Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Narrative physics...
This is the third book in Egan's Orthogonal trilogy, after The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame. If you haven't read either, go and do it now - and don't read the rest of this as there are spoilers.

If you do know the earlier books, then this is what you'd expect: a continuation of the narrative of the travellers in their mountain-turned-spaceship,...
Published 19 months ago by D. Harris

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is only okay,
Did not like it too much, he got bogged down in science, requiring too much thinking. It needs clearer descriptions for the science. I understand the theory of relativity, but I got lost in this. It was too much work to keep flipping back to understand why things would work the way they do. I would not read it again. My benchmark for a good book is that I would reread...
Published 11 months ago by Rohit (NZ)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Narrative physics..., 4 Dec. 2013
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the third book in Egan's Orthogonal trilogy, after The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame. If you haven't read either, go and do it now - and don't read the rest of this as there are spoilers.

If you do know the earlier books, then this is what you'd expect: a continuation of the narrative of the travellers in their mountain-turned-spaceship, journeying orthogonally to the homeworld to give themselves the time needed to develop their science and save the planet from destruction. Six generations have passed now since the Peerless took off, and things have moved on from clockwork-and-sunstone to photonics. Again, the story portrays a slice of life aboard the ship - both the scientific controversies and the social tensions among the crew, as they struggle to come to terms with the turning point of their mission. Should they follow the mission plan laid down for them by Yalda, and return to save the "ancestors" - or continue the journey and find a new and habitable planet? The desire to find a place to settle leads a few brave explorers to land on a time-reversed planet where things are rather... backwards. It's quite mind-bending following what happens next: whatever these books are they're not simple, escapist reads.

As ever, Egan has worked the physics through to the last detail (and more is available on his website). I realised as I came to the end of this book that he's done nothing less than write a trilogy where the central character - whose nature and ways we gradually discover - is the universe itself, no, not the universe but a universe because it's not ours. the rules are recognisable, but different. And as if that's not enough, he's woven into it the most perfect realised story of social progress, as the people - whose nature we also discover gradually - confront their own biology and society to construct a better system where they can all be fulfilled.

It's an audacious sequence, hard to follow at times, challenging and clever.

I'm sorry the trip is over, but I've enjoyed the journey so much. Thank you Mr Egan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three (Kindle Edition)
This is the concluding book in the Orthogonal trilogy , preceded by The clockwork rocket and The Eternal Flame. The name of the trilogy comes from its setting in a universe that is not ours, but is never the less consistent in the way its physics works. Not surprisingly, there is intelligent life there which is very different in nature from humanity but has the same drive to understand its environment.

To save their home planet, which is menaced by a stream of ever-larger meteorites, an audacious plan is proposed by a famous scientist called Yalda, to send the Peerless, a hollowed-out mountain, re-purposed as a space ship, backwards in time to find an answer to this threat of extinction. This is not passed on the nod, but provokes opposition, some from alternative plans, and some from those simply opposed, who use public pressure and sometimes violence to try and get their way. These aliens are alien though, as the females burst apart to create offspring , who are then nurtured by males. They have flexible bodies with eyes front and back and can create pictures on their skin.

Six generations pass after the Peerless sets off, and things have moved on. Again, the story portrays life aboard the ship – now with new controversies raging over a slow move towards a new reproductive cycle, caused by the privations of the mission. Some question the plan laid down for them by Yalda. An alternative to saving the "ancestors" is to find a new and habitable planet. The desire to find a place to settle leads to a landing on a time-reversed planet where things are work backwards. And the main ship itself now uses networking, and male/female couples have become more acceptable.

Finally, a new complication arises: the prospect of constructing a messaging system that will give the Peerless news of its own future. While some see this as a chance to learn of their mission’s ultimate success, others are convinced that the knowledge will be oppressive or worse. The conflict over this proposed communication system again threaten the travellers’ world.

This really is a remarkable trilogy. Unlike most which hark back to some past, mythical Eden, this one looks forward, to a transformation of society based on conceptual breakthroughs both in theoretical science and in the more mundane, but no less important, social domain. This is the first example of a real science fiction trilogy, which gives a vision of how different science can be and how that might affect living creatures. Considering that this is such a radical departure from the norm in science fiction, it is a shame that no prizes or even nominations have been forthcoming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine conclusion, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those who have read my other reviews of Egan's work will know I have high praise for his books.
This, the third and final book in the Orthogonal series takes the story forwards and explores new implications of the science of the Orthogonal universe, the society of the adventurers, and the challenges faced by the characters in surprising, delightful and consistent ways.
Mr. Egan - as a voracious reader I can say you are unique in the SF you produce. Thank you, yet again for your intelligent and deeply human works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn, it's good!, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
S. Holland (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Top notch Egan. Now I've got to go and read it again, then re-read all three books again.
Top of the line stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Egan you'll like this. If you don't, not a great place to start., 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a mostly satisfying conclusion to a very good trilogy. I kind of wish there had been another generation between the main chunk of the book at the short section at the end. Not because it would have helped with the story, but because it would have been fun to explore the development of the technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is only okay,, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not like it too much, he got bogged down in science, requiring too much thinking. It needs clearer descriptions for the science. I understand the theory of relativity, but I got lost in this. It was too much work to keep flipping back to understand why things would work the way they do. I would not read it again. My benchmark for a good book is that I would reread it at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews