Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2013
Another cracker of a story from Chris,easily on a par with his Empire Corp series ,rebellion against the Empire by initially a few naval and marine officers leads to a snowball effect,the fact that the rebels are competent and their opponents aren't levels the playing field,as usual the characterisation is good to the point that you care about the outcome and the habit of short glimpses of other perspectives and characters gives a nice insite into many perspectives,Chris is one of the great young sci-fi writers out there a must for Ryk Brown & Mark Cooper fans
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This is a sort of cross between Star Wars and David Weber's Honor Harrington series. The evil is the Empire from within (the Thousand Families), and the rebellion comes from elements of the Imperial Navy itself, which align themselves with movements on the Outer Rim. Weber's influence, whether intentional or not, can be seen in some of the technical aspects of the book, e.g., Superdreadnoughts, missile racks, pods etc, but without the nth degree of detail that Weber sometimes portrays, bearing in mind of course that this is a trilogy, and not a 12+ series of books.

An enjoyable read, although I did think sometimes the rebels had things a little bit too easy, militarily speaking. However, Nuttall manages to paint the Empire, and Blackshirts in particular, with a particular brand of nastiness that wills you on to see them get their comeuppance.

I will be buying the second book in the trilogy, so for the author, job done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
My first Christopher Nuttall book and for me, Democracy's Right is a great discovery to have made. This is one of those "I'll read for just a bit longer" stories. Not a radical new story line, do not get this book expecting a departure from traditional SF story-lines. No, this actually reminded me of the early pioneers of SF. Has hints of a Heinlein and a vibe like the classic SF short stories I enjoyed all those years ago. Maybe this is down to the different points of view across the story and the fleshing out of some of the minor characters. Maybe it is down to the fact that the Universe is believable. Maybe it is that the whole story moves along at exactly the right pace. Most of all it is that when I finished the book I thought "this was a fun read", a "lie back and enjoy the ride" sort of read; a "this is why SF can be such great fun to read" sort of read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
An excellent start to a whole new CN universe, initially it feels and reads very similar to the 'Empires Corpse' series, but as the story develops it shows itself to have more depth, a wider cast of characters and multiple plot lines.
Engrossing, enjoyable and hard to put down, a great start to the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
This is the first of this authors books I have read. I found it very engaging and at times didn't want to put it down. I did struggle a bit with the patronage system, I just cannot see that working in the way described. However I did immensely enjoy the book and look forward to the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the writing and the pace. The characterisation is pretty good as well. The plot is a bit predictable but, let's face it, we know the bad guys aren't going to win! Worth reading if you like military scifi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Enjoyed the first book - just bought the second, and looking forward to the continuing story line.
As always with Chris's books, the characters are strong and the story flows wonderfully - I am a big fan of his writing.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Complicated story with many characters, had to refer back to find who was beholden to who. As story went on became easier to understand good pace and interesting relationships, look forward to next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Another Empire blockbuster from Christopher Nuttall and look forward to the continuation of both the Empire series of books. Different from each other but just as addictive and a must read book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is a good read, rich in detail, plenty of action both on board the ship's and between opposing forces. Has the makings of a good tale, looking forward to reading book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£2.26

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.