Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package
I won't bother reviewing the film itself, as I'm sure most of you reading this are already fans, so I'll just stick to describing this new 3-disc release.

As many of you probably know, the film was considered too long for a commercial release by the typically clueless studio execs of the time, and was summarily hacked-down by about 15 minutes. In a depressing...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by pattic

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Washed out additional footage that could be better.
This rating is for the 3 disc BD package, the film itself is always an easy 5 stars!

This BluRay looks great for the most part but, the additional scenes, like the opener at the church and the "Gently Johnny" segment are washed out and flat. They might well have be painstakingly restored and de-speckled, as one of the bonus features demonstrates, but what was...
Published 6 months ago by 52ofa1000


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package, 7 Oct 2006
By 
I won't bother reviewing the film itself, as I'm sure most of you reading this are already fans, so I'll just stick to describing this new 3-disc release.

As many of you probably know, the film was considered too long for a commercial release by the typically clueless studio execs of the time, and was summarily hacked-down by about 15 minutes. In a depressing turn of events, the original negative of the film was lost, leaving no high quality method of restoring the missing footage.

Luckily for us, they were able to clip the missing footage into the main print, via the only full, unedited version in existence...a print owned by Roger Corman, the American king of exploitation pictures no less!

The quality of the missing scenes is not nearly as good as the rest of the film, making a list of "restored scenes" entirely unnecessary (you'll be able to tell), but it's probably the best we will ever get.

The package contains both the edited and newly restored versions of the film. The edited theatrical version has a very good transfer and 5.1 dolby sound mix. The Director's cut is presented in the aforementioned spotty video and mono audio.

The excellent commentary from the previous U.K. version is also included here (even if Christopher Lee comes off a bit cranky), as well as the original 35 minute featurette "The Wicker Man Enigma".

What's new is the freshly produced 60 minute documentary hosted by Mark Kermode. It's a wonderful and informative documentary, that suprisingly covers mostly different ground than the "Wicker Man Enigma", paying more attention to the genesis of the project and it's filming, rather than the "unfortunate fate" of the film covered in "Enigma".

You also get a soundtrack CD, which is something I've been waiting for forever. The sound quality is excellent, suprisingly so, although "The Landlord's daughter" is a different version than the one from the film. They must have lost the original. Also, there is no tracklisting for the CD, but that's a minor quibble.

This is a big upgrade for North American buyers, as we gain the new documentary as well as the soundtrack and commentary. U.K. buyers are only gaining the documentary, and soundtrack, but either way I think it's well worth the upgrade. Job well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Classic!, 14 April 2007
By 
J. D. L. Bailey (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Wicker Man is an amazing film! This release gives you the opportunity to see the Director's Cut, compare the different versions and learn more -which is great!

I personally love the scene where there is a big close-up of two snails squelchingly intertwined in the moonlight whilst Willow McGregor and Ash Buchanan are having sex! Very symbolic, and very clever.

Robin Hardy was clearly a very talented director and I wonder why he did not do more. His direction gives this film a lingering, quiet creepiness which is more unnerving than a full-on horror film. The creepy imagery is often quite subtle - like that creepy, swaying woman in the graveyard with the egg in one hand and the baby in the other, and that weird candle shaped like a hand that Willow uses to put Howie to sleep. The climax of the film is particularly chilling and visually very effective. Like many good films (including Get Carter) The Wicker Man only got the recognition it deserved after many years. Great cast. Great music. A film stains your brain. A film that is hauntingly poignant and far more than the sum of its parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burn Baby, Burn!, 2 Aug 2002
By 
A. MCGILL (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They marketed films differently in those days. Today The Wicker Man would be sold as “from the writer of Sleuth”, for Anthony Shaffer penned the original stage classic that became the remarkable Olivier/Caine two-hander. Then audiences would know what to expect: a battle of wits between two men of diametrically opposed beliefs (Christopher Lee and Edward Woodward doubling the Olivier/Caine sparring), drawn across a plotline so full red herrings that the writer would not reveal his hand until the very last shot. All very cerebral. Arty.
But no, the film starred Christopher Lee and featured scream queen du jour Ingrid Pitt, so naturally the distributors sold it as another cheesy Hammer/Amicus gorefest. Except it had no monsters, no gore, was shot on location in faux documentary style, and featured a virgin Catholic policeman in the lead – a character who by 1973 standards was as hip as a prosthetic pelvis. Of course, the beer and chips brigade voted it the thumbs down and not even a double bill with Nic Roeg’s latest effort, Don’t Look Now, could save its fortune.
To be fair, like Sleuth there is a play on genres here. The Wicker Man does start out with more than a whiff of the gothic. A child is reported missing; a policeman (Sgt. Howie – Woodward) heads off to a remote Scottish island, Summerisle, to investigate; the locals are secretive. There are hints of paganism. Well, not hints - and this is where The Wicker Man deviates from formula. The paganism on the island is pretty blatant, and presented not in a witches-and-covens way, but a wholly up to date, natural, eco-friendly, organic manner. We feel for Howie as he tries to find out what happens to the girl, but frankly the islanders seem to have it made, and their idyllic lifestyle seems far more rational and modern – not to mention more appealing – than the pre-Reformation beliefs of the repressed and repressive policeman (who even turns down the charms of Britt Ekland because he’s saving himself for his forthcoming nuptials – by God, if ever there was a man who needed a bit of how’s-your-father to remove the bug from up his backside . . .). In fact, by the time we meet the charming Lord Summerisle (Lee) we begin to wonder just who is the goodie and who is the baddie.
And best to stop there. Some horror films jolt at regular intervals, even the so-called hi-brow ones like The Exorcist and The Shining. But The Wicker Man is more in line with George Sluizer’s excellent The Vanishing; a seemingly innocuous work that keeps its sucker punch right until the end. In fact, up to that last moment you’ll probably be wondering just what the fuss is about – and then it will hit you. Admittedly part of the film's intellectual clout has been lost: we naturally start out on Howie’s side, but that wouldn’t have necessarily be true for the early seventies cinema-going audience Schaffer was writing for (i.e. young, possibly college-educated, probably anti-authoritarian, certainly hippy). In fact, the film acquired its cult following not for its ethical debate (Howie vs Summerisle; old fashioned Catholic morality versus liberal paganism) as its stylistic approach; in an age when horror movies were the staple of British cinema, The Wicker Man stands as possibly the only one to take the genre seriously and not rely on fantasy or guignol.
And therein lies its power. Hardy’s direction is admirable not for its flourishes (of which there are few) but his deft sidestepping of cliché. Gone are the usual long shadows and skewed angles, replaced by sunshine, golden scenery and a naturalistic feel which, in its eye for local detail, sometimes feels like one of those tourist information films you used to get as the b-movie back in the seventies (remember the film on Leeds which opens The Full Monty?). The cast too avoid the usual screaming and mugging. Woodward was always too starchy, too much the martinet to truly appeal as a male lead, but Hardy uses this to his advantage, making it the foundation of the less-than-likeable Sgt. Howie (he’s the protagonist, not the “hero”). With Lee he takes the opposite approach: usually the charming villain, Lee is for once just charming – no steely glint, no subtle undertone of ruthlessness. Indeed, that is what makes him so unnerving (he’s the antagonist, not the "villain” per se). Even the minor supporting characters excel, seeming like real residents not the stereotyped villagers Hammer churned out. Good Lord, even the village actually looks like a real village, not a fibreglass and plywood construction on a Bray soundstage. And the denouement? That also looks real. My God does it look real.
Too real.
And now on DVD we get the director’s cut. Almost – Hardy has only been able to restore 15 minutes of footage (the rest apparently lost under the tarmac of one of Britain’s major motorways). He has, quite rightly, griped that his original cut was butchered for release – and it was – but if this restored version is any indication, the movie would still have got short shrift from cinema audiences. Like the restored versions of Spartacus, Aliens, Lawrence of Arabia and Apocalypse Now, it plugs a few plot gaps and feels a little more rounded but doesn’t tell us anything the original, however emasculated, didn’t. Indeed, like the recent “version you’ve never seen” of The Exorcist, what was implied (i.e. Howie’s faith, his virginity; the islanders' liberal attitude toward sex) is now stated rather more bluntly. The DVD includes both versions, so you can take your pick (though alas, the iffy quality of the restored footage does stick out like a sore thumb). But even in its bowdlerized form - lost, hacked, miss-marketed and finally fobbed off on the b-movie circuit - The Wicker Man stands as the finest film either Hardy, Schaffer, Woodward, Pitt, Ekland or Lee, yes even Lee, has made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An improved classic, 6 Dec 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This two disc edition of The Wickerman is well worth getting for 3 reasons.

Firstly this is a great film that is worth seeing whether you want a special edition or not. Contrary to one of the previous reviewers I found the DVD quality to be good. The extended version of the film on disc 2 does suffer from poor quality, but only in the 15 restored minutes.

Secondly the longer version of the film is much better (regardless of quality). The whole film makes more sense and crucial missing opening scene explains quite a lot about Edward Woodwards character.

Thirdly the commentaries by Christopher Lee, Edward Woodward and Robin Hardy (the director) are marvellous. These are very informative and Christopher Lee in particular is very passionate about the film.

This is a strongly recommended DVD, which can be picked very cheap if you hunt around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantabulous, make no mistake!, 29 Jan 2003
I didn't really know what to expect when watching this film, as I'm not the most ardent fan of the horror/thriller genre and this film was recommended to me by a work colleague. I can say now, after having watched this movie, that it is possibly one of the best constructed movies I've ever seen. I was captivated thorughout (not an easy task, I assure you!), and was ultimately surprised by the film's end, but I won't give that away!
Extreme tension and some brilliant acting from Christopher Lee and Edward Woodward push the movie along with surprising speed, yet never releasing the viewer from the suspense and isolation of Howie (Woodward) and Summerisle itself.
Despite not following the same religious beliefs myself, the portrayal of both Howie as the devout Christian and the pagan lifestyles of the islanders act in sharp contrast with each other, and also add to the increasing isolation.
Overall, an excellent movie. Worth buying for the film itself, and the extras are well worth a look (audio commentary and the additional 15 minutes of footage in particular). Highly recommended, and I can't praise it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect The Holy Grail in this Blu-ray release., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicker Man - 3-Disc 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I could pore over every nuance of the film (I must have seen it 2, maybe 3 hundred times: from late night TV in the very early '80's, through scratchy VHS copies (and a copy of the Roger Corman 'cut', long before it commercially appeared on DVD), then DVD and now, on Blu-ray.

I was actually reticent to buy it, due in no small part to the disingenuous claims made by both Studio Canal and Robin Hardy in the pre-launch propaganda that this was the 'never seen before version'. For Wicker Man fans anticipating the Holy Grail: lengthy footage of Chris Lee discussing apple strains with Sergeant Howie or the deleted Holly Grimmond scenes, they are likely to be underpinning the M3 motorway as landfill (Michael Deeley and Eric Boyd-Perkins are quite possibly responsible for that!) and are equally unlikely to be ever seen.

Instead, this version contains some of the Corman scenes (found on the DVD "Director's Cut 'full' version) including Ash Buchanan's introduction to Aphrodite, Gently Johnny, Willow scrubbing the tables the following morning, etc.

No Alder rattling the spoons across the optics or blowing smoke across the wall towards the missing photo frame. You get the cut version of Landlord's Daughter missing a verse and no police station scene at the beginning with John Hallam, though I did note in the end credits: Postman - Tony Roper scrolled-up. The opening credits attributes music to Magnet (was it not Lodestone on the Corman version?)

Sound is not been vastly improved upon. Some reviews on Amazon suggest a 5.1 soundtrack, but printed on the box and apparent to my ears, it's 2.0 mono. However, the picture quality is a revelation: jumping out of the screen in comparison to any previous version I've seen. I didn't realise it was raining when Howie first lands on the jetty at Plockton, but the rain droplets on his West Highland Constabulary tunic are apparent to see.

Mark Kermode's documentary is good: Boyd-Perkins, Deeley, Ekland, etc. are interviewed alongside the pro-film 'usual suspects' (Hardy/Lee/Woodward/Shaffer/Snell/etc.). Ekland postures that her voice was completely re-dubbed by Annie Ross throughout the film and that she was unaware of the Miss P and Jane Jackson body doubles until the film's release, despite Jane saying Ekland eyed her up and down in pre-approval just prior to the shooting before swanning off set (likely to go and enrage more of the locals with her prima donna attitude).

I may have been a bit stubborn in my reticence to buy the Blu-ray, but as said above, the manner of marketing it as something entirely new irritated me no end, but it seemed silly to not have my favourite film in my Blu-ray collection. I'm glad that I did buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wicker Man 2 DVD + CD. A cult classic that actually delivers., 28 Aug 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprisingly enough, I'd never seen this film before purchasing this set. I've heard lots about it over the years, mainly attacks from pious goody goodies who've never actually seen the film, but a few glowing reviews from film buff's who's opinion I respect. After stumbling across this set I decided it was time to take a chance.

The film itself was a bit of a surprise, I had almost been expecting something along the lines of a Hammer production. However, the production values and photography are superb. From the opening shot of the sea plane flying across the Scottish Isles to the legendary finale, the photography is quite superb and breathtaking. This is a production that has been put together with love and care.

The plot was also not was I was expecting. Written by Anthony Shaffer (who also wrote one of my favourite films of all time, Sleuth), it is an excellent tale of a staunchly Catholic policeman Sgt. Howie (Woodward) who has flown out to a remote Island community to locate a missing girl. The community (headed by the seemingly affable Lord Summersisle, played by an incredibly impressive Christopher Lee) closes ranks, and Howie comes to suspect something dreadful has happened and is connected to the islander's pagan beliefs. The story works on several levels, the straight investigation element, and the wonderful character study of Howie and his growing revulsion as he battles the islander's paganism with his Christianity. The sly manipulations of Summersisle, (Christopher Lee's greatest screen performance - the character has an almost magnetically affable persona, with a strong undercurrent of menace just behind the surface. Lee gets to act for a change, and not just dress up un a silly cape with fangs for make-up, he obviously relished the opportunity and grabbed it with both hands) gradually come to the fore, building to the a very surprising 'twist' ending and the final confrontation between the religious beliefs of Summersisle and Howie, said beliefs are ultimately both shown the be hollow. A really great thriller and character piece.

This set contains two versions of the film, the original theatrical release which was so badly cut as to make it almost unintelligible, and a directors cut, which restores as much material as is still extant, and makes the story a lot clearer. The picture quality is good in both, but the restored sections in the directors cut are from a low quality source and so stand out as the picture quality very obviously dips in these sections. The sound quality is superb.

The third disk is a CD of the soundtrack. It is worth getting this set for this CD alone. It features dialogue form the film, and all the original music. The opener 'Corn rigs' is a classic, and Christopher Lee singing the innuendo laden 'The Tinker of Rye' is a permanent fixture on my MP3 playlists!

An excellent set, which does thorough justice to a cult classic, which more than deserves it's reputation. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray transfer and good value all round., 20 Oct 2013
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wicker Man - 3-Disc 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, the "Final Cut" is merely the Director's Cut minus the opening footage of Sgt. Howie at the police station on the mainland. The transfer is superb and we can still see a slight difference in picture quality when the few scenes that were not in the theatrical cut (-the shortest version-) appear but nevertheless very good pq throughout the film. Some special features were on the DVD but with all three versions and the soundtrack, this is an exceptional Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine classic of British cinema., 12 Aug 2006
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best British films ever made - simply that! Considering its pretty low budget it is staggering how good this is. There is no other film that compares to this, it really belongs in a genre all of its own. Made in a time when horror films were completely formulaic (the same is still true I guess) this film really broke the mold. I must have seen this film 20 or 30 times over the years and I still love it.

Christopher Lee (Lord Summerisle) describes this as his greatest moment. Perhaps you think well so what, he didn't have that many, but here he is excellent. Edward Woodward also gives a tremendous performance as Sergeant Howie. The other main actors maybe aren't so good but what really makes this film is the contribution of the bit part actors and extras many of whom were local repertory players or just members of the public. They give the film a real authentic feel. The script and the storyline are truly excellent and the ending still shocks.

But the absolute best thing about this is the music. Composed by Paul Giovanni. This has to be some of the most fitting film score ever written. It just goes with the film so well. To be honest I pretty much hate "musicals" but in the case of the Wicker Man I don't feel worried that people start bursting into song - it just goes so well with the storyline and adds the quirky feel that makes this film a cult classic.

The good thing about this release on DVD is that it gives you a chance to compare the butchered cinema release version (which most people will have seen as this is the version generally shown on TV) to the extended directors cut version which is infinitely better. A few of the scenes on this version are a little dodgy in quality due to the difficulties restoring this film (see the book "Inside the Wicker Man" which is also excellent). However the presence of scenes such as "Gently Johnny" certainly add to the film.

A genuine classic of British cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Keep The Wicker Man Waiting..., 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This 1973 British film was savagely edited during a studio takeover before being allowed to escape as a B-feature. Contemporary critical and popular interest was almost non-existent - although this Classic Collection DVD release is testament to the ability of Anthony Schaffer's curious screenplay to generate an extensive delayed cult of admirers.
Edward Woodward stars as police sergeant Neil Howie, investigating an anonymous report of a missing girl on Summerisle - a fictional island off the coast of Scotland. Despite the locals' denial of the girl's very existence, Howie finds alarming evidence to the contrary and of her involvement in the island's fervent observance of pagan rituals. Veteran villain Christopher Lee stars as Lord Summerisle, his avowed favourite role, with a patronising and aristocratic distain of Howie's presence.
One disc contains the theatrical release in widescreen and newly and sensitively mixed 5.1 sound. The transfer is excellent but reveals limitations of the source material - processing flaws are particularly evident in dark, low-contrast sequences, for example. The second disc contains the so-called 'Director's Cut'. This extended version is really the theatrical release extended by the insertion of quite poor quality footage sourced by necessity from an NTSC 1-inch telecine transfer release. However, the image quality is quite noticeably poorer throughout the entire 'Director's Cut'.
Extras include a lucid commentary by the two main stars and director and a well-produced 35-minute documentary examining the origins of the film. This Classic Collection release also exclusively includes the superb soundtrack CD sourced by newly discovered stereo masters. There is also a reproduction of the original press booklet, and a Senitype™ (a film frame of the recent Region 2 Collector's Edition with matching still) and even an Easter Egg for treasure hunters.
This is certainly a very worthy release and a limited one at that - as it is obviously designed for diehard fans of the film with one of the most stunning climaxes in filmic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wicker Man - 3-Disc 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray]
Wicker Man - 3-Disc 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] by Edward Woodward (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews