Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 13 October 2013
An admirable study of the assassination and its background. Summers' work is characterized by restraint and an academic scepticism. As an investigation, the book is very well researched and well written, and it proceeds with a convincing logic.

Summers has an excellent historical method, seen for example in his clear and objective examination of the evidence on how Jack Ruby managed to get in the right place, at the right time, for Oswald's transfer through police headquarters.

Evidence is given the space to speak for itself. It becomes clear that it is not the author's intention to grind axes for particular angles on this mystery -or to pin the reader to one point of view. Here the author's task is to raise questions based on the available evidence. Though he points the way, he allows the reader to form his own opinions.

In other books, details about Oswald's background and about probable Mafia intrigues can be confusing. These questions naturally remain complicated but here for the first time I found Oswald's strange story made sense. Fluent, gripping -and possibly the best in its field.
2020 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 29 December 2013
I initially came across the predecessor to this Kindle book whilst out shopping one Saturday afternoon way, way, way back in the autumn of 1988 and I've been hooked on the whole damning minefield that is the JFK murder quagmire ever since. Having acquired more books on the case than I care to admit to (or acknowledge for that matter) I will say this: Anthony Summers provides the most thought-provoking and lucid account of the most controversial murder case of the last century. Having bought several later editions of the book I am now looking forward to reading this latest - and updated - version. I particularly like Summers in-depth analysis of the life and times of alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. By reading this work alone convinces me (totally and utterly) that Oswald was not the President's killer and was framed for the murder of JFK. The word "patsy" has oft been uttered in this case and, in my opinion, read this book and you will see why that word was invented for Lee Harvey Oswald. The book was a formidable contribution to the JFK assassination riddle back in 1988 and this updated version remains true some 25 years later...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 8 November 2013
Heard the Author on a radio program and had too buy the book, myself and my Son have always been fascinated about the cover up (well were both sure that there was one) and the very in-depth information contained in this book only confirms our suspicion's. It grips you that much, you don't want too put the darned thing down! If you ever wondered about the killing of JFK- THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK....10 out of 10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2013
When it comes to telling the story of what happened in Dallas 50 years ago & answering the just as interesting Why? I find It hard to believe that this book will be bettered.

Cuba, Russia, the Mafia, the CIA, there's a lot going on here, and the fact that the truth is nestled somewhere within these pages makes for a tantalising story.

Anthony Summers - I salute you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 12 October 2013
Read this years ago under the original title "Conspiracy". Now available on Kindle, hurrah! In my view it is still one of the best books on the Kennedy assassination around because it is well-researched and even-handed in its approach. Unlike many titles in the genre, the author has no pet theory other than that Oswald was not the only gunman in Dallas on that fatal day, which is pretty much accepted by any rational person even remotely in interested in the key event. Summers therefore does a great job of investigating all the angles, the role of shadow government agencies, organised crime and the essential Cuban connections all get a thorough going through as does Oswald's own very interesting life and times.

This is not just a re-edition, there are updates and alterations of the original text made due to new information that has come to light in the last few years. Also contains some interesting graphics and photos which can be enlarged using the Paperwhite's controls.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2014
This study of the JFK assassination is well researched, supported by careful attention to detail in important stages of the case before, during and after the shooting in Dallas. I found this book to be a refreshing change from those that simply attempt to discredit alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald's guilt or innocence. I deducted one star, only because I felt the book ended too quickly, when I became eager to read another two or three chapters. I would recommend this book to anyone seeking an objective analysis of the assassination.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2013
This is an update on Anthony Summers previous work 'The Kennedy Conspiracy'. I have been convinced for many years that the Warren Commision's report was a shallow, misleading cover up of the real events in Dallas on 22 November, 1963. There is a huge volume of evidence that the assassination was the result of a conspiracy between organised crime, renegade CIA officers and anti-Castro Cubans and that Lee Harvey Oswald was a 'Patsy', set up by the aforementioned to take the fall - it is possible, but not likely that he even fired a weapon in Dealey Plaza that day. As an expert historian and investigative journalist, Summers did not start out with a preconception - the evidence led him to his conclusion. From a judicial point of view I can categorically state that if it appeared in court today, there could be no possible verdict other than a conspiracy.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
If you are looking for a definitive answer to the question of who killed JFK then this book will disappoint you. It is however, authoritative and incredibly detailed. Every possible angle is covered, every one of the many personalities involved is investigated. Was there a conspiracy? Almost certainly. The Mafia, anti-social Castro activists and the CIA all appear to have played a role. Was Oswald a patsy - again almost certainly. But it is incredibly complex - all the main characters seem to have had links to the intelligence services. The Mafia or both. What cannot be in doubt is that the CIA engaged in a massive cover-up of the evidence. And it would appear that they continue to do so. The book contains many bizarre facts of which I was unaware ,- for example Kennedy's brain is still missing. The autopsy photos do not match the injuries reported by those who attended it. At one point it appears that there was more than one Oswald in circulation. So who was the imposter? This is a fascinating but also frustrating book. The truth is that it will probably never be possible to say who exactly conspired to kill JFK. Perhaps the most shocking aspect of the book is the evidence that the CIA worked closely with the Mafia, beyond any political or democratic control.and in the end both wanted Kennedy dead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This is one of half a dozen books I have on the topic. It's much more accessible than 'A Farewell to Justice' by Mellen (which is a forensic dissection of the case, but somewhat 'dry.') Summers dismisses Posner's 'Cased Closed' as "a heavily promoted tome which hoodwinked its readers." 'Not in Your Lifetime' is the latest and possibly the most comprehensive yet readable submission on the topic. It's interesting to note that some 75% of Americans questioned in 2013 do not believe in the 'lone gunman' theory. With much of the evidence surrounding the case still suppressed until 2017 (and beyond), this case is far from over. As more information comes to light, it's looking increasingly likely that Oswald really was the 'patsy' set up to take the wrap.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I have read many books about the JFK assassination and this is easily the best. Well written and superbly researched it also has the rare quality of balance. The author thoughtfully considers all the various arguments, giving respect, though not agreeing with, the official "Oswald lone nut" version, whilst dismissing the more bizarre conspiracy theories that have caused so much confusion and set back proper research. Outstanding.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.