Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diablo III: Reaper of Souls Expansion Review!
Even without this expansion the standard Diablo III game has taken on a dramatic improvement with recent updates and pretty large updates at that. The latest Update came in at over 6GB and has dramatically shifted the game in preparation of this incoming expansion. The whole auction house system has now been removed in which you could buy and sell weapons, armour and...
Published 6 months ago by MrE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tool to kill sometime
Another expansion of Diablo pack. Great at killing time.
Published 3 months ago by KyuB


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diablo III: Reaper of Souls Expansion Review!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Even without this expansion the standard Diablo III game has taken on a dramatic improvement with recent updates and pretty large updates at that. The latest Update came in at over 6GB and has dramatically shifted the game in preparation of this incoming expansion. The whole auction house system has now been removed in which you could buy and sell weapons, armour and other items including magical rings. To sell items you have to do it with the merchants you find in the game, pretty much making every item worthless compared to what you use to be able to get for them on the Auction House. Don’t see this as a bad thing as gold pickups are far more generous and the items you find are of a better quality, they are also tailored to an extent to fit your character. Meaning if you are a Witch Doctor for example you may find more Witch Doctor specific weapons when exploring rather than generic items.

This naturally makes crafting your own weapons and armour even more important and increases the importance of exploration. In essence it makes you want to play the game more and more in order to get the money and items in order to craft what you want but at the same time like I said earlier pickups in terms of items and money are more generous than ever even though they are less frequent. The map has also been altered so now you can see a close up of the area you are (as you always could do) but also a larger scale map of the whole act.

Finally onto the expansion, which I received yesterday. Besides the same characters you get in the standard Diablo III game (and you can carry those character forward into the expansion) you now get another character class. The Crusader! Essentially a human warrior much like the paladin from Diablo II but with much better skills and weapons. Where as all the other characters are by and large mythical you could quite easily envisage the Crusader being the more realistic of characters. I’ve started a new game and must say I am thoroughly enjoying the new character class probably because I find it just different when compared to the other characters in the standard game. There are also new powers available for each character class (Avalanche for the Barbarian is great) and obviously they have extended the level limit on each character to 70, Paragon levels are now unlimited! I have continued with my Barbarian into the new Act introduced and have to say I’m very impressed. It looks stunning and has the music to match but I also like the new monsters and indeed the storyline to go with it. “Malthael” the Angel of Death really is a ruthless enemy in this new act, in some ways I fear him more than Diablo himself, alas I haven’t fought him yet but I predict the battle will be brutal.

There are two new modes, one where you can jump to any area of the game you want from any act to any act. It essentially creates a sandbox mode, it works especially well if you want to go hunting for items and money in caves in different acts (think of it as allowing you to do your own custom “Butcher run”). Now the new Bounties system is something I really like, if you capture the bounty by either killing a target or clearing out a dungeon for example tones of gold and items drop on your head and it certainly gives an additional incentive to explore each and every area in every dungeon or indeed cave. Besides all this you can get “Nephalen Rifts” which can take you to random dungeons and you never know where or what will be there till you go.

Difficulty levels have also been tweaked, there are now Normal, Hard, Expert, Master and Torment (make sure you prepare your character as Torment is seriously hard work).

Pros: A new Act which looks fantastic and is a lot darker * Crusader Character is a welcome change * new monsters * Loot 2.0 system * Bounty system * New Skills and level cap * Focuses more importance on exploration and crafting * Servers seem very stable post update!

Cons: Not cheap for one more act as many of the changes are happening to the standard game anyway

Verdict: On the whole I like this new expansion, the new character class is impressive and was a good choice to bring in. The new loot system definitely changes the game and rather than people finding and selling those rare weapons now it’s down to each person and their character alone to find or craft decent stuff. The downside that you will have to justify in your own mind is its quite expensive for just one more Act especially when you discover many of the updates and changes as I state earlier have been applied to the standard game anyway.

RECOMMENDED if you can justify the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun adds new life one for the hardcore fans, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Richard J. Atkinson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I love it adds what we all wanted a mode to stop us grinding the story to gain levels.

Rifts are fun as hell all random, along with challenges in adventure mode. Bit pricey but least they spend time on it and dont throw stupid Skin DLC at you with Rehashed maps like Call Of Duty.

Best thing if you are unsure watch a few youtube videos and maybe go rounds a friends house to try it but if you have more than one lvl 60 character and your still playing buy this.

I'm not the best at reviews but I love this game and the expansion except the steep price.
To the people who moan on this Expansion

---Ignore this if you are not a hater :)---
Go complain on games that deserve hate reviews, Aka BF4 and CoD. Games that stay in the same gen and rehash every year or 2 deserve it. But truly I like Diablo 3 and the new expansion like million of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent delivery timing, 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Excellent delivery timing, good size package, good quality for the price. Excellent seller. Whoever wants something like this the best choice to buy, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really good game. The best part was finding out that ..., 8 Sep 2014
By 
Fiona Buckland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This is a really good game. The best part was finding out that when I completed the game, there was a new adventure mode which I could then play as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous game., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The game is amazing. Unfortunately It is easy most if the time and even on the highest difficulty most of the monsters stand no chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best expansion, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Not as good as we expected, he completed it within 5 hours, he said it was the smallest expansion from Diablo he's seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars D3 expansion., 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I would quite like the hours that this game has stolen back, but then again, I would only waste them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Awesome! Should make it more challenging such as the experience or gold will be deducted when died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The new Act is interesting, with several side-quests. The loot system has improved greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great expansion!, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
That was an amazing step thanks to which i returned to the game finally having a great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD)
Diablo III - Reaper of Souls (Mac/PC DVD) by Blizzard (Windows 7 / 8)
£27.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews