Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£5.94
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2008
A perfect story. Moving, romantic, genuinely scary, beautiful. Whether you are a fan of Philip Pullman's work or not, this is undeniably an exceptional, beautifully crafted and gripping piece of writing. Read it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
The book is amazing and during transport, there was no damage delivered to the book. The book came early and was the perfect size to fit through the letterbox so there was no need to wait for the package to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Just as you would expect just a brilliant text from the master if children's literature! My year 6 children just adored every sentence! Fab characters brilliant twisting plot, dark and magical!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Good read as with most of Pullman's books. We use it at school as a reader for lower ability year 7. There is some complex vocab but they love the story. Especially good for boys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
If you're bored with all the usual fairy tales, here's a new one, with all the fairy tale elements, darkness, moral messages. It's for a older reader. I love everything he writes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2008
I initially read this to my 10 year old son and he was totally invovled. I am now reading it to my Year 5 class ( 28 in all) and this is possibly the only time that they are completly silent / no movement and no talking. Really enjoying the twists and turns, and not put off by the operation in the middle of the story! They are keen to hear another one. Has inspired some of the children to read more Pullman books and that can only be a great thing!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Had to read this book for a uni assignment. I enjoyed it so much that I finished it in 1 day!!!
Definitely recommend this book for those who enjoy intrigue and suspense
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 1999
I really enjoyed this book because it is short but still has a strong storyline. It works like a clock with each characters events causing anothers, like cogs in a clock. The story is set in Germany and focuses on a man who made a clock, a small tin knight with a life of its own and a prince ran by clockwork. If you like stories with spooky settings this is definitely for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I'm a huge fan of his work and this only served to reinforce my esteem of his work. This is a lovely, short book. Clever and subtle, as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Great for children over 8. Might frighten the younger ones. Grandson studying this in Year 5 English so it is very useful for research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)