Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I have a gift for disaster...'
I'm quite worried about the chronic lack of reviews for this absolute classic film. To me, this is very powerful and is, in some cases, deeply disturbing and I feel that it has somewhat been neglected by people who thrive on films packed with horror, suspense and tension - the Medusa Touch has it all. OK, there are not many extras on the DVD but the film itself it very...
Published on 18 May 2001

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 70's Gem
In a nutshell it's a low budget British 70's Sci-fi/horror film centred around
the 'Paranormal'. The ideas were in vogue then but a bit lame now.
Richard Burton has the power to make his will 'real'- with devastating results.
It sends him mad: can anyone stop him!!
Oh dear, but don't hang up! If you like British 70's drama you'll like it...
Published on 30 Jun 2004 by marcusmuck


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I have a gift for disaster...', 18 May 2001
By A Customer
I'm quite worried about the chronic lack of reviews for this absolute classic film. To me, this is very powerful and is, in some cases, deeply disturbing and I feel that it has somewhat been neglected by people who thrive on films packed with horror, suspense and tension - the Medusa Touch has it all. OK, there are not many extras on the DVD but the film itself it very well crafted and Richard Burton is excellent as the novelist John Morlar, who is brutally assaulted at the beginning of the film by an unknown attacker and left for dead. The filom is an account of the later police investigation, as it's built up on flashbacks of Morlars past visits to his therapist Zonfeld (Lee Remick). He claimed he has 'a gift for disaster' after finding out at an early age he has the power to kill people through unconcious telekinesis. Although troubled by his powers, he uses them nevertheless against people who annoy him or get in his way. In hospital however after the attack, his brain is struggling for survival despite a critically slow pulse level - his is a mind determined not to die. It is only until they realise the reason why that the film really unfolds and the 'edge of your seat suspense' is really brought about in a fashion rarely seen in new modern-day films. This film is brilliant and I hope that by writing these words I will actually encourage more people to watch what I deem to be an utter classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film that has stayed with me for over a decade., 21 Aug 2003
I first saw this film about 15 or more years ago as a young teenager. I thought it was a brilliant combination of whodunnit, thriller and occult horror. I loved the insights into telekenesis, the flashback structure, the 70s styling (honest) and the French detective. A wonderful, disturbing movie that I have remembered clearly since first seeing it.
Great to have this out on DVD, though the actual DVD is very average. Full screen ratio is disappointing if it was filmed in widescreen 1:1.85 or wider - I could be wrong. Lack of extras is poor, but it's cheap I suppose.
Even so, definitely worth buying. I leant it to a friend and he and his wife thought it gripping and really praised it the next day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and downright chilling., 2 May 2011
This review is from: The Medusa Touch [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this film with my father when i was a kid and iv never forgotten it. Its the kind of film that almost puts you in a trance(In a good way). It kicks into gear right from the off, with a heavy atmosphere and fantastic acting.
The film itself is nothing spectacular visually, it dosent have incredible special effects or CGI...but it dosent need any. The story, acting, atmosphere and script are all this brilliant film needs to keep you on the edge of your seat.
A good portion of the film is shown in flashbacks, with Richard Burtons charactor speaking to his therapist about his past and his problems and it works incredibly well, switching from a present day attempted murder investigation to all the disasters from the past that Richard Burton claims to be responsible for. I can honestly say that i havent seen a film like it before or since. Forget so called horror films of today that use the same old tired formula and tons of fake blood...The Medusa Touch is the real deal. If your a massive horror fan, you may look at the PG certificate it has been given and think, how can it be any good as a horror movie?...but youd be wrong, the medusa touch is full of subtle horror and brooding atmosphere that truthfully put some horror films to shame. I watched it again recently and wondered why it hadnt been given a higher certificate...it truly is quite chilling stuff made more so by the performance of Richard Burton. One minute you feel sorry for him, the next he just projects all out fear into you...I cannot stress how magnificently he plays the part.
If you like intelligent, thought provoking, engrossing and brilliantly acted movies.....This is definately for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True classic., 25 Sep 2002
By 
Eric Richards "ekka" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to totally agree with the previous reviewer. This was without doubt a superb portrayal by Burton of a man possessed with a terrible knowledge, the knowledge that he could influence events just by thought. A film that has had very little exposure over the years, which is such a pity, especially considering the usual rubbish fare we are dished up. In my opinion Burton was just right for this role, conveying real menace in his depiction of the character. What a pity that new cinema audiences that are growing up now may never see the great Richard Burton, and films such as this. If you have never seen it, do so without delay, it will remain in your memory for a long time after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping and intelligent thriller, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Medusa Touch [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
The Medusa touch is one of my favorites movies. The plot is gripping, with very good suspense, and the script intelligent. Richard Burton plays a murdered writer who was angry against society,and that the french detective (Lino Ventura) sent in England discovers and begins to be sort of attracted to along the story.
This is a small european (english and french) production, with little effects, but the movie itself is a masterpiece. It is a very good mix of thriller and fantastic.
The actors are brillant, and you won't ever forget them once you've watched it.
An absolute must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 13 Feb 2012
One of my favourites from yesteryear. An original film with suspense all the way. The feel of the film reminds me very much of the original omen movie in particular his boyhood reminiscing...Burton is truly overpowering and a joy to watch along with the jaded but bright French detective who slowly unravels the mystery behind Burton's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burton and Remick make it great., 2 Nov 2011
By 
Observer (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Medusa Touch [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Burton delivers a profound performance without uttering a word. But when he does, the dialogue is enhanced by his delivery. And Lee Remick, able to express the full range of emotions with no apparent effort.
Ironically, Burtons character is a lost soul unable to communicate effectively with those around him. In struggling to understand his gift/curse, the ultimate futility versus dawning realisation collide in a literally cataclysmic finale.
Although a damning indictment of the fairer sex, may i quote........."she was created by God to test our faith in him".
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did I Like It - Yes!, 26 April 2011
Very good film, a favourite from childhood when I think I watched it with my Dad. Richard Burton is very charismatic and Lee Remick was brilliant and classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventies classic ?, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Medusa Touch [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Whodunnit/sci-fi/murder/mystery. You name it. Richard Burton stars as disturbed writer John Morlar who can cause catastrophes due to his telekinetic powers which have been honed since childhood. The problem is no-one will believe him until he turns to Dr Zonfeld (Lee Remick) for help. The film starts with a mysterious assailant who attacks Morlar with a small statue and almost literally beats his brains out. The police are called when Morlars body is found lifeless on the floor. Led by Lino Ventura as Detective Inspector Brunel on an exchange visit from France (obviously part of the finance coming from Gallic backers) a murder investigation starts which is rudely interrupted when the "corpse" starts to breathe. Rushed to hospital and put on a life support machine the detective reads Morlars journals and gets to encounter Zonfeld. There follows a series of vignettes of past disasters which Morlar has caused from the death of his nanny, then his parents, then a cruel teacher who makes him pick up leaves in the wet, and a judge who crossed him in his trainee barrister days. His wife also leaves him ( for a very fey and young Jeremy Brett). Then when Zonfeld doubts his word he causes a plane to crash. Brunel starts to believe more and more that Morlar actually is capable of these disasters and reads about the "walls will come tumbling down at the north face". This has now become too much to bear for Zonfeld, who can not stop Morlar (she is the attempted murderer) and takes her own life. Brunel discovers that the north face is one of the walls of a minster building which is to be attended by royalty and dignitaries for a grand ceremony. Despite pleas from Brunel the police ignore him and on cue Morlar does his thing and the building collapses killing hundreds (watch out for the bouncing masonry). Brunel returns to the hospital where Morlar is and his brain activity still increases. Having put a pencil in Morlars hand he scribbles the word "Windscale" on a piece of paper (the name of a nuclear power station
) the detective decides that the last resort is to turn off the life support. With this the ECG goes off the scale and Morlars eyes open. The end.
A decidely gripping film of many peaks and troughs and a power ful performance from star Burton ensures several moments of pure horror ably supported by a stellar cast including Harry Andrews as a police commissioner, Gordon Jackson as the hospital doctor, Derek Jacobi as Morlars publisher, Alan Badel as a barrister, Michael Hordern as a medium and John Normington as the schoolmaster. A great film produced by Jack Gold, based on a Peter Greenaway novel, is slightly hampered by budget constrictions of the 1970's but is well worth seeing. There are no extras on this budget release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little underated gem, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Medusa Touch [DVD] (DVD)
I recorded this of tv onto video many years ago and I haven't seen it since the dvds came in fashion and sky channels came about.
This film should be on tv a lot more cause u don't recall it being on for at least 15 years now.
Richard Burtan is frightening in this classic which I hardly remember anymore except he can make things happen like making a car roll off a cliff with a family member still in it and a church crumbling near the end.
I need to see this again cause I had only just left school so it could well be 20 yrs since I last see this but I always remembered the title so it must have given me a chill down the back of my spine and there are not many films that does that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medusa Touch [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Medusa Touch [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Richard Burton (Blu-ray - 2013)
22.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews