Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, disturbing glance at a post-apocalyptic future that is all too possible. BRILLIANT
This story is very different to the Ethan Warner stories that Dean Crawford also writes. There has been a step change in his style to bring us a tale of a group of scientists who are stranded at the North pole following the impact of a massive solar flare with earth which has caused a global catastrophe. The story of these people's struggle to get back to the USA to...
Published 11 months ago by Sadie Mason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU ADAM AND EVE IT?
I like Dean Crawford. His Ethan Warner series is highly entertaining with slightly off kilter subject matter.
However this was no more than a run of the mill post apocolyptic road trip or sea trip in this case.
Some beggar belief coincidences were quite unnecessary and frankly reduced the quality of the book.
I was looking forward to this and considering...
Published 1 day ago by Steveatki


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, disturbing glance at a post-apocalyptic future that is all too possible. BRILLIANT, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
This story is very different to the Ethan Warner stories that Dean Crawford also writes. There has been a step change in his style to bring us a tale of a group of scientists who are stranded at the North pole following the impact of a massive solar flare with earth which has caused a global catastrophe. The story of these people's struggle to get back to the USA to find out what has happened to their families and homes in Boston and track down the elusive EDEN is truly epic. When they are picked up by a large old-time sailing ship that takes them off the ice you feel their chances of survival have improved but this ship is manned by a crew of mostly violent ex-convicts who seem to be mostly truly amoral with few redeeming characters. The power struggle onboard is physically and mentally violent and very well written. However, they do eventually reach Boston but the full horror of the cataclysm really hits home once the core characters go into what remains of the city.

This book shows what mankind at it's worse could be like in these circumstances. It is very dark and quite disturbing. However it is really exciting to read with lots of action and would be visually very exciting. The story carries you along this roller-coaster of action and emotion very well, and you end up willing these people to at least find some glimmer of hope and some good news of their loved ones. It is very interesting in the way it chronicles the changes in their own feelings and attitudes as the full horror of what has happened slowly sinks in and the feeling of hopelessness begins to pervade them all. I really was willing them to find the way to Eden after all they went through. There is a great twist to the end of the story which I will not reveal but thought it was a good way to end the story.

This would make a great film and Dean Crawford is becoming an accomplished action/adventure writer with heaps of potential. I would really recommend this book to people who love this genre (post-apocalyptic action stories). A great read that you just can't put down and which stays with you long after you have finished it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent novel ......yet again!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
Eden is an excellent novel by Dean Crawford. The novel makes you think of your own mortality if the end of the world were to happen,and the poeple closest to you!
I felt the strong emotions of the characters with every turn of the pages. I am looking forward to a follow up to this novel in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
This is another great book from the author of the Ethan Warner novels, I would highly recommend this. Also the Ethan Warner series if you haven't read them yet. Hoping to see many more books from Mr Crawford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
Eden is a cleverly written and very thought provoking story.

This gripping tale contains secrets which expose themselves most unexpectedly throughout.

Although primarily a work of fiction the research is so thorough that the author creates a novel that is as factual as possible whilst still allowing the readers own imagination to play a part.

It is another Dean Crawford "page turner". Different from the Ethan Warner series but still a first class read.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
What a good read this story is. It is full of twists and turns. The goodies turn out to be not so good and the baddies are proper bad. No this is a very good read well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grim but compelling apocalyptic thriller, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
The thriller begins in the Arctic, in a science station populated by a small group of men and women that hopes to learn something of the the isolation and extreme hazards that they might encounter on a future journey to a different planet. It's not long before the planet that they're on is transformed into another world entirely. The most vibrant Northern Lights that one can imagine herald the Great Darkness; a solar storm that extinguishes human technology from Earth in an instant, almost as if a candle has been snuffed out. Isolated on the ice, all communication with the outside world vanished, Dr Jake McDermott, Cody Ryan and their male and female civilian and military companions have little option but to head south, on the trail of the one morse code signal that could be heard in the silence. It included a set of coordinates. Cody, the closest we have to a hero, is convinced that it may lead them to Eden, their only hope.

If the world were to end, it would be ugly. In Eden this is made clear from the very beginning. The seeds of man's inclination to violence and destruction are glimpsed at before the end even arrives. None of the characters can be trusted, not the scientists we meet at the beginning and not one of the men aboard the Phoenix. When it becomes clear that something catastrophic has happened to the world that they had left behind - or fled - then several assume their own mission, whether it is to find a wife, daughter, brother or father or simply life. For some, there is nothing to find. It's all about survival and finding the next meal.

Life becomes increasingly cheap as the few work to survive at the expense of others. As a result, Eden is a no holds barred gruesome novel in places, reminding me of zombie horror. Everyone is reduced to their most base instincts and the veil of social behaviour is torn away. Not everyone is bad, of course, but you get the sense that it would be easier for them if they were. I did find it difficult to like the characters. Circumstances conspire to bring out the worst in almost everyone. There is some hope but it is small. For many of the characters, the lasting image we have of them is their descent into blackness. The blackness of the end is far removed from the crispy white chill of the beginning.

I did have some issues with the novel, especially during the first third. I found elements of the characterisation and the plotline predictable and familiar. This made me put it down for a few days. But when I picked it up again and once the story moved away from the Arctic I finished the rest of it in a day. I found the second half utterly compelling and gripping. It is grim without doubt but that is because it is steeped in an air of apocalypse, doom and struggle. It's very likely that a less squeamish reader than me will love every page. Eden is an extremely well produced self-published novel, written by an accomplished thriller writer, and at 99p it's an absolute treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brief review of book, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
I rated this book with 4 stars because I felt is was extremely well written! the author captured my attention to continue reading, so I could discover what happened to the respective characters in the book. it gave a vivid insight into the future in the event a global melt down occurred regarding technology! Whilst simultaneously making you consider if you don't bombastic survival skills, you should endeavour to learn them. Also demonstrated the treacherous & humane way in which people behave during a time of extreme adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-thumping, relentless post-apocalyptic masterpiece, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. D. Horne "recantha" (Potton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
This is probably the darkest post-apocalyptic novel I've read (that doesn't feature zombies)!
It's brilliantly written, has flawed 3-dimensional characters that you can root for and hate in equal measure, and a plot that moves along swiftly. It's fair to say that it doesn't go in the direction you expect it to, and it's also fair to say that it's very harrowing in places. It's not for the faint-of-heart and focuses on how the situation might play out for real. I don't want to say more for fear of giving anything away!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this down .... superb storyline and gripping ending .... can't wait for the sequel. First book I've read from Dean Crawford. I will be looking for his other works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in a series...?, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EDEN (Kindle Edition)
A very good post-apocalyptic adventure, with strong 'real' characters baring their warts and all. The ending disappointed me, but as it is obviously the beginning of a new series (surely?), you are forgiven Mr Crawford. The science behind the theme is light, but factual and therefore, all the more forbidding.
Might I suggest use of 'farraday cages' in the next one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EDEN
EDEN by Dean Crawford
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews