Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
I'm not a ballet fan, and I'm not a huge fan of Tchaikovsky's music either. But I happened to run into the Matthew Bourne version of The Sleeping Beauty on TV at Christmas and was instantly fascinated, to the extent that I wanted to watch the whole ballet and therefore bought the DVD. It didn't disappoint. It's the "Gothic" aspect, the evil characters especially, that make this a completely different experience from the usual ballet stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars escape into the world of music and dance, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Jm Campbell (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
Mathew Bourne, not surprisingly, has done it again. Imagination both in the dance and the settings. A fast moving production that tealls an easy to follow story. I beg to be forgiven but I must single out Dominic North's dancing. inspirational and spellbinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a successful crossover production, 6 April 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
Matthew Bourne has come up trumps again in an enjoyable production of this classic ballet. . The two leads, Hannah Vassallo and Dominic North, both have a magnetic presence and show the movement to be an extension of Tchaikovsky's music. There is also a vampire theme mixed in with the good fairies which makes the whole thing bang up to date. The evil fairy is played by a man and carried on by the same dancer as the son a century later (this last part is set in the modern world with mobiles etc). There is also an extended sequence where the male dancers are shirtless with white short-ish trousers and long wigs like rock guitarists, which was very effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
I love Matthew Bourne productions & this did not disappoint. Wonder what is next.j
I have all his other DVD 's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ballet, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Ken 'Sierra One' (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
Sleeping Beauty was always a great Ballet but this cast really are superb and put their heart and soul into the story.
A Most enjoyable DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there, 20 Sep 2013
By 
P. Aplin "philaplin" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
I was in the Bristol Hippodrome on one of the nights this was filmed and it really was a superb production. Obviously I have not seen the DVD itself yet but I shall certainly be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing twist on a classic., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
Having seen this live on the stage, I wanted to share the Experience with my family, and let me tell you that this DVD does not lose much of the impact of the live performance. It is a truly a fantastic story told well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolut charming version, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
A very interesting version of the ballet with a psycological credibility. I definitely want to see more Matthew Bourne dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Night Out At Home, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Robert L. Marson "Rob" (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
A mesmerising show from the start we were fascinated by a completely new slant on the story. It is beautifully and clearly described in dance with wonderful dancers. Matthew Bourne does it again for us, the fourth of his wonderful shows we have seen; at the theatre and now on the must have DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne does it again! Gorgeous production!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (DVD)
This is a magical updating of 'Sleeping Beauty', with vampires and demons and gorgeous costumes! I saw it live in Glasgow, and enjoyed it tremendously. The late 19-early 20C scenes have more than a touch of pre-Revolutionary Russia (the King looks like Nikolai II), and Aurora's relationship with the gamekeeper/gardener is a tad Lady Chatterley! Carabosse/Caradoc is very well played (with wonderful outfits as both mother and son), and I love the feral, vampiric færies, especially Count Lilac.

But please can we have a DVD release of Matthew Bourne's 'Dorian Gray'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty
Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty by Matthew Bourne The Sleeping Beauty Orchestra Brett Morris (DVD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews