Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for country music fans rather than pop fans
This double CD contains all the tracks from the original albums Harper Vslley PTA, Yearbooks and yesterdays, Things go better with love, Country girl and The generation gap, plus the original B-side of the single Harper Valley PTA (Yesterday all day long), which was omitted from the original album.

Why this is for country music fans rather than pop fans...
Published 18 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same over 5 LPs sadly
The title track will be known to all C&W fans but much of the rest on this great value collection will not be, given the singer's one hit status in the UK. I recall hearing it on radio as a teenager and like Bobby Gentry's "Ode to Billy Joe" knew this was going to be a classic - different in tone, lyrics (the usually excellent Tom Hall) and great musicianship...
Published 19 months ago by Siriam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for country music fans rather than pop fans, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
This double CD contains all the tracks from the original albums Harper Vslley PTA, Yearbooks and yesterdays, Things go better with love, Country girl and The generation gap, plus the original B-side of the single Harper Valley PTA (Yesterday all day long), which was omitted from the original album.

Why this is for country music fans rather than pop fans

Reading other Amazon reviews in both the UK and USA, I wonder if the reviewers are primarily pop fans wh enjoy a little bit of country music, rather than bona-fide country music fans. I like a lot of pop oldies, but I'm first and foremost a country music fan, although it's not always obvious from looking through my reviews as I go through phases where I review mostly pop and other music. Whereas a pop music fan will sometimes focus on the overall sound, and therefore doesn't like too much repetition of the same basic sound, country fans also listen to the songs, although even this may be changing now as country music becomes more like pop music used to be. This collection contains a lot of story songs about different aspects of life that are likely to appeal to country fans who enjoy these songs, but I can imagine that if somebody is mainly listening to the sound, it might sound all a bit samey.

Therefore, I recommend that pop fans who only like to dabble in country should either buy a greatest hits collection or a re-issue of the original Harper Valley PTA album.

The remainder of this review is for committed country music fans.

One thing that inspired me even before I ordered this set was the track listing. Around the time that these tracks were recorded, it was common practice for country singers (and some pop singers too) to have one or two original songs that would be released as singles to promote the album, which would otherwise be filled mostly or entirely with cover versions of other people's hits. I have enjoyed listening to many such albums, and listening to covers has sometimes led me to discover original artists that I wasn't aware of at the time, but Jeannie's albums were dominated by original material of a high quality. The only oldies that I clearly recognize from elsewhere, and which Jeannie covered, are Okie from Muskogee, Games people play, Your old love letters and Am I that easy to forget? Apart from those four, I also know that Lynn Anderson recorded That's a no-no, but I'm not sure if she or Jeannie recorded it first. If Jeannie covered any other songs for these five albums, it's not obvious to me.

The remaining tracks include songs that I was already familiar with because I've heard them sung by Jeannie on her greatest hits compilations, or because I've heard other people's covers of Jeannie's originals. Dottie West covered I'm only a woman (an album track by Jeannie), made it the title of one of her albums and had a minor country hit with it. She also covered Harper Valley PTA (on a different album) as did Billie Jo Spears, Dolly Parton and Martina McBride among others.

I hadn't heard Jeannie's debut album in its entirety before, but I love the idea of having a whole series of songs about each member of the PTA in turn. Tom T Hall was a great singer and songwriter for whom the title track was his breakthrough (it secured him a recording contract) and he wrote the other songs about the PTA members.

There are plenty of story songs about various aspects of rural life. I could write a lot about these songs, but suffice to say that after these five albums, Jeannie released one more album and some singles on the label, which she quit and had little success thereafter. Two top ten country hits in 1971 (Oh singer, Good enough to be your wife) came too late for this compilation that ends in 1970, and they are good, but they can be found on greatest hits collections and may be available individually as downloads.

This is a great collection for country fans, and for anybody else who likes good story songs and doesn't mind if the music is a bit samey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really love this one!, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Jan Lindqvist "Janne.Sweden" (Visby/Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
It's great to have my old LP "Country Girl" on a 2-CD with 47 "bonus tracks", how about that...???

Janne/Sweden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same over 5 LPs sadly, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
The title track will be known to all C&W fans but much of the rest on this great value collection will not be, given the singer's one hit status in the UK. I recall hearing it on radio as a teenager and like Bobby Gentry's "Ode to Billy Joe" knew this was going to be a classic - different in tone, lyrics (the usually excellent Tom Hall) and great musicianship.

The five pretty rare LPs included in this excellent value 2 CD box set, with extensive notes sadly evidence that the initial break through was not maintained. The early LPs are the best as the singer is still bedding down the image of the outspoken housewife (matched by her mini skirt image and contrary to many C&W female performers of the period) or small town observer (in parts a lot like early Bobby Gentry), recording a variety of songs written by others. The problem however is that Shelby Singleton as her label's producer and owner seems to have had very fixed ideas about how experimental he would let his singers be (not much, if the liner notes are correct) and was a great believer in not altering what was a winning formula, even if diminishing sales should have told him different.

By the final three LPs neither the artiste or the songs create much excitement and the usually excellent session musicians seem to be getting bored. There are still the odd good tracks on each of the later LPs but listening to both CDs and all five LPs in a row ends up being pretty numbing. The sad story of the singer's own decline into divorce and alcoholism subsequently seems inevitable given the career arc being followed.

I was left hoping I must admit for the future release of a single CD "Best of" possibly including some of her later labels output which I know nothing about, in being a better record of what was so good about this unique lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
Really good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WORDY SONGS FRM 60S, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
THIS 2 CD SET HAS FIUE 60S LPS AND THE FEELING OF THESE TRACKS IS AMUSING WORDY SONGS .SHE HAS A GD VOICE IF LIGHTWEIGHT THIS IS NOT TRAGIC COUNTRY QUEEN MODE SHE IS NO PATSY OR TAMMY BUT I ENJOYED THIS CD V MUCH INDEED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
KAREL PFABIGAN (PRAGUE 12, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Valley P.T.A. (Audio CD)
I AM HAPPY FOR THIS TITLE /BOX/ I HAVE AT HOM LP AND CD WITH HARPER VALLEY P.T.A., BUT ON CD IS ONLY 8 SONGS
NOW IS O.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harper Valley P.T.A.
Harper Valley P.T.A. by Jeannie C. Riley (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews