Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but instantly classic Western
Tonino Valerii was Sergio Leones cinematographer of choice, and it is assumed that Sergio Leone directed at least some of this wonderful Western, in addition to his stated 'producer' role.
The style, the trademark Ennio Morricone music, the nostalgia for disappearing times and the locations all are familiar Leone staples, but this movie showcases humour and more...
Published on 17 Nov. 2004 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Gun.
Remember folks, just because it's not my bag doesn't mean it's a bad
film...

Il mio nome è Nessuno (My Name Is Nobody) is directed by Tonino Valerii and Sergio Leone and co-written by Leone, Fulvio Morsella and Ernesto Gastaldi. It stars Terence Hill, Henry Fonda and Jean Martin. Music is by Ennio Morricone and cinematography by Giuseppe...
Published 13 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but instantly classic Western, 17 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
Tonino Valerii was Sergio Leones cinematographer of choice, and it is assumed that Sergio Leone directed at least some of this wonderful Western, in addition to his stated 'producer' role.
The style, the trademark Ennio Morricone music, the nostalgia for disappearing times and the locations all are familiar Leone staples, but this movie showcases humour and more script than we normally expect from him.
Be aware that this is a comedic take, but done so subtly and charmingly by Nobody (played by the perfect cast blonde blue eyed Terence Hill) and his interplay with Henry Fonda, that it never gets in the way of the style and story.
Henry Fonda represents the old West, and maybe even the old Western, who is planning to move to Europe and live out the rest of his years. Nobody is the character who appears a buffoon and simple minded but is actually possibly the smartest of them all, and maybe the fastest on the draw. His desire is to see his hero go down not fading away into old age, but in a blaze of glory..
Right down to the finale, the interchanges between them are touching as well as bringing a smile to your face, and while occasionally the humour is more slapstick than you might be used to, overall you are left with a nostalgic glow from the heartwarming ending.
If you like Westerns, or if you like Leone, or even if you just like something a little different, then this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Gun., 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
Remember folks, just because it's not my bag doesn't mean it's a bad
film...

Il mio nome è Nessuno (My Name Is Nobody) is directed by Tonino Valerii and Sergio Leone and co-written by Leone, Fulvio Morsella and Ernesto Gastaldi. It stars Terence Hill, Henry Fonda and Jean Martin. Music is by Ennio Morricone and cinematography by Giuseppe Ruzzolini.

It's a Spaghetti Western comedy that is highly thought of in like minded circles, but for the casual observer it's too damn quirky for its own good and gets caught between two worlds. The action quotient is high, the direction, performances and visuals are very good, and the humour, if you like it spoofery flavoured, is never in short supply. While Morricone provides an unusual musical score that ultimately befits the odd nature of the beast as it were. Thematically it has something to say on the changing West, and in fact on the changing of the Western movie as well. While structurally the makers never miss an opportunity to lift and homage from Western movies of the past.

It's very much one for fans of the medium only. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you're nobody till you're somebody!, 7 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is more than just a comedy spoof. It is a subtle celebration of the end of Sergio Leone's (ghost director) spaghetti western career where the celebrated gunslinger ends his career in legendary style with help from nobody.
Nobody (played by Terence Hill) does not reclaim vengance for a dead brother as claims the synopsis, but rather he wants to aid his all time gunslinging hero retire in style.
A fantastic calculated drama right until the last stance, accompanied by a wonderous Ennio Morricone score. The DVD itself contains some nice bonus clips including a Terence Hill interview on the movie.
Start here for spaghetti westerns, or just watch a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Name is Nobody, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
Jack Beauregard a ageing gunfighter just wants to retire and move to Europe but a young gunfighter called Nobody idealises Beauregard and wants him to go out on one last magnificent act. Which means him alone facing a gang known as the Wild Bunch who are one hundred and fifty strong.

Sergio Leone produces this well made and enjoyable Spaghetti Western in 1973 after the huge success of the Trinity films by director Enzo Barboni. The director was the talented Tonino Valerii who handles the film really well I just think the story had great potential if all the comedy elements had been left out.

Terrence Hill gives a Trinity style performance as Nobody and it is one of his finest roles, although I preferred him in the earlier 'Viva Django'. Hollywood Legend Henry Fonda is even better as Jack Beauregard and his solid serious performance mixes well with Hill's slapstick style.

The film lacks the traditional gritty and serious action the Spaghetti Western was famous for and mainly sticks to silly childish fast draws and slaps to the face. The opening sequence however is the best part of the film where three gunfighters plan on ambushing Beauregard while he has a shave.

The ending with Beauregard taking on the wild bunch had potential to be the greatest scene ever in a Spaghetti Western but after a good start with some effective slow motion, it turns silly with freeze frame shots of explosions from a book, poor narration and some comedic music.

Ennio Morricone's scores is both good and bad in my opinion. I surprisingly actually liked the child like main theme tune played around the Nobody character and I really liked the gunfight theme as well which sounds similar to Harmonicas theme from Once Upon a Time in the West. The one part I didn't like was the Wild Bunch track which is a great piece of music but when the small section of his own version of 'Ride of the Valkyries' by Wagner starts to play I found it quite irritating.

Overall a really good film that could've been great with just a few changes.

The DVD is in great quality, features a interesting interview with Terrence Hill and has some production notes that are well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film., 7 Aug. 2013
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
It's a shame that a 40 year old movie should still be expensive but alas that seems to be life.
Now I cannot claim to be a fan of westerns. I like them, but my taste has always been horror films. However I want to boost my collection of western films up and I really liked this one.

I believe that Sergio Leone directed some parts of this movie, but that has never been confirmed. A bit like Howard Hawks and The Thing.

The films stars Henry Fonda as an old pro and a young Terence Hill as a superfan but who trys to convince Fonda that he will never be a legend unless he takes out the wild bunch gang. Hill's charcater comes across as super cocky which did put me off the film a bit. However all is redeemed to a degree by the films end. Fonda seemingly turns up and does his job, such was his acting greatness.

I was quite surprised by the amount of slapstick comedy laden throughout the film. Though I must say it is hilarious. The film has many serious points to. And it does feel like the curtain closing on the traditional western movies, which it was. Only a small handful have been made since this film was released.

Morricone provides the soundtrack, which at times is odd and funny, much like the film.

I thought this was an enjoyable romp, and although I presume this cannot hold a candle to some of the greats, don't believe it was ever made to do that. It's a good movie to pass an afternoon by to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORCED SUBTITLES, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BUYER BEWARE THIS FILM ON BLUE RAY HAS FORCED SUBTITLES. WITCH CANNOT BE TURNED OFF. BUT STILL A FANTASTIC FILM. EXCELLENT TRANSFER TO BLUE RAY PICTURE PERFECT. HENCE 5 STAR RATING. WELL WORTH BUYING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid release, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this blu-ray rather than the newer US disc simply because it was offered on a rival website for much cheaper. I'm assuming if you're reading this you're at least somewhat familiar with this film - it's a Sergio Leone spear-headed, partial parody/part-tribute to Sergio Leone westerns. It has the beautiful cinematography, the great music, the circus-like obsession with great marksmanship (here used more in line with Clint Eastwood's Man With No Name shooting the hats off of bystanders rather than simply mowing down human beings) and a parody of Clint's iconic cowboy. Not the Man with No Name - NOBODY!

This blu-ray has fantastic picture quality - looking at stills of the US blu-ray compared to this, I prefer the colours on this and detail and stability are pretty damn good as well. There appears to be NO DNR applied, and no weird scanner noise such as plaguing most Italian films on blu-ray (Django and City of the Living Dead being clear offenders). It looks fantastic. Sound is also very good - Italian, French and English, all lossless, I obviously went for the latter. It being a French release, selecting English punishes you by forcing you to have distracting French subtitles throughout, though mostly they stay out of the 'scope frame and in the black so it's bearable. The sound is occasionally tinny but mostly very good. If the picture is great, eclipsing even the mighty The Good, the Bad and the Ugly on blu-ray (too much DNR!), the sound is a decent lossless stereo presentation.

There ARE extras - a commentary with the director, interviews with the writer and the director and some scholars...but they're all in Italian or French and there are no English subtitles. So deal with it. :P

If you want the movie, get whichever release is cheapest. I hope this review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i love this, 16 Nov. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
my name is nobody is a strange film upon first glance,spoof led at times,serious at others,funny,thrilling and zany but with the legendary henry fonda and terence hill in it and part directed by the god like sergio leone,this is something very different when you consider all the key ingredients thrown in.

however this is one of the great westerns,terence hill plays nobody,who is a manic outlaw,who answers to no one,fonda plays an aging outlaw who made his name but fancies retirement,however he is still killing as young up and coming killers fancy making a name for themselves by killing him and his legend,nobody is drawn to fonda who he regards as a hero and has dreams of fonda heading into battle against the wild bunch and killing everyone,while it sounds like a pipe dream,starts to warm to the idea,but when it seems impossible the two men decide to end the legacy that fonda created together so that he can get peace.

One memorable scene is when nobody repeatedly slaps and outwits another gunfighter and outdraws him time and time again,funny and cool as hell in my opinion.brilliant,plus ennio morricones mucsical score is sheer brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed attempt., 2 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
I've finally come to accept that Sergio Leone won't be making any more westerns, and anyway Clint Eastwood is probably past his best for appearing in them; so I thought I'd give some other spaghetti westerns a try. "My Name Is Nobody" seems to get high ratings, so here I am a couple of days after having started with that.

Frankly, I was disappointed. I'd give it 3.5 stars if Amazon allowed. Yes there are some amusing moments, but I generally dislike slapstick, and in any case hadn't realized that this was intended to be a comedy or a spoof. I thought Terence Hill was way too pretty to be believable as a drifter, and his superhuman skills so over the top that he shot down all my attempts to suspend disbelief. In any case I believe I'm right that he never actually shoots anybody in the movie... which is a bit odd for the hero of a spaghetti western! Finally there was the interminable mopey voiceover by Fonda at the end of the movie: whatever happened to that spaghetti western mantra: that when it comes to dialog, less is more?!

Things I did like: that first scene with Fonda in the barbershop is vintage Leone - loved it! The score was good in places, a bit spotty overall perhaps. I'm impressed that they got Henry Fonda signed on. I assume he only did it because Sergio Leone was linked to the project (I calculate that this film came about five years after Fonda played Frank in "Once Upon a Time In The West"). Fonda may have believed that Leone was going to direct, but as it is I'll bet that Leone only directed Fonda's scenes.

Video and audio quality was good, special features include an interesting interview with pretty boy himself, Terence Hill. He avoids giving controversial information, like who directed what, but he does give some insight into Italian/French comedic sensibilities that fail to translate for anglos like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Quirky Creation, 26 May 2009
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Nobody [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I am no fan of those strange and bizarre creations that came out of that manic short period of the Italian spaghetti western, but there are always exceptions to the rule. Sergio Leone's monumental "Once Upon a Time in the West"(69) would be hard to leave out of anyones top ten Western list of all time. But by 1973 when "My Name is Nobody" was made, they had become a parody of themselves. The film was officially directed by Tonino Valerii who also made the remarkable "The Price of Power"(69). Unofficially though Sergio Leone had a huge influence on the film and directed some scenes. It has his hallmarks written all over it.

The script follows an ageing gunfighter in 1899 who is out to avenge the death of his brother. He is played by the then 67 year old Fonda, in his last western role, as a 51 year old. As in "Once Upon a Time..." he looks very good for his age. He then meets a young hero worshipper who is also very quick on the gun called nobody. It soon becomes clear that nobody wants to become somebody very badly, as he engineers an epic showdown between Fonda and the 150 strong "Wild Bunch". When the world is once again reminded of what a great gunfighter Fonda is, the stage is set for Nobody to shoot him down in front of an admiring audience and take over his mantle. Will it all go according to plan?

The film again uses that much used theme of the passing of the Old West, much as did Peckinpah's "The Wild Bunch". Homage is dutifully paid to Sam Peckinpah who often used this theme. R G Armstrong a Peckinpah stalwart is used to good effect in the film and there is even a grave in the film with the name Sam Peckinpah on it. Not very subtle! The script is pretty loose and there are some very strange happenings. Terence Hill a star of the Trinity spaghetti Westerns gives an over the top performance more reminiscent of Jack Nicholson in "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest". It is perhaps the films main flaw. Fonda as was so often the case glues the film together with his mere presence. He shows once again what a fine actor he was. Some of the humour is very funny whilst other attempts miss the mark. Perhaps a bit too Marx brothers at times. Ennio Morricone provides a decent music score but it is far from his magnificent best. The location filming in New Mexico and Almeria in Spain, Leone's favourite location, give the film a very authentic look. Overall I found myself enjoying the film as a refreshing change from something more traditional. A generous four stars because it is so entertainingly oddball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Name Is Nobody [Blu-ray] [1973] [US Import]
My Name Is Nobody [Blu-ray] [1973] [US Import] by Henry Fonda (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews