Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry at his finest
Another amazing collection and a fantastic follow-up to the Jazz Age. How can somebody supposedly reach their peak - and then continue with such amazing works?
Published 15 months ago by Martin Williams

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear
This is not as good as the first Brian Ferry Orchestra CD , its a bit too authentic and I don't like it
Published 10 months ago by william


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry at his finest, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another amazing collection and a fantastic follow-up to the Jazz Age. How can somebody supposedly reach their peak - and then continue with such amazing works?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite... sublime... gorgeous sounds, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
If someone had told me this time last year that I would have some jazz cds in my collection I wouldn't have believed it. To me, jazz was another time another place and frankly, I wouldn't have known where to start. But then my favourite artist Bryan Ferry released "The Jazz Age" late last year which I found so refreshing and endearing that I have become a jazz convert. I now have several jazz selections from the 1920's and 30's, to later masterpieces by the likes of Dave Brubeck, Sonny Rollins, and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra.

"A Selection Of Yellow Cocktail Music" featuring The Bryan Ferry Orchestra, taken from Baz Luhrmann's film "The Great Gatsby", has added to my enjoyment of jazz listening immensely. I am aware that fans of the film will probably already have the film soundtrack, but this CD is much more authentic than that mess of a soundtrack, and I urge you to buy this cd for this very reason.

Apart from the superb tracks from The Bryan Ferry Orchestra, you get brilliant recordings by Jelly Roll Morton "New Orleans Bump (Monrovia)" from 1929, "Let's Misbehave" written by Cole Porter and performed by Irvin Aaronson and His Commanders from 1928, "Ain't Misbehavin'" by Louis Armstrong from 1929 which was written by the legendary Fats Waller and Andy Razaf in 1927 for the all black-musical "Hot Chocolates"; and I'd like to give mention to one of the best tracks on the disc,"Oh! You Have No Idea" written by Phil Ponce and Dan Dougherty, performed by Andrea Martin and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra.

Elemental (no singing) contributions as diverse as JAY Z, Beyonce Knowles, Amy Winehouse, Sonny Bono, and the excellent musicianship of Colin Good and the rest of The Bryan Ferry Orchestra with the aforestated artists and composers of the 1920's, make this album a joy to listen too - and it gets better with every play.

As with all Bryan Ferry releases, you get a very attractive sleeve, this time a 20 page booklet with photos from the film, lovely art drawings, and liner notes from Richard Williams.

This cd is a joy to have and sits in nicely with the jazz recordings that I already own. I recommend this celebration of old style and contemporary jazz to lovers of good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good enjoyable, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
Quick arrival .
Very good enjoyable album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward and Agatha Christie swing, 28 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Graham Hort "Alf" (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
If you like Bix Biederbeck style jazz then this is a good addition. Nothing new but a fresh recording of this style. I haven't seen the film but I am sure it would fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!!, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
Went to see them live and it was magic. This CD reminds me of the first half of the Bryan Ferry concert before he got into the classics and older Roxy Music tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Age 2, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
After acquiring The Jazz Age I badly wanted more in the same style. This CD gives just that, so I'm happy with what's played - but sadly it is again only of 37 minutes duration, which saddens me somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service and happy to recommend. Just wish Amazon would pay UK taxes and stop free loading on those that do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
This is not as good as the first Brian Ferry Orchestra CD , its a bit too authentic and I don't like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bryan Ferry Orchestra - Yellow Cocktail Music, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
I chose the rating because of the artist but gave it 4 stars as I'm still getting into Jazz.

I would'nt recommend to my friends as theres not enough of the main artist on the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dirgelike, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby - The Jazz Recordings Feat. The Bryan Ferry Orchestra (Audio CD)
The only numbers that "sing" out with gusto are recordings of original artists from the period. Sad to say, the rest from Mr BF is dull and dirgelike. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews