Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real hip hop + balck keys = good music!!!
What surprised me the most about the 'Blakroc' album initially were the hip hop features it contains. No fake MCs that you see on the TV and hear on the radio every day, but some of the most legendary and talented hip hop stars ever including the RZA, Raekwon and the late Ol' Dirty Bastard who are all 3 of the most notable members of the Wu-Tang Clan (the best hip hop...
Published on 22 Dec. 2009 by Mr. D. Holmes

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New version?? Just one less track!
Ok, firstly the 1 star review is misleading. I bought the 'original' verison of this and would have given 5 stars had i done a review. Absolutely brilliant! (read the reviews for it)
I gave that CD away as an emergencey xmas present (someone id forgot!)and bought this 'new version' for myself.
As far as i can tell, its exactly the same as the original version...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Rich Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real hip hop + balck keys = good music!!!, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
What surprised me the most about the 'Blakroc' album initially were the hip hop features it contains. No fake MCs that you see on the TV and hear on the radio every day, but some of the most legendary and talented hip hop stars ever including the RZA, Raekwon and the late Ol' Dirty Bastard who are all 3 of the most notable members of the Wu-Tang Clan (the best hip hop group ever), and also alternate hip hop stars like Mos Def and Q-Tip. I highly reccommend this album for any fan of either the Black Keys or Real Hip Hop. It is an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected yet brilliant detour..., 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
There's no way when I first saw The Black Keys perform to a small, half-empty room above a pub in Brighton shortly after the 2003 release of their second album 'thickfreakness', that I would ever have predicted this latest artistic detour. Anyone who's followed their career and seen them live will know what a force of nature they are on stage, but until very recently the music stayed pretty firmly rooted in the blues. Maybe it was a result of working with Brian 'Danger Mouse' Burton on the 'Attack & Release' album that turned them on to Hip Hop or perhaps they were privately into it anyway, whatever - they've now teamed up with a cracking line-up of authentic Rap aristocrats and produced this gem of an album.

At just under thirty-eight minutes, it doesn't overstay its welcome but that means there's not a dull moment here. The slightly old-school rap stylings and Auerbach's finely-judged guitar playing mesh brilliantly and avoid the tiresome cliches that usually abound on other rock-rap crossover projects. There's a sense that these blues boys have a genuine feel for hip-hop and all concerned sound to be having a ball. I might be showing my ignorance of recent developments in hip-hop here but I hadn't heard the rapper NOE before and his similarity to Jay-Z is absolutely remarkable. Another revelation for me is the contribution of vocalist Nicole Wray, who I'm ashamed to say is another artist I was previously unfamiliar with and who brings an extra touch of class to every track that she features on. Also listen out for the excellent Q-Tip on 'Hope You're Happy' which makes me want to punch the air every time I hear it.

This album has single-handedly revived my flagging interest in hip-hop and I would unhesitatingly recommend it to any fan of the Black Keys, Wu-Tang Clan or old-school rap generally. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New version?? Just one less track!, 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
Ok, firstly the 1 star review is misleading. I bought the 'original' verison of this and would have given 5 stars had i done a review. Absolutely brilliant! (read the reviews for it)
I gave that CD away as an emergencey xmas present (someone id forgot!)and bought this 'new version' for myself.
As far as i can tell, its exactly the same as the original version... but the tracks are in a different order and there is one track 'Coochie', missing.
So the 1 star review is really just to say DONT buy this, but DO buy the original!
If im missing something then please let me know.
More Blakroc to come this year apparantly. Great news!
Cheers
Rich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
Am Williams (wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
quite simply magnificent. no fuss, no samples, all recorded in 11 days. all sounds made by the black keys, who
excel ,as always, at laying down a great musical canvas for the more celebrated rap artists to strut there stuff. check out the 11 episode making of on youtube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blakroc rocks!, 1 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
For any fan of The Black Keys, and or hip hop, blues/rock. Blakroc is one of the more inspired fusions of two genres of recent times. The Black Keys blues guitar fits well with the different rappers' styles, and we still get the pleasure of hearing Dan Auerbachs soulful voice. This album is a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Such a brilliant album. Who ever thought of this collaboration is a genius. Love it. Highly recommend getting this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars something different.., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
well i wasn't expecting my two favourite music types to collide on a black keys album..but they did. lots of top guests on this, and a diverse album as a result, but certainly not weak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Black Keys can do no wrong., 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
Great collaborations. Couldn't stop listening to Coochie on repeat in particular.

Definitely worth a listen for any Black Keys fan as it's a little out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top collab, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
If you like the Black Keys....you will love the genius that is this collaboration with a series of rap singers.... listen to the tunes - the Keys come blasting through... a VERY under-rated masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blueroc, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blakroc (Audio CD)
I have to say that Patrick carneys beats are just awesome on this record. It's a pretty cool fusion of rap and rock and works well. Well worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blakroc [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews