Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diablo III: Reaper of Souls Expansion Review!
Even without this expansion the standard Diablo III game has taken on a dramatic improvement with recent updates and pretty large updates at that. The latest Update came in at over 6GB and has dramatically shifted the game in preparation of this incoming expansion. The whole auction house system has now been removed in which you could buy and sell weapons, armour and...
Published 4 months ago by MrE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tool to kill sometime
Another expansion of Diablo pack. Great at killing time.
Published 6 days ago by KyuB


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diablo III: Reaper of Souls Expansion Review!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Even without this expansion the standard Diablo III game has taken on a dramatic improvement with recent updates and pretty large updates at that. The latest Update came in at over 6GB and has dramatically shifted the game in preparation of this incoming expansion. The whole auction house system has now been removed in which you could buy and sell weapons, armour and other items including magical rings. To sell items you have to do it with the merchants you find in the game, pretty much making every item worthless compared to what you use to be able to get for them on the Auction House. Don’t see this as a bad thing as gold pickups are far more generous and the items you find are of a better quality, they are also tailored to an extent to fit your character. Meaning if you are a Witch Doctor for example you may find more Witch Doctor specific weapons when exploring rather than generic items.

This naturally makes crafting your own weapons and armour even more important and increases the importance of exploration. In essence it makes you want to play the game more and more in order to get the money and items in order to craft what you want but at the same time like I said earlier pickups in terms of items and money are more generous than ever even though they are less frequent. The map has also been altered so now you can see a close up of the area you are (as you always could do) but also a larger scale map of the whole act.

Finally onto the expansion, which I received yesterday. Besides the same characters you get in the standard Diablo III game (and you can carry those character forward into the expansion) you now get another character class. The Crusader! Essentially a human warrior much like the paladin from Diablo II but with much better skills and weapons. Where as all the other characters are by and large mythical you could quite easily envisage the Crusader being the more realistic of characters. I’ve started a new game and must say I am thoroughly enjoying the new character class probably because I find it just different when compared to the other characters in the standard game. There are also new powers available for each character class (Avalanche for the Barbarian is great) and obviously they have extended the level limit on each character to 70, Paragon levels are now unlimited! I have continued with my Barbarian into the new Act introduced and have to say I’m very impressed. It looks stunning and has the music to match but I also like the new monsters and indeed the storyline to go with it. “Malthael” the Angel of Death really is a ruthless enemy in this new act, in some ways I fear him more than Diablo himself, alas I haven’t fought him yet but I predict the battle will be brutal.

There are two new modes, one where you can jump to any area of the game you want from any act to any act. It essentially creates a sandbox mode, it works especially well if you want to go hunting for items and money in caves in different acts (think of it as allowing you to do your own custom “Butcher run”). Now the new Bounties system is something I really like, if you capture the bounty by either killing a target or clearing out a dungeon for example tones of gold and items drop on your head and it certainly gives an additional incentive to explore each and every area in every dungeon or indeed cave. Besides all this you can get “Nephalen Rifts” which can take you to random dungeons and you never know where or what will be there till you go.

Difficulty levels have also been tweaked, there are now Normal, Hard, Expert, Master and Torment (make sure you prepare your character as Torment is seriously hard work).

Pros: A new Act which looks fantastic and is a lot darker * Crusader Character is a welcome change * new monsters * Loot 2.0 system * Bounty system * New Skills and level cap * Focuses more importance on exploration and crafting * Servers seem very stable post update!

Cons: Not cheap for one more act as many of the changes are happening to the standard game anyway

Verdict: On the whole I like this new expansion, the new character class is impressive and was a good choice to bring in. The new loot system definitely changes the game and rather than people finding and selling those rare weapons now it’s down to each person and their character alone to find or craft decent stuff. The downside that you will have to justify in your own mind is its quite expensive for just one more Act especially when you discover many of the updates and changes as I state earlier have been applied to the standard game anyway.

RECOMMENDED if you can justify the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i think this expansion is really good and i have had alot of fun with it ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
i think this expansion is really good and i have had alot of fun with it i like that i don't have to play auction house simulator now and i can grind the gear as and when!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
love the game - it was a welcome expansion. Looking forward to the next expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun adds new life one for the hardcore fans, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Richard J. Atkinson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I love it adds what we all wanted a mode to stop us grinding the story to gain levels.

Rifts are fun as hell all random, along with challenges in adventure mode. Bit pricey but least they spend time on it and dont throw stupid Skin DLC at you with Rehashed maps like Call Of Duty.

Best thing if you are unsure watch a few youtube videos and maybe go rounds a friends house to try it but if you have more than one lvl 60 character and your still playing buy this.

I'm not the best at reviews but I love this game and the expansion except the steep price.
To the people who moan on this Expansion

---Ignore this if you are not a hater :)---
Go complain on games that deserve hate reviews, Aka BF4 and CoD. Games that stay in the same gen and rehash every year or 2 deserve it. But truly I like Diablo 3 and the new expansion like million of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Awesome! Should make it more challenging such as the experience or gold will be deducted when died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Good expansion.

Pros:

- Improved loot system
- Crusader class (not exactly a copy of a Paladin in my opinion)
- Adventure mode

Cons

- Legendary items are not so legendary
- Quests from adventure mode are very repetitive

Overall I like it, and I've came back to Diablo thanks to this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great tool to kill sometime, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Another expansion of Diablo pack. Great at killing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not everyone's taste, 6 May 2014
By 
P A Horwell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I should say that I have played both previous Diablo incarnations (showing my age here!) and this is hands down the best by far. I was truly sucked into D2 and the expansions but D3 has been a more complete and thrilling story in every way. Great character classes and each has a nice unique feel to it, with plenty of scope for future classes and expansions - something that was proven here by RoS. The new class was fun to play with and the extra act brought in some exceedingly fun new elements and monsters you'll love to hate, combine that with the heady delights of the new loot system and you have a great game. If you like the previous games then you'll love this one and the expansions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively improved in my opinion!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I've loved Diablo since the very first game but when number 3 game out there was just something not right about it. I feel like this expansion pack has solved any of the boring elements. The addition of bounties and the rifts and the extra class is brilliant. They really seem to have worked on everything and whilst there are still things that I'd love to be addressed is does feel so much better to play.

The new character Is the Crusader and he is almost a mixture of the barb/monk with a bit of the D2 Paladin thrown in. Along with this there is the usual class specific weapons/armor/shields. With the mixture of skills the Crusader provides it really is a fun class to play and the level cap is now 70 then beyond this you have (as I'm led to believe) unlimited paragon levels.

The game has many difficulties ranging from normal to hard, then all the way through to the Torment levels which open at level 60. These are definitely not for the faint hearted and offer an extremely challenging environment even for the highest level of characters. The torment can be increased if you want it even more challenging.
Each level of difficulty offers more rewards, for example normal difficulty is XP and gold as normal. The gold and findable items increase as you get harder. The torment levels for example offer new style gems, new set items and a much higher % of gold. So it's well worth playing the game on a harder difficulty, assuming you can survive that is!

Next you have the choice of how to play the game. You can play through story mode or if you have at least one character that is level 60 or above then you can open the 'bounties and exploration' option. This is where the game really gets fun. The bounties are a set of rewards available in yacht town that you complete and get gold/xp/items and then a cache at the end that could contain any number of items ranging from fairly mundane to pretty awesome! These bounties also give you blood shards which can be spent with Kadala (a bit like gambling, you can choose what item you want but you sort of get a lucky dip) most of these items seem worthless but occasionally you get one which is really worthwhile.
Had enough of the bounties? You could choose to just explore the world and kill stuff or go into one of the rifts. Whilst exploring you will get rift keys which you then use to open a rift in town (bit like a portal to another world). These are randomly generated levels taken from different parts of thee game and contain random monsters, normal and elite etc. Once you kill a certain number of these a rift guardian appears which is basically like a mini boss. Once killed you will get lots of rewards. Afterwards you can return to town, close the rift and receive yet more money and xp before opening another if you wish.

So the game seems massively expanded, they really seem to have put a lot into this. And if this isn't enough you have The Mystic too. She is a new vendor who you can use to change the appearance of items or enchant them, changing and swapping properties (at a cost of course) just incase you decide an item you have has a useless or pointless property.

I'd definitely recommend buying this. I really thought at first it seemed expensive but I think for the amount they have done it is more than worth the price, just don't forget to get the base game first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 22 July 2014
By 
E. Dzien (UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Great add on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD)
Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) by Blizzard (Windows 7 / 8)
18.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews