Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah
haha... ok lets cut to the chase, I love it! and so has everyone I have played it to!

the band are tight and fast when they need to be, proper fast! Yeah call it space rock, and it does rock, but dont let that associate in your mind with whimsical drifty conk - this is like the proto punk sound this artist came from and helped create... the band (without sleeve...
Published 11 months ago by B. Hunt

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterances of Master
If you read some of the negative reviews you wouldn't go near this and that would be a shame as it carries on the Hawkwind saga.
Half of the album transports you back to the seventies classic sounds and had the the other half been slightly better then it would have been highly recommended.
So ignore the bias and listen for yourself it is a 50/50 album, for me,...
Published 10 months ago by Ian G. Mcneil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yeah, 13 Dec 2013
By 
B. Hunt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (Audio CD)
haha... ok lets cut to the chase, I love it! and so has everyone I have played it to!

the band are tight and fast when they need to be, proper fast! Yeah call it space rock, and it does rock, but dont let that associate in your mind with whimsical drifty conk - this is like the proto punk sound this artist came from and helped create... the band (without sleeve notes here) are mentioned elsewhere have really made that happen... so excellent praise must go to them, and also guests Simon House and Steve Hillage...

and it's brilliant fun!

lyrically and musically... this shouldnt be navel glaring and beard stroking, and it isnt!! With nods to all the ace phases of Nik's career, including Inner City Unit and Sphynx, this really is a ride...

high points are Joker's Song, We Ride the Timewinds, Something's Not Right and Fallen Angel, all fast and brilliant! Also love Coming of Maya, Galaxy Rise and the Visitor for bringing texture to the album, slower or acoustic, with Time Crypt and Anti Matter also being highly enjoyable... and Eternity, the weakest track, is still very enjoyable... so no duffs!!

I think this guy is underatted, probably as most people dont get it and miss it, or his association with a scene in the early 70s colours their view, but he has real spirit, wit and fun in his music and performances so am thrilled this is a brilliant album - well done Nik!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nik Turner roars back., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (Audio CD)
This is one of the best things that Nik has done, when you consider not just his work with Hawkwind, Hawklords, I.C.U., Sphinx covering a vast musical spectrum this album stands out, if you like spacerock with a twist of the esoteric this is the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best H*wkw*nd album in years?, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Wainwright "andy wainwright2" (niton, isle of wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Gypsy (MP3 Download)
Believe me - I have absolutely no agenda other than to state that, with the possible exception of 'Take Me to Your Leader', I have been very disappointed with Hawkwind's output since around the time of 'Distant Horizons'. And I am (or was) a huge fan of Hawkwind for many, many years. For the record, and in the interests of balance, I haven't always liked all of Nik's music either, finding it inconsistent in quality and also in performance on occasion. This effort, however, is a different box of frogs entirely. Whilst finding the bickering over the name all rather sad and somewhat tiresome, I'm overjoyed to find that great music can still be made despite everything. And this is great stuff to my ears. Ignore all the bile, have a listen and decide for yourself :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its about the Music, 19 Nov 2013
By 
P. W. Wishart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (Audio CD)
An enjoyable album that will hold few surprises for fans of early Hawkwind with hints of earlier songs in there and as you might expect sax and flute to the fore. I find the drumming a bit of a thrash at times and not sure Simon House was made the best use of. If you enjoy this check out "Otherworld" to my mind a better album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nik's new cornucopia, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (MP3 Download)
Being a teenager in the very late sixties the legendary Hawkwind have always been a background influence on me. Ive always regretted the rift between Nik and Dave because to me the two working together was Hawkwind, Dave for his solid musical ability and leadership, Nik for his embodiment of the free spirit, playing for the people and the colour he added to the band's collective personality.

If you too enjoyed the early Hawkwind years but want that experience updated then this album is for you. The songs and their tempos are varied throughout from rock through to almost pastoral beauty (check out 'the Visitor').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storming album of classic space rock - superb stuff, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (Audio CD)
Out of the blue Nik Turner, well into his 70s, produces an absolutely classic album of vintage space rock.

The songs are very reminiscent of his first Hawkwind era, so if you are a fan of Warrior On The Edge of Time, Hall of The Mountain Grill, or Doremi, you'll love this album.

From out and out rockers such to as Fallen Angel, to more sedate flute based numbers such as Galaxy Rise, Nik is on top form here, helped out by a top notch band that includes ex Hawkwind violinist and keyboard player Simon House, expect pulsing rhythms, shimmering cymbals, chaotic sax solos, sonic generators, winding bass lines and above all, great atmospherics and brilliant song writing.

This is a superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Essential Album, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (MP3 Download)
This is a timely and welcome surprise from Nik, sadly often under rated for his contributions to former band H*******'s albums 40 years plus ago, which to my mind were - along with the use of electronic - the apogee of that band's sound. Its now clear that historic underrating clearly has no relevance today if this CD is any indicator. First class production, composition, playing, attack and, yes, talent have gone in to this music. Along with The Bevis Frond's White Numbers this is the album of the year for me. Well done Mr Turner - but we now need more! Because as Enobarbus might have said: "Age cannot wither (him), nor custom stale (his) infinite variety. Other (men) cloy the appetites they feed, but (he) makes hungry where most (he) satisfies"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warp Factor Five, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (Audio CD)
The story so far.....

The Enterprise (Hawkwind) first took flight under the command of Kirk (played by Captain D Brock), with trusted first officer Spock (the inscrutable Nik Turner). Having completed the five year mission and then some, our good Captain had tired of his first officer's escapades blaming Silurian Gin Juice and his inveterate use of the Targarian War Horn (i.e. inability to remove saxophone from mouth.) Cue, a split amongst the ranks. Kirk moved onto a new ship, coincidently also named The Enterprise, leaving Spock to rue the day he failed to remove his Targarian horn.

Both parties went onto interesting missions over the intervening light-years. Brock in his new shiny Enterprise - gaining and losing crew members and security men at an alarming rate. Spock, on the other hand, charted a different course altogether - more chaotic - anarchic if you will. Spock's logical nature told him that he should be on the bridge of the Enterprise but despite some valiant attempts to board, Spock did not fit in that new, shinier Enterprise.

Spock harkened back to his days with the Captain and the irascible bass engineer, Scott (Lemmy) and "Bones" (Robert Calvert in white coat and goggles). Unfortunately it was not to be - death, libations and cosmic wrangles prevented a full re-union. The one last attempt ended in a scuffle with a Green Finned Daemon (played lustily by Sam Fox).

Yet hope remained and Spock embarked on his boldest venture to reactivate the old ship initially with some of the old crew and, latterly with some fresh faced recruits. Clearly they could not call it The Enterprise - that ship had sailed out to cosmos ...but the old wrecked metal hulk left behind was made ready to go on one last (?) voyage.

All that saw that old ship recognised it for what it was, what it represented. Yes it was battered and yes the crew were different. But when the engines creaked into action and warp drive was achieved (as it did, in no small measure), everyone said that if it looked like a duck, and flew like a duck then it was.......

Some say that the new crew are Klingons. That may be so but enemies can become friends after enough time and space has elapsed. We are all Aliens. It is just a matter of perspective.

So although we can acknowledge that Kirk is, and always will be the Captain of his ship - Spock is a hell of a first officer and this is lovely old space-craft to fly in. Sir, I salute you.

I commend this CD to the House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Hawklord, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Space Gypsy (MP3 Download)
Nik Turner's new album "Space Gypsy" highlights the musical abilities of Nik and is a superb journey through space and time. Some of the tracks can be a bit of filler rather than excellent but taken as a whole, the album is a tour de force and a must buy for any fan of Hawkwind and Space Ritual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The captain has recently lost control of the Hawkwind ship in my humble opinion and it just sounds like something is missing, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Gypsy (MP3 Download)
This is how Hawkwind should sound, top album by Nik again, much in the vain of Space Ritual, Otherworld. If only the 2 sides of Hawkwind could meet again, eh? The captain has recently lost control of the Hawkwind ship in my humble opinion and it just sounds like something is missing, well, what is missing is here on this album, buy it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Gypsy
Space Gypsy by Nik Turner (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews