Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing to be able to carry this rouond on a Kindle
This is the most incredible value I have ever seen on the Kindle. Like so many people I have struggled to read the seven volumes of In Search of Lost Time, partly because of the sheer inconvenience of lugging the books around with me. Now I have all seven volumes on my Kindle for a ridiculously low price. Wikipedia tells me that there are 1,267,069 words in the...
Published 10 months ago by Thomas Cunliffe

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Occasional flashes, but a lot of it. May not finish.
Published 7 months ago by Dave L


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing to be able to carry this rouond on a Kindle, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Thomas Cunliffe "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
This is the most incredible value I have ever seen on the Kindle. Like so many people I have struggled to read the seven volumes of In Search of Lost Time, partly because of the sheer inconvenience of lugging the books around with me. Now I have all seven volumes on my Kindle for a ridiculously low price. Wikipedia tells me that there are 1,267,069 words in the complete set, yet my Kindle seemed to swallow them up in no time, leaving plenty of space for hundred of other books.

This is a majestic novel, a challenge to any committed reader, but once you have the Proust bug, something compels you to plough through it. Having it on the Kindle makes this so much easier because you can dip in and read a chapter between other books.

It is immensely rewarding, giving a fantastic picture of early 20th century France. I love the first volume, Swann's Way, which begings with the famous passages about the a child's home life in rural France, among a multi-generational family with eccentric aunts, a stern father and a mother who stumbles at providing her son with the amount of affection he wants from her. The passages on how memory is awakened by particular objects is a classic of course and contains the famous "madeleine" passage, in which the taste of a cake brings back a whole gamut of childhood memories.

This is the Scott Moncrieff translation which although quite an early translation still is the most popular and to me seems to sound like Proust's "voice" more than the more modern translations. I have the Penguin set in which each volume is translated by different person and this surely loses a consistent voice when compared with Scott Moncrieff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting time and time again., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Greatest novel ever written. Beautifully written and wonderful humour. Charts snobbery and ambition and pretensiousness. Great understanding of Paris and the demi monde. Perceptive and psychologically aware of desire and passion and possessiveness. Altogether gorgeous and entertaining and just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Best book of all time, finally available, all volumes, and for a bargain price, on Kindle! No longer do I have to lug heavy volumes about on the train! Slightly annoying, and the reason for 4 stars rather than 3, are the uncorrected, or mis-corrected, OCR mistakes - things like 'Mlle' (Mademoiselle) rendered as 'Mile' - which jar a little, but do not overshadow the excellent bargain this is.
By the way, this is the Scott Moncrieff translation rather than the later Kilmartin (which itself was later 'corrected'), but, to me, the differences are so slight, and it reads very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proust, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Amazing value for money . Seven volumes all at hand when travelling with my kindle. A digital triumph.Save space on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great Proust, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Dr Gautam Sen "Tilak" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Only begun reading this inspired work, but don't expect to have read it through anytime soon! Cannot judge if this much older translation is superior to more recent ones, but found nothing that jars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proust on kindle, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
William R. Woods (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
This is a totally unique work.It is particularly helpful to have the whole very bulky opus in an easily transportable form. However & rather paradoxically it does not lend itself to this format, especially if, like me, you need to be able to refer to one of the helpful reader's guides. So have it on kindle so you can read it on the train or on holiday but also have it in conventional form. But do read it - hard work though it is in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed some parts more than others but overall it is ..., 10 July 2014
By 
Dr. N. F. Hockings (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
One of the longest novels in literature it takes of lot of reading. I enjoyed some parts more than others but overall it is a great book giving a personalised view of a certain section of French society over the life time of the story teller. It is partly autobiographical and the author/story teller is a very odd personality. It is the very odd personality of the story teller and the oddness of the aristocratic/upper middle class people who he mixes with that make it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is really why kindles are a good idea. This and holidays, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished yet, and it might take a few months or years to do so, but the first volume is very absorbing and there is a lot to get you thinking. This is really why kindles are a good idea. This and holidays. Think of all the shelf space I'm saving, and think of all the wrist injuries I've avoided! And for £1.50! Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luckily the prose is so beautiful it doesn't matter a bit, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Massive book - it will probably take me forever to get through it. Luckily the prose is so beautiful it doesn't matter a bit :)
One of those classics that turns out to be as good as the hype
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proust on Kindle, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7] (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful to be able to read these volumes so clearly. One or two misprints I notice - maybe from the scanning. I am determined to read the whole lot. I thoroughly recommend Proust on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7]
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews