Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album
Having listened to Capercaille for years I first saw them this year at Sidmouth folk festival ,I believe it is the furthest south they have been ?.....I thought it was a stunning concert and that night ordered this album. it does not disappoint. It is true to their Gaelic roots with a lovely blend of contemporary rhythms and sounds .The title track is one of the best...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. David B. Gwilliam

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen.
an average album.
Published 2 months ago by bridgette mooney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Having listened to Capercaille for years I first saw them this year at Sidmouth folk festival ,I believe it is the furthest south they have been ?.....I thought it was a stunning concert and that night ordered this album. it does not disappoint. It is true to their Gaelic roots with a lovely blend of contemporary rhythms and sounds .The title track is one of the best songs I have heard this year and very relevant to the present state of affairs. If I was Scottish I would nominate it as the national anthem !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their roots, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Geoffrey M. Teece "gmteece2" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Having taken advantage of Amazon's 'auto rip' I was able to listen to this before the arrival of the CD. This is a terrific, beautiful record in which Capercaillie return to their Gaelic roots. There is only one song in English, the title track, a most beautiful moving song with a fantastic melody that speaks of the essence of the whole album. Karen's voice is as sublime as ever, the band is as brilliantly in tune with each other as ever. I saw them at Sidmouth last Thursday and they were stupendously good. It's great that they have recorded after such a gap and what a brilliant return to their best this is. I'm sure it will stand out as one of their classics in years to come. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always Capercaillie has brought out a cracking album., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
This is a great new album from the band. It's swingy, catchy, at times reminiscent of their previous albums, but always fresh. The vocals are great as ever and I love the way Karen's voice has matured over the years. It's great to discover new things in her voice even after listening to their albums for years. The band has again managed to produce a fresh new album that is unmistakeably Capercaillie but manages to surprise with every song.

Abu Chuibhl' is great to sing along with and has a big band feel. I love The Strathspey Set. The Uilleann pipes bit is cracking.

I just wish that they included the lyrics to the songs or put them on the website. For those of us learning Gàidhlig, or those of us who want to sing along it really is imperative they are accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Capercaillie !!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Despite the passage of time, Capercaillie have come storming back with a brilliant album ! All the strengths of this band are here on this record. The muscianship (as always) is outstanding, and Karen's voice has never sounded better or more alluring. The overall sound is one of a band performing at their best !! Congratulations !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 5 Nov 2013
By 
Ms Susan Callcutt "Sue." (Highlands of Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Ah the glorious Capercaille. I love this CD. It is perfect for smooth evening listening or playing in the car. Karen Matheson's haunting beautiful voice is always soothing.
I had the pleasure of going to one of their concerts in Oban once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Capercaillie, 23 Sep 2013
By 
David C. Topping (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
A very accomplished recording showcasing this excellent groups musicality and talent. Karen's voice is as good as ever and is quite unique. She is in my opinion the finest of the Gaelic singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Another great offering from Capercaillie, you always are assured a sound CD, with catchy tunes and powerful lyrics. Great vocals from Karen Matheson again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good CD, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
A very enjoyable CD with some good new tunes and some interesting old ones (both waulking songs and mouth music). Gret playing from the rhythm section !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to Good Morning Sunday - Radio 2, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
Having heard music from Capercaillie on Clare Balding's show - I am hooked.

Great - worth a listen - beautiful lyrics, beautifully sung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality at its heart, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Kenn Stewart (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AT THE HEART OF IT ALL (Audio CD)
I have followed Capercaillie since 1987 and have been continually amazed at the quality of every recording they release, this is no different. It is maybe more relaxed and does not quite contain the blistering instrumentals that I personally feel balance the vocal tracks but.... this is a superbly played, produced and crafted collection.... again.
Karens vocals have never sounded better and with the addition of guest musicians especially the guest vocalists (all great singers themselves) Jarleth Henderson on pipes and Tommy Smith on sax only adds to the end result.
The more I listen the more I enjoy this cd and added to all the other superb cds they have recorded over the years its still exciting to listen to a new release. My favourite is the stunning Abu Chuibhl',this amazing track is pure gold.
Capercaillie are as great as any band that have ever played; roots, traditional, folk, world or any form of music, 30 years and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the Heart of It All
At the Heart of It All by Capercaillie
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews