Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff
Trower live in the era that this was recorded is almost always great and this set doesn't disappoint. I could have done without hearing the cover of 'sailing' again I've always hated that song and this version is even worse than the Rod Stewart one. Leaving that aside the band are on fire throughout. Jimmy Dewar is one of the great rock voices although sadly he doesn't...
Published 6 months ago by I. Gillan

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under The Bridge
Received my copy and i was particularly looking forward to the upcoming live album, unfortunately the sound quality is very poor.
not one of his best live albums, it's definitely "bootleg" quality, almost a complete waste of time.
Published 6 months ago by Peter L. Crisp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff, 3 Oct 2013
By 
I. Gillan "IG" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
Trower live in the era that this was recorded is almost always great and this set doesn't disappoint. I could have done without hearing the cover of 'sailing' again I've always hated that song and this version is even worse than the Rod Stewart one. Leaving that aside the band are on fire throughout. Jimmy Dewar is one of the great rock voices although sadly he doesn't often get the credit he deserved.
One minor gripe is with the sleeve notes 'Victims of the future' FFS? Does nobody proof read things nowadays? Maybe they think that anyone buying this will be too old to be capable of reading the small print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Trower, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
I don't wholly agree with the previous review, although the legendary Mr Howard's earlier review is spot on. Being culled from sound board recordings you don't expect multi-track quality but it's still highly listenable and the one thing that stands out is the energy of the band. The youthful Trower band pack a punch that you had to be there to believe ... I was at his UK shows.
The sound quality is mixed, from reasonable to very good, but never poor. Trower is on fire, just listen to the version of Daydream from Illinois 1976. And Jimmy Dewar shows was a great, great vocalist he was ... up there with blues rock's best including Paul Rodgers ... as showcased on his forte I Can't Wait Much Longer.
The Hendrix comparisons continue to rage even in press reviews for this CD, but I don't get it and it is unfair to say the least. Yes some early tracks hinted towards Hendrix, but anyone with a sustained guitar, using heavy vibrato, a univibe and wah wah will have a bit of Hendrix about them. Even the Satrian's and Van Halens of this world have admitted to a bit of a nod towards Jimi.
However, Trower is more than that. Great songs, great feel and excellent phrasing, he should just be ackowledged as a Master of his trade, even if that trade sticks mainly to the blues rock vein.
Overall, a great CD and a real must have for any true Trower fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trower!, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Alan Howard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
Thank you Amazon! My copy of 'State to State' arrived today and I must say, having just listened to it (a double CD set), it's been well worth the wait. The music is live! There are some excellent versions of classic tracks from Robin Trower's early studio albums such as 'Bridge of Sighs' and 'In City Dreams'. All the performances were recorded in America during the period 1974-1980. Wonderful to hear the luscious sound of James Dewar's velvet vocals. Absolutely gorgeous!State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great live work, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Bruce "kawakid" (fraserburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
buy it, then put on at full volume, you will not regret it, superb. typical rt, live stuff, got all the live work, always find time to put his superb albums on at the weekend, fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
C. Parcell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
Just brilliant. Robin Trower and James Dewar at their best. A lot better live than on most studio albums and tracks from my favourite period of Trower. Think this should bring more people to appreciate this music. Keep your boy bands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential later-period live performances, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
This won't win any new fans (although RT seems to be undergoing a critical revival and the tiresome Hendrix comparisons are on the wane). But for existing fans who might be wondering whether yet another live recording is an essential purchase, then take the plunge. This covers the post City To City / Caravanserai funk period and includes tracks from Victims Of The Fury. It also has items from the last pre-funk album, Long Misty Days, which also haven't been much documented in previous live issues. An absolute gem is Sailing (from LMD). RT has previously confided that covering it was a bit of an aberration. Now, hearing the late great Jim Dewar singing it live, you can see why RT chose to do it all along. Even live staples like Daydream are well worth hearing all over again. Some reviewers have questioned the sound quality. RT has said he had reservations. But if you assume it's not soundboard then you may be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the archive, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
I have followed this artist since Hendrix died. This cd although it has enhanced my collection of Robin Trower work, did not reveal any outstanding performancies. Not one tingle factor experience. It will be confined to the library. One for the enthusiast only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good live records, 26 Nov 2013
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
Robin Trower is always perfect in the lives shows than in the srudios. Very good guitarist inspirited by Jimi Hendrix. A legend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under The Bridge, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 (Audio CD)
Received my copy and i was particularly looking forward to the upcoming live album, unfortunately the sound quality is very poor.
not one of his best live albums, it's definitely "bootleg" quality, almost a complete waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980
State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980 by Robin Trower (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews