Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football Manager - in the palm of your hand
This is a brilliant version of Football Manager but there are one or two things to consider before buying as it may not be for everybody. I am a long time player of Football Manager and its predecessor and for the most part have enjoyed the ever-evolving features of the game. However, the full PC version takes up a lot of time to play and as a working man with two kids, I...
Published 3 months ago by Stripeyfox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More bugs than a sweaty mattress
Dont let my three star rating put you off from buying this game it really is quite good, deep and technical like a football management game should be but not over powering.....so why only 3 stars well firstly i dont like the way it has to save progress before every single match this gets very tedious also this game has crashed on more than one occasion (iv reported it)...
Published 2 months ago by Asa Lockwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Football Manager - in the palm of your hand, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This is a brilliant version of Football Manager but there are one or two things to consider before buying as it may not be for everybody. I am a long time player of Football Manager and its predecessor and for the most part have enjoyed the ever-evolving features of the game. However, the full PC version takes up a lot of time to play and as a working man with two kids, I simply don’t have that time, so the newer “Classic” version on PC is perfect for me.

When SI announced a Vita version, I was intrigued. The chance to play FMC on a handheld? At lunchtime? In bed? While cooking the dinner? Sounds too good to be true.

For the most part the Vita version looks and plays like the PC version. As a result, the screen is quite cramped and it is easy for sausage-fingered players to hit the wrong button, but the user interface is as good as it can be on the Vita.

The speed of the game was perhaps the biggest surprise. Matchdays take around 10 minutes I reckon (may be a bit less) and there is no “Instant Result” feature so if you expecting to whip through half a season on the bus to work, think again. The game “saves” automatically before, and after every match which takes time as well. For me though, this may not be a bad thing. Slowing the overall pace of the game down increases the immersion for me rather than just clicking through game after game.

You may find you have to be a bit choosy about how many (or how few) leagues to run as this slows the processing down quite a bit.

Technically it seems to be a massive achievement to have the (almost) full FM experience in the palm of your hand. The 3D match engine is fully present, along with replays although you don’t have the option to watch a “full” game. You can also watch in the old fashioned 2D “dots” or commentary only as well if you prefer.

I also couldn’t see an option to “watch” other games as you can in the full versions of FM.

If you have a Vita, and enjoy Football Manager, or perhaps used to enjoy Football Manager before it got so complicated, then it is well worth a look. The controls take a bit of getting used to and the pace is not very fast but I would still recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly addictive, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
iv'e played this game on my pc and wasted loads of hours on it ,the classic mode is exactly the same on the vita as other versions. while i have put many hours in on the vita also ,i actually preferred this version as its so easy to turn on have a match or two then turn off. my only criticism is the buttons can be a little awkward as its touch screen and a bit small to press .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Tottenham Hotspur than Manchester City.., 6 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
It's quite simple this one. All the goodness of the football manager classic game on PC for your vita. That's a massive deal & worth buying.

But, and it is a but for sure. The way you navigate around the game, along with the really small text & on screen buttons, do take some shine away from the gameplay.

I'm a long standing FM fan and am pleased I bought this game, but be warned about the issues.

Maybe FMC15 Vita will tweak the interface for the better?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now the addiction follows you everywhere, 24 April 2014
By 
S. Behrens "Shaun" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I've had this game for little over a week now, and I have already sunk way more hours into it than I'd care to admit. Essentially, everything that makes the PC game's Classic mode is here. The only problem is, now you don't just lose time in front of your laptop playing this; now you can play everywhere. The bus/train. In bed. In the toilet. In fact now there is no escaping its clutches, while before leaving the house was at least a way to stop playing a little while.

The criticisms leveled at this game in other user reviews are justified - the interface is difficult to navigate sometimes. Buttons are too small and require precise placement of your fingers. The amount of times I have selected the wrong option due to this is too often. Moving players around is also rather awkward for a mobile platform - you have to hold down the left bumper while dragging a finger from your right hand across the screen. This creates a bit of a dexterity challenge, and shouldn't be the case for using a UI on the go.

However, despite these UI negatives, the game is still incredible, and if you are a fan of the Classic desktop game mode, you are going to lose your life having it with you wherever you go. It's also a game well-suited to portability. You can easily knock out 2 or 3 games within a short space of time, and is also good for those times when you're daydreaming about the game. At work and suddenly thinking about that player you just bought? Just make a quick toilet break and you can take a look at his profile, planning his place in your next game.

All in all, a good game to have on your Vita. Hopefully they release another one next year (depends on how this one sells, I guess), because with a more suitable interface, this game will be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
great game lve it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible achievement to get this amount of detail working well on the Vita, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Sports Interactive have been making Football Manager games for an age. The game is famous for its incredible depth and its ability to dominate your every waking hour. A few releases back, SI added a 'Classic' option to the title which removes certain features and cuts down on others in order to make the game more accessible and, thus, hark back to the days of their original Championship Manager titles. This Vita version is a port of that Classic mode.

This more condensed version of its full-fat PC brother simplifies things such as training, media handling and scouting, and removes things like team talks and handling pitch alterations, allowing the player to move through the game a little more briskly. The game is almost identical to the classic version bundled with the PC release and this allows cross saving which means you can start a classic game on your PC at home and then transfer the save file to your Vita so you can play on the go. This a really great feature, especially if you are hitting the road for a few days and can't bear to miss your daily FM fix!

Everybody knows what Football Manager entails - take over a team from any number of leagues around the world and guide them to glory. You can start from the very bottom and work your way up the leagues or jump straight into the upper echelons of top level management with one of the big spending giants. Either way, and regardless of which team you follow, there is enough to FMC2014 to keep any football fan busy for months.

I approached the Vita version of this title with some trepidation. I spent a while debating whether to make the purchase as I was worried about a number of details: has the database size been reduced drastically? Will the game speed be affected by the Vita's limited hardware? Will all the constant processing suck the battery dry in a matter of minutes? In the end I took the plunge in order to keep me occupied on a long distance flight and I wasn't disappointed.

I started off with Wrexham in the Skrill Premier running all English leagues (five in total) down to this level. The game start-up screen alerted me that the game speed would run at a rating of 3 out of 5 stars but, upon starting the game proper, I was surprised by how quickly the Vita processed what was required. Outside of matches the game moves along at a steady pace, never leaving you waiting for too long. You will, of course, see less news in your inbox in an effort to keep the game running smoothly but this only fits in with the more speedy and sparser nature of the Classic mode. The in-match engine retains the 3D aspect of the PC version but runs a little more slowly as the game works to process the multitude of games being played at the same time as your own. The matches pass by in 15 second jumps and this means a game can take anywhere from 10 to 15 real-life minutes to get through. I didn't find this a problem, but more impatient fans may find themselves irked. The game also saves pre-match and loads post-match which is one of my only major gripes as you are left twiddling your thumbs for upwards of a minute at each interval - this, I feel, must be as a result of the Vita's architecture as I haven't witnessed this on the PC version. The player database is huge even in this handheld version and, as a result, you will notice some occasional slowdown when sorting through particularly long lists of scouted players or transfer targets.

Battery life was one of my main worries before purchasing the game, but I haven't actually found this a problem. I play with the 3D engine engaged but with the in-match sounds turned off and have found that I can play in excess of 3 to 4 hours before needing to charge. This is good news if you fancy a few games whilst travelling and don't have access to a charger or a plug socket!

Obviously the Vita format has forced SI into making some changes to game navigation and layout. As the screen of the Vita is much smaller than a PC monitor, the option bar along the top of the screen has to be called and dismissed with a tap of the R button in order to check news, change teams, save game and so on. This method seems quite cumbersome at first, but you quickly adapt to the obviously necessary change. The left and right buttons on the d-pad are used to navigate backwards and forwards through screens, the square button is used to bring up sub-menus such as transfer options, contract and squad statuses and the like, and the L button, when held down, allows you to select multiple items (to scout all at once, for example) and drag/move players and positions (in the tactics screen, for example). If you are a long-time player of FM you might find this alien control method infuriating at first (tasks that take a second to do on the PC version take much longer using these controls) but, again, you adapt to them given time.

The smaller screen space calls for smaller buttons and sometimes this poses problems. Tapping buttons often feels unresponsive, I'm not sure if this is because I'm missing the tiny tabs or because the Vita screen is not picking up my finger, and you'll frequently need to touch a certain button twice and sometimes more in order for the action to be carried out. This lack of response sometimes causes other minor problems regarding button placement. Often when confirming a sub during a match you will tap the confirm button more than once and, as the cancel substitution button appears in the exact same spot, you'll cancel your actions and have to redo them. A minor annoyance, but it happens quite frequently.

There are a few graphical issues as well, not game breaking, but enough to make reading some options difficult. This occurs more often in the match engine where a tap of the R button brings down the player/team instruction tab. When the tab appears the background colour is 9 times out of 10 transparent which allows the tab options to overlap the game's background text and make the writing difficult to discern. I have also come across other small problems such as my tactics tab being greyed out for no apparent reason for a few moments before half-time which blocks me from making tactical changes and the like. These occurrences are rare, but I felt I should mention them.

If you are a fan of Football Manager I can highly recommend this game to you if you own a Vita. While not perfect, it is, as always, highly addictive and retains a staggeringly high proportion of the content that makes the PC original so great. The option to copy over and play the exact same game on both your PC and Vita will surely appeal to fans who own both versions of the game and want to take their saves onto the road. If you are thinking about a long, boring flight or trip soon and love football, then FMC2014 will help you while away the long and tedious hours no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic a football manager game on the move!, 31 May 2014
By 
A. Simmons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Very addictive game. Would of give it 5 stars had the d-pad been implemented into the game as the touchscreen can sometimes lead to selecting the wrong player. All in all a very impressive game for the vita and the match day engine works very well. Also I have had no issues with the size of the text in the game. It is small but not a problem to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool offline game, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Just what I expected from the game.

I can play offline
I do not need real time skills, can pause, think, and watch the game. Now during summer days, excellent toy if you spend all day on the beach.
A lot of management control, looks logicically good, team playing as set, but still difficult to get result.

Game often can crash during the game, but if you set "Save each day", it will take from you a lot of time for saving and loading, but it removes problem with crashing.

So game is very good for Vita, but the game it self is hard. You should understand football deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing game, 13 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I love this game on my pc and just to be able to have it on a handheld console is amazing. The game runs very smoothly, slightly slower than on pc but you'd expect that anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highly addictive, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Keeping very addicted and entertained. How they manage to fit so much on to such a tiny thing is mind boggling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita)
Football Manager 14 (PlayStation Vita) by Sega (PlayStation Vita)
19.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews