Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars219
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 August 2014
Another of the better books in the series. The crime aspects of the case are almost secondary to the descriptions and explanations of the French restaurant and wine trades and the coming together of various strands in Enzo's personal life is welcome. Some of the action sequences are rather forced I feel and unless I missed it, an attempt on Enzo's life somehow gets forgotten about in the denouement. As it stands however this ongoing threat and the 2 other murders Enzo is meant to solve are as yet not drawn to a conclusion so more please!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I've just had a bit of a marathon Peter May reading spree, having worked through the China Thrillers and the Enzo Files. This review is probably less about this book in particular and more about the whole Peter May reading experience.
All the stories are gripping, with twists and turns to keep you guessing. That said, there are always enough hints dropped, and ah! ha! moments liberally sprinkled through the story, that you never feel lost and there is a degree of satisfaction of appearing to 'work it out' alongside (in this case) Enzo.
Having read through both series in short order you do tend to get immersed in the author's style, so you do tend to be more aware of when clues are being telegraphed. Not that this detracts from the enjoyment; if anything, it causes greater immersion.
However, I do think it does have a couple of detrimental effects. The first is a heightened sensitivity to the word 'fibrillating'. I wonder if this was a bet with the editor to see where it could be sneaked in to each novel. It's a sufficiently rarely-used word to leap out when it does crop up. I'm just glad it was near the beginning of Blowback so that I didn't have to spend all my time wondering when it would put in an appearance.
The other issue I have is that I think (and it is really only my opinion) that the author gets too caught up in the cleverness of his own research at times. There is no doubt that it is thorough (although there was an irritating flaw in Blowback concerning SIM cards - it didn't actually affect the unfolding of the story, but it could have done), but sometimes it is intrusive. There are times when there seems to be an element of "let's cram as much research info in here as I can". Almost like a sense of, "well, I've done the research, so I'm going to include it". I can't help but think that the colour it provides is sometimes a bit too 'garish neon', advertising its presence as research rather than simply providing authentic detail.
Don't let that put you off though. The books are all great reads. Maybe, unlike me, it's best to ration them a little and savour them a bit more - like fine wine and good food.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Never fails. Book after book delivers mystery and a deep understanding of the regions in which his books are set. One of the best authors around today.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Loved this as much as the other Enzo books , Please write some more , If you enjoy these read The Lewis Man books, just as good.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I eagerly anticipate every new Enzo story, and this did not disappoint. The setting, a three star restaurant in the Massif Central was as well researched as ever, the backstory of the celebrity chef's harsh apprenticeship an interesting revelation, to me, at least, and I like the fact that Peter May always gives a depth of interest to even minor characters, so the villains are often (though perhaps not always) hidden in plain sight. He's more alone this time, his daughter Sophie is the only member of the McLeod clan around and I'm still trying to make up my mind about Enzo's behaviour towards Dominique, the young gendarme who investigated the original case and who helps him with the convoluted unravelling of this, now, cold case.
I can't wait for the next one, and with every story I grow more interested in Roger Raffin, the journalist whose book on unsolved murders initiated Enzo's detective work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Enzo is back with the french themed investigations, and now the victim is an obsessed chef, and the mysteries he left behind, the food descriptions are excellent the wine tasting is like all wine testing too much when you are not participating. The mystery is multi layered and well developed, with the help of humor and Enzo's family and his need for female company.
No it is not the Lewis trilogy expecting it to be is not fair to this collection that is more about france and its idiosyncrasies, and the well developed character of Enzo and the cast of characters that surround him through the series making it a very enjoyable ensemble.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
The series is becoming more of food writer guide to France and the story lines are becoming the same. Each book has a young woman who falls for Enzo, its all a bit the same.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Marc Fraysse is a celebrated chef that is found murdered by his wife and brother.
Enzo has spent the last seven years looking for the unsolved French cold cases. This time it takes him to Massif Central in France to the hotel that Marc owned. His daughter Sophie has gone ahead of him to work in the kitchen to get any gossip on the people working there.
You may need to have something to eat before you read the book as it has a lot of food and wine in the story. I enjoyed reading this book as it has lots of twist and turn in it, plus Enzo gets beaten up yet again.
The Fraysse family has a twisted family history. Marc office is the same as it was when he was killed. Marc has a few hidden secrets that come out along the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Well-written series, with good characterisation and plotting. A little too similar perhaps to the previous book - is he really likely to fall off a precipitous path in the dark for two books running? However, much enjoyed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
What an unpleasant character is Enzo Macleod. An aging hippy who thinks he's God's gift to women, totally self-obsessed and oblivious to other people's feelings. The descriptions of sex in this series are laughable ("she thrusts defiant breasts etc") and he appears to have a thing about hair, including his own. The stories are set in France which, for some reason, induces the author to use many ordinary words in italicised French. Plots, in my opinion, are absurdly complex yet the endings are Boy's Own stuff with everything resolved by violence. The only thing that impressed me about this series is the research that the author must have carried out, particularly on locations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse