Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read!
Graham Hurley has produced a great story with Touching Distance. The detail is forensic and his knowledge of procedures leaves the reader in no doubt that the author is telling us how this stuff really happens. He has got into the Royal Marine mindset and has created some incredibly persuasive characters. Views on Afghanistan are complex and multilayered, subjective and...
Published 15 months ago by Oliver Todd

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a return to form
Graham Hurley wrote a series of Portsmouth novels that gave focus to a city during the years of New Labour and their aftermath. Full of vivid life across the social spectrum, the changes to life in the city were caught through bright and edgy characters, crooks, cops and citizens. He dissolved the series and began again by moving a minor figure, Jimmy Suttle, to a...
Published 12 months ago by back to basics


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read!, 19 Jan. 2014
Graham Hurley has produced a great story with Touching Distance. The detail is forensic and his knowledge of procedures leaves the reader in no doubt that the author is telling us how this stuff really happens. He has got into the Royal Marine mindset and has created some incredibly persuasive characters. Views on Afghanistan are complex and multilayered, subjective and objective depending upon the time, place and individual. Hurley has understood this dichotomy and leaves us to make up our own mind rather than preaching. It is a balanced presentation. That he has created people we can loathe and admire in equal measure is a real gift and balances the methodical and relentless pace of the criminal investigation, which drives the story to its compelling finale. His enduring characters, D/S Suttle and Lizzie are complex and deep, they certainly do not conform to our expectations. I read Touching Distance over the course of a weekend, it was a compulsive read and left me wanting to read more of Graham Hurley's books..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will she or won't she?, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Jimmy Suttle has clearly moved on to pastures new in the Devon constabulary, but has his wife? As tense and exciting as ever, and leaving plenty of new plot possibilities. I'm so into Jimmy Suttle now that I've forgotten the name of his old boss, you know, the birdwatcher single parent with the deaf son. Full of detective work and fast paced. I even found the romantic bits moving. Should suit Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, John Harvey et al fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read this year, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
After Western Approaches I wondered if the series had lost its way, this definitely brings it back with a bang. The military aspect is really strong, and the murders keep you guessing. A real page turner, I just had to know the next twist.

Can't wait for the next on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced with plenty of twists ., 17 Dec. 2013
It's fantastic that Jimmy Suttle is becoming such a fascinating character . I had wondered how on earth Hurley would ever replace Faraday and Winter, but in this recent book I really now believe he has managed to achieve that. I found thus such an intriguing setting and the military aspect of the plot gave it an amazing extra . Master at creating such convincing yet quirky characters- I cant wait for Hurley's next book. There's nobody to match him at the moment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read of the Year, 12 Dec. 2013
Simply, brilliant. The characters come to life and the continuation from Western Approaches was spot on. Can't wait for the next Jimmy Suttle book.Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a bang, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Graham Hurley has long been my favourite writer of crime fiction, until the first Jimmy Suttle book - Western Approaches - which I truly struggled to finish.
Touching Distance is without a doubt in a class of its own and is the best book I have read in a long time. The storyline is fast moving in much the same way that the Faraday series was written. Looking forward to the 3rd book in the series now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... couldn't put it down, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
S. Morgan (Guernsey, CI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this book at 3.30a.m. Just had to find out how it ended. Really looking forward to the next Suttle story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 30 Nov. 2013
Hurley's best yet. A crime novel with a feel good factor. A great insight into the mindset of the Royal Marine and the spirit of comradeship existing within the corps. The plot weaves itself to a clever climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Touching Distance, 27 April 2014
Reading another Graham Hurley book brings you back to familiar characters that you feel comfortable with; Jimmy Suttle with his on going marital and personal life in tatters, Lizzie in continuing conflict with her mother and yet both sharp and at their best in their professional lives. Hurley mentions former story lines and the reader feels part of a continuity from book to book. There is also however a strong background to the story line, the victims of warfare, the brave Marines returning to shattered lives and the view that the Afghan campaign and other conflicts may have achieved little. This is a murder mystery, with an exciting final climax and satisfactory ending, but the characters enable the author to introduce thought provoking ideas and themes that make this a 'good read'.
Isobel Todd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a relief!, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Jeff "roadrunner" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like just about everybody else, I was very worried by 'Western Approaches' and wondered what Hurley's writing future held. I couldn't just leave him after all these years could I? And thankfully, it's paid off as this shows him totally back on song. Certainly his best for a while, having at last ditched Bazza, Faraday and Portsmouth [well, almost]. Suttle is sorting out his problems and the future of these novels in the west country seems assured. I thought the plot in this one was very topical and dealt with real and serious issues irrespective of the plot itself which was excellent. Great stuff - now I can look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle Book 2)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews