Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Classic Country
Willie Nelson must be the hardest working performer in country music because "To All The Girls" is his 96th studio album since 1962, his 32nd album of the 21st century - and he's 80 years old. Of course, with such an output, there have been some duds but most have been to such a high standard that, in terms of volume, will probably never be surpassed.

His new...
Published 11 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music for when the party winds down
I'm a big fan of Willy's, but feel that this isn't one of his best. Although Norah Jones sounds as wonderful as always and Dolly Parton as recognisable as ever, this is music to put you to sleep. There are 18 songs in all, so it's a long CD. I by far prefer his Legends CD. This has 16 songs - Willy obviously believes in giving value for money. I was also a wee bit...
Published 8 months ago by The Book Hound


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Classic Country, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
Willie Nelson must be the hardest working performer in country music because "To All The Girls" is his 96th studio album since 1962, his 32nd album of the 21st century - and he's 80 years old. Of course, with such an output, there have been some duds but most have been to such a high standard that, in terms of volume, will probably never be surpassed.

His new album is an eighteen track collaboration with legends, icons, superstars and mere mortals, produced by the multi talented Buddy Cannon. In his long career Willie has embraced pop, jazz, reggae, western swing, gospel and was a leader of the Country Outlaw movement. But this is a celebration of classic country with, perhaps, a nod to the progressive country of albums such as "Teatro" with "No Mas Amor", a striking, trumpet inflected duet with Alison Krauss.

Aficionados of the Nelson canon will not be disappointed with a powerful reading of Kristofferson's "Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends" with Rosanne Cash and an emotion packed delivery of the classic break up song "Always On My Mind" with Carrie Underwood, full of anguish, pain and sorrow and recalling the impact of his 1982 platinum single.

There is an atmospheric version of Bruce Springsteen's "Dry Lightning" with fellow icon Emmylou Harris as he

".....chased the heat of her blood/like it was the holy grail."

Western Swing is revisited with a rollicking performance of "Til The End Of The World" with Shelby Lynne,there's a steel guitar infused version of Merle Haggard's "She Was No Good To Me" with Miranda Lambert and a gorgeous reading of the dreamy, classic "Far Away Places" with Sheryl Crow. The Nelson original "Walkin'" with Norah Jones resonates with quality but, in truth, with contributions from Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn and Mavis Staples as well, there isn't a dud cut on the album.

The "mere mortals" such as Lily Meola, Brandi Carlile and the Secret Sisters acquit themselves well in such exalted company. This is a gentle, relaxed album with no pretensions - just a celebration of classic country sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Mixed Bag From Willie!, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: To All The Girls (Audio CD)
It's amazing how prolific Willie Nelson remains at the age of 80. This, Willie's second album release this year, offers us a mixed bag of covers with a variety of female duet guests.

I'm not sure whether Willie loves to sing with other artists and approaches them or whether the other artists are queueing up for the honour of singing with him, but it seems like there's hardly a singer out there who hasn't worked with him, from rock stars to rap people.

As ever, with such projects, it's something of a mixed bag. The high points for me are "From Here To The Moon And Back" with Dolly Parton, "No Mas Amor" with Alison Krauss, "Somewhere Between" with Loretta Lynn, and "Grandma's Hands" with Mavis Staples. It's the recordings with the 'older' artists that strike a cord with me, those with the younger artists are much more throwaway. I find Carrie Underwood's take on "Always On My Mind" particularly irritating: it's as if she's singing a different song to Willie in places.

It's good on the whole - Willie sounds in top form and the musicians are excellent - but probably one where I'll listen to selected tracks rather than the whole thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie still in good form, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
With this album of duets, Willie teams up with a selection of women, some of them young enough to be his grandchildren, to sing a mix of mostly familiar songs, some of which he wrote in years gone by.

Most of the songs are ballads, though the tempo picks up a little here and there, notably on Bloody Mary morning (with Wynonna Judd) and the closing After the fire is gone (with Tina Rose).

I am familiar with most of the singers to some extemt, but there are some who I've never heard of, which reflects the fact that I'm a bit out of touch with the contemporary music scene, but they all sound great here and I'll investigate the singers new to me in due course.

I'm not sure how long Willie intends to continue recording music, but he has no reason to retire as long as he can sustain this standard. I wonder what Patsy Cline would make of him if she had lived a long life, given that she was reluctant to record Crazy, because she didn't like his voice :-) I suppose it is an acquired taste, but millions of us have acquired that taste.

Not many singers could record an album this good at 80, but Willie has proved with this album that it can be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music for when the party winds down, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Willy's, but feel that this isn't one of his best. Although Norah Jones sounds as wonderful as always and Dolly Parton as recognisable as ever, this is music to put you to sleep. There are 18 songs in all, so it's a long CD. I by far prefer his Legends CD. This has 16 songs - Willy obviously believes in giving value for money. I was also a wee bit disappointed this didn't come in a plastic case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. B. P. Fitzpatrick "Music mellow" (Newry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
Amazing that Willie can still produce such albums at this stage in his long and great career!
Fans will like and love this album, the long list of duets, the different styles and the range of songs covered would not have any negative reactions from long time fans of this great singer!
Willie has his own style and it works, proven over so many years and I for one would still listen to Willie because I know that there is that one chance that even one track is memorable, haunting with the urge to play again!
While he is still around, I for will appreciate his output. His voice has aged well and does not really suffer, there is no anguish here like that when listening to any J Cash or Glen Campbell where their voice and singing skill has been dimmed by age!
I still look forward to every new production of Willie's and still enjoy them, that says a great deal about this unique artist!
He has earned that tag, unique and this production proves it. Worth buying for many, many diverse reasons and opinions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic cd for Willie Nelson lovers. Bought it for my husband for Valentines day then bought another for my mum for mothers day. Fantastic songs...love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
I love Willie Nelson and this is a really good album as it comprises duets with various female singers. Willie's distinctive voice is amazing and it's hard to believe that he can still sing as well at the grand old age of 80. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Willie at his best, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (MP3 Download)
Willie has an unique voice and a way of delivering a song so gentle and easy. On this album he collaborates with other artists whose voices harmonize with him to perfection. An album to enjoy sitting in the sun with a chilled glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great combination, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Jennifer Jenkins "Jen Jenkins" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
This is a really good album, the combination of his voice and the girls chosen is really interesting but good..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic new album, from americas voice number 1.., 16 Jan 2014
By 
Lasse Elmer "music man" (Faarup, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To All The Girls... (Audio CD)
This duet album is a timeless album from American country singer and guitarist Willie Nelson..
and it has turned out to be the best selling Country album for him in over 20 years..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To All The Girls...
To All The Girls... by Willie Nelson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews