Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
My copy arrived yesterday and I have been unable to put it down till finished. I haven't found a celebrity auto-biography so open and well written ever before.

Ronnie comes across as intelligent, warm and human and the insight into professional snooker is fascinating. It is written in a very personal style - so you can almost hear him talking. For a snooker fan...
Published 18 months ago by R Griffiths

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag, but a good read, nonetheless
Firstly, this isn't really an autobiography. It is a collection of musings, that includes many of the important episodes in his life, but in an almost haphazard way. This, however, does not make it a bad book. Just not perhaps what you might expect.
Although written with a journalist, you do feel that you are hearing the real Ronnie. Those who have heard Ronnie...
Published 7 months ago by Simon Binning


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My copy arrived yesterday and I have been unable to put it down till finished. I haven't found a celebrity auto-biography so open and well written ever before.

Ronnie comes across as intelligent, warm and human and the insight into professional snooker is fascinating. It is written in a very personal style - so you can almost hear him talking. For a snooker fan it's an unmissable book - its great to get his insight into the way other high profile snooker stars play. And what he has to say about handling all the problems life has thrown at him will be inspirational and helpful to many people.

Ronnie, if you read your reviews, thanks for such a great book and for all the years of brilliant snooker we have enjoyed watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a sports fan, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I read this book whilst cheering Ronnie on as he romped through the Masters tournament on TV, which made his continuing story.very "live". However, you wouldn't have to particularly like snooker, or running, or even sport generally, to find this book a fascinating and extremely readable account of remarkable experience.
Unlike many Sports Autobiographies, which can be rather boring - inevitably focused on a person who has mainly done one thing from an early age - there has always been so much more going on in the life of Ronnie O'Sullivan. He talks frankly, but loyally, of his relationship with his father, and of his personal struggles with addiction and clinical depression which have caused some of his apparent public behaviour to have been so misinterpreted by various media commentators over the years.
At the age of 38, O'Sullivan is, at last, probably at the peak of his career: playing like the charismatic superstar his talent merits and seemingly having understood and conquered the demons that plagued his younger years. It is a heartwarming and honest accout of triumph over adversity, and an inspiring book for most of us who have, at times, struggled with the pressures of expectations and aspects of life that can feel out of control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag, but a good read, nonetheless, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, this isn't really an autobiography. It is a collection of musings, that includes many of the important episodes in his life, but in an almost haphazard way. This, however, does not make it a bad book. Just not perhaps what you might expect.
Although written with a journalist, you do feel that you are hearing the real Ronnie. Those who have heard Ronnie interviewed on TV will feel that they can easily imagine the books words coming out of his mouth.
He is brutally honest about his demons, and how he has learned to (mostly) deal with them, and how they have affected him over the years. It is clear that his passion is running ( hence the title) and that running has really been crucial to his wellbeing. And yes, he does go on about it at length!
Overall, a bit of a mixed bag; it can be a bit repetitive, and does wander about a bit, but if you are interested in snooker, it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read. Get to hear it from the horses mouth., 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed this book. Don't believe the rumours and other people's opinions , read it straight from Ronnie himself. He has been wrongly labelled and criticised for some of his 'antics' in terms of him walking from snooker matches etc.. You get to hear all the background and you can't blame him. I can't relate with having a parent imprisoned but I can relate to a lot of it. It is interesting for any snooker fan and Ronnie fan but you would have to have a very hard heart not to be moved by elements in the book and indeed being empathetic to a total genius of his craft who tried to keep everything ticking over but humans can only take so much. He might be in the spotlight but he is far from wanting to be a celebrity himself and he is a very down to earth bloke. Top read. It is especially recommended from a psychological point of view it could be seen as uplifting as he reveals his depression , addictions etc.. and he seems to be really finding himself again which is so great to see. I've always given Ronnie my empathy from a fan point of view because having suffered significant psychological distress myself and his behaviours have been true to these impairments. Hope others enjoy the book! Keep going Ronnie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you don't like snooker - a great honest human story, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Well done to you Ronnie. I love the book, lots of lessons and wisdom. A lot of humour too. A very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATEST SNOOKER PLAYER EVER, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS READ WAS ONE OF MY EASIEST I FINISHED IT IN UNDER 3 DAYS I WAS HOOKED ON THIS BOOK HE HAS INSPIRED ME TO LOOK AT LIFE IN A DIFFERENT WAY I LOVED WHEN HE WAS TALKING ABOUT HIS PERSONAL LIFE AND FELT SO SORRY FOR HIM WHEN THE COURTS WAS ON HIS BACK ALL THE TIME, HE SEEMS LIKE SUCH A NICE FELLA AND I HOPE HE CARRIES ON WITH SNOOKER FOR A LONG TIME SO HE CAN BEAT STEPHENS RECORDS AND BECOMES THE GREATEST OF ALL TIME

A MUST READ FOR EVERY SPORT FAN NOT ONLY SNOOKER AND RUNNING NUTS

10/10 CREDIT TO HIM FOR HIS COMEBACKS IT MUST HAVE BEEN VERY HARD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, honest and thought provoking. Good if you like snooker and / or running., 19 Feb. 2015
This is enjoyable look into the life of a sporting genius. It is very honest account and has helped me see Ronnie in a different light. He has had many issues over the years and as an onlooker it has been sometimes difficult to sympathise with him given the talent he obviously has. But once you read this you understand how difficult life has been for him and trying to get the balance of family life and working life has been a constant battle. He doesn’t portray snooker players in a very positive light, it’s fascinating to hear about the different characters. He is brutally honest, he might not like the way some of the players play, but he always seems to have the respect for them. He not only wants to win, he wants to entertain. This book obviously covers a lot about his snooker life, but he also talks about his running with a real passion. I am a runner too, so I really enjoyed this. There is a real primitive pleasure from running, it is hard to explain to those that don’t do it, but he does a good job of describing what it means to him and how it has helped him. He seems more passionate about running than snooker. He is also a pretty decent runner, so he obviously has talent at whatever he seems to turn his hand to. I have heard him interviewed before and always enjoyed how honest and humble he seems. He talks with so much passion about his family too, especially his children, he really wants to do the best for them.

But snooker is his living, and getting the balance of family life and work sounds difficult, more so than many outsiders would imagine. So having read this I have really warmed to Ronnie, in a way that makes you want to just sit in a pub chatting about running and other random stuff. He is constantly trying to find the best to solution to his so called demons, but always honest and never shying away from the truth, which you have to respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go, Ronnie!, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! Really enjoyed this reading. No I know much more interesting facts about my favorite billiard player (no matter I play pool) and what stand behind his wins, loses and mads. Russia loves snooker and Ronnie. You are the best, because you are unbelievable talented and perfectionist with demons as every really genius person. Wish you to become world champion again and again and do it also after the 40 and 50! :) And one more maximum to Hendry. Good luck in Sheffield!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted more gossip, 26 Jun. 2014
I enjoyed the read. I could definitely tell it was an autobiography - rather than a biography. I guess I wanted more gossip. I also wanted more snooker tales and maybe some derogatory information on the other players :-) But all in all a good book. It does give an insight into how his mind ticks. Its a book that would appeal to anyone, not just snooker fans.... Just needs more revelations and gossip. Still recommended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight in to the mind of a sporting genius, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A well written book that highlights the year in the life of "Rocket" Ronnie O`Sullivan between his 2012 & 2013 World championship wins. This book also

It was great insight on how his mind works and also how he is beginning to get his life back on track.

Taking a year out and coming back to defend his crown was a awesome sporting achievement. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running: The Autobiography
Running: The Autobiography by Ronnie O'Sullivan
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews