Green Was My Valley', lamenting the destruction of beautiful hillsides by open-cast coal mining. Unforgettable Moments and wonderful new memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it stopped the clocks, 15 April 2014
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
My Wife bought this because of the Transatlantic session link. I listen to all the music that comes in the house so I settled down as normal with no advance information. It is a brilliant piece of work that is also very well recorded. It stopped the clocks !

A pity that there is no information on the Cd sleeve.

Brilliant though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
Saw these two chaps at the Transtlantic sessions at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester back in February 2014, and they were inspirational. The music here does not disappoint and whilst they show brilliant technique there is also that simmering passion that the folk scene seems to provide time and time again..........these fella's play with their hearts on their sleeves. Sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real musicians, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
These two are, as well as being superb singers, are incredible musicians. Many favourites on this album, particularly Memories and Moments and Brother Wind. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic moments, 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
Just saw these guys perform at the Transatlantic Sessions concern in Glasow. They managed to steal the show, which is some going considering the quality of the lineup. Judging by the way this CD was selling after the show there were many others who shared my opinion. They are both great musicians with fine voices who perform brilliantly together and this CD does them justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doesn't get better than this, 18 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
two of the finest purveyors of this genre, simply stupendous. catch them on you tube/transatlantic sessions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
There isn't a track I don't like this CD hasn't moved far from my bose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal, 7 May 2014
By 
Mr. Richard S. Butler (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories & Moments (Audio CD)
I thought it was boring with very little originality and rather poor songs--more work and flair was greatly needed in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memories & Moments
Memories & Moments by Tim O'Brien & Darrell Scott (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews