Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection
Really good collection of stories, combining sex, violence, and dystopian settings. There's science fiction, and fantasy too, so that each story offers something new to the reader. Easy to read, with an engaging style. There are also some great concepts, and I really enjoyed this collection.
Published 5 months ago by RAS

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting in parts
Some really interesting stories mixed with some vague stories within galactic energies. But nice to see a new author try something different. I will look out for the next one.
Published 15 months ago by Rob E


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
Really good collection of stories, combining sex, violence, and dystopian settings. There's science fiction, and fantasy too, so that each story offers something new to the reader. Easy to read, with an engaging style. There are also some great concepts, and I really enjoyed this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Imaginative Collection of Short Stories, 28 May 2014
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
With short stories, it's often hard to get too invested in the characters because they end so quickly. Sometimes, the best kind of short story is the kind that has a twist ending, something that shocks you and makes it more memorable. Luca Rossi manages to create several short stories where you do feel connected to the characters in many of them, and there are also quite a few that end with a punch. This book was originally written in Italian, so I commend the translator for doing a fantastic job. The writing is both smooth and engaging. The majority of the stories are science fiction, and each one is uniquely creative and inventive. There is also an erotic element to many of them as well.

Here is quick rundown of what I thought of each story:

"Rewind": This was a great story to start with. I quickly became immersed in this story where a young owner of a web agency becomes hugely successful despite the corrupt businesses that try to shut him down. It shows just how powerful social media has become. The main character is likable, and I was happy when his greatest fantasy becomes reality. But then the ending leaves you saying, what in the hell just happened?

"The Kingdom of Turlis": This story had a really strong and intriguing beginning. But then it turned into more of a fantasy story (rather than sci-fi), and that's not a preferred genre of mine. However, it still had an interesting plot that kept me turning the pages.

"Life in Prison": I loved the concept of this story, even though it was quite disturbing. A man is falsely accused of a crime and is placed in a futuristic prison, which is located inside a cave and manned by robots. He has no idea why he is there, and when he meets the Director, his situation becomes even more precarious... This story was one of my favorites.

"Forms of Love": I'm a sucker for romance so I loved this one. A police officer has chased a mutant criminal all over the galaxy, and he finally manages to capture her. She is able to change forms, so she chooses to become the exact image of his ex-girlfriend...

"Latrodectus Mactans": This is probably the shortest story out of them all. A virtual reality game goes wrong due to hackers, and it becomes all too real...

"Arcot and the Queen": Captain Arcot goes to a planet to trade with the vampires that live there. These vampires are very powerful, and soon, he is under the Queen's complete control. The plot was interesting, but this was one of the few stories where I didn't feel much of a connection with the characters. Considering what the story was about, it really wasn't surprising that I couldn't relate to any of them.

"The Perfect Family": Aurelia has the perfect man. It sounds impossible, right? Well, the only reason he's so perfect is because he's a robot. But when she decides to have a child with him, she finds out that it is possible to be too perfect, and that's not always a good thing. I liked the concept of this story, but Aurelia seemed very petty and shallow so I didn't care for her much. It was intriguing to see where this all was going though!

"Maciste": I'm a dog lover (and that's an understatement) so I enjoyed this tale of reincarnation. Maria was a horrible person, and that's all I'm going to say!

"Clouded Emotions": An IT genius is tricked into creating a code that causes people to commit suicide. The company behind this, DataCom, is run by artificial intelligence, and they believe they are saving earth by killing off the human race. The story is fast paced, and the characters keep switching sides. I wasn't surprised when I finished it that the story isn't over yet. It is still being developed, and readers can even vote on and make suggestions on how the plot should unfold. This story definitely has the potential to be a full length novel, so I thought this was an interesting idea.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read, and I would definitely recommend this imaginative collection of stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
I can't believe I read Galactic Energies so fast... I just couldn't stop! The author has an amazing imagination. Luca Rossi takes science fiction into new territory. All short stories are well written, with fascinating plots and unexpected endings. Female characters are dominant, strong and sexy. The book is written by a foreign author and you can tell. It's been a long time since I've read such new, fresh and innovative short stories, which made me think about who we really are, where we come from and how dangerous modern technology can be. Life in Prison, Forms of Love and Clouded Emotions were my favorite tales. Go enjoy them! Worth a read? Absolutely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smorgasbord of sci-fi, sex and the exploration of social scenarios, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
A collection that hangs together the same way that concept rock albums used to do in the ways when musicians made concept rock albums. Sex, a little violence, and the exploration in each story of some aspect of the human condition or psyche - usually via androids and technology. I was disturbed by the all too plausible matriarchal achievement of the end of the male gender, drawn in by the practicality of the notion of the redundancy of the old-fashioned banking system and pleased to see the inclusion of the Fiat Punto in fiction - a much neglected automotive character. Being an Englishman I am not qualified to comment on the erotic content of this collection, and I leave that to others. You won't fault the fantasy and concepts of the stories, or the sheer scale and scope of the speculation. Most splendid. Most splendid indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave new worlds, 10 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
"Galactic Energies" by Luca Rossi is an interesting and unique blend of science, fantasy and exploration of the human condition. In this inspired selection of short stories Rossi takes us to new dimensions, planets and technological innovations, yet his heroes remain the same imperfect idealists and corrupt beings.
Highly original and intelligently composed the stories are written with a great distinctive voice. From the first amazing story onwards (where two Italian men invent a new paying system software) that voice held my interest with the promise of importance and meaning. The characters are well thought out creations that manage to make the unusual usual. Love, desire, hunger for power and other all too human qualities are perfectly set off against the artificial and virtual, futuristic, supernatural and paranormal.
Erotic and at times explicit these stories move across boundaries and dimensions; this is a feast for science fiction fans but also holds interest for readers in search of fresh or peculiar themes and innovative writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and Absorbing, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
Not my usual cup of tea, I'll admit, but it didn't take long to hook me in, and once that happened I couldn't put it down. There are no wasted words in Luca Rossi's story-spinning, and the variety of concepts and executions in this collection is simply staggering. The author creates convincing characters and fills the tales with the right mix of action, sex, violence, social commentary, melancholy and love. Never dull, always different. All in all a fantastic escapist read. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, 26 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
I loved this collection of short stories, they have a freshness and an honesty about them and are very modern tales with enough twists and turns to delight any reader of this genre. They are ideal for lovers of science fiction, technology and computers. There is an amalgamation of clear scientific knowledge and experience from the author and he produces a crisp, sharp, intriguing look at modern day and the near future. The stories are written with style, characterization is superb and the descriptive prose is effortless in its apparent simplicity; a notable talent and skill of the writer. If you enjoy the laws of physics being altered or where technology almost overtakes humanity and our semblance, regulated sense of the normality, I urge you to purchase this book. I am very impressed with not just the sincere style of the writing but also the sheer exuberance and energy of the stories, which literally jump off the page to enthral, amaze and ultimately entertain the readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction you don't expect, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
Luca Rossi has got the special talent to tell stories you don't expect in a way which is similarly unexpected. Each one of these short stories is characterised by this peculiarity, while you face completely different worlds and protagonists, each one able to amaze us in its own way. Moving among science fiction, fantasy and erotism each story captivates us and meets our desire of a narration which is less than expected, where really everything can happen.
Suggested to Sci-fi enthusiasts who would like to be surprised.

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli, author of Red Desert - Point of No Return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon's Where We're Headin', 10 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
I just wrote a blog about cybersex and how it will change the way we meet and mate. Luca Rossi is clearly thinking along the same lines - but in the opposite direction (that is if space has a direction). First we meet Aurelia. Yes, gorgeous. To die for. Finally, finally, she has found the perfect man. Well, isn't ever woman's dream to find a man who can keep going ad infinitum. This one can, as good as any machine, which he is. Shame there's no time to cogitate cosmic orgasms and the love of a robot. The world's in one big mess but the AI geniuses at DataCom are trying to save the planet by wiping the slate clean and, you got it, armageddon for us all. Those who may step up to the plate to save us is a cast of wonderful misfits - vampires, mutants and shape shifters - a vagrant monarch who has forgotten who he is...and maybe a robot. Great fun.

The space explorer Captain Arcot sacrifices his life for an impossible conquest, the heart of Vril the vampire queen.

A shape-shifting mutant ignites the erotic desires of the galactic police officer who's been tracking her down.

Alessio fights against corruption in a universe of his own creation.

An innocent man is forced to submit to the domination of a ruthless prison director.

A king who's forgotten his own past wanders through a magical dimension where he discovers his own history.

Two souls separated after one abandons the other meet again in another life.

In an exciting virtual reality game, the hunter of the fearsome black widow becomes her prey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgy and unique., 4 April 2014
This review is from: Galactic Energies: Science fiction and fantasy short stories (Kindle Edition)
Where do I begin… This book was so different from anything I’ve ever read (in a good way). The author’s writing style and concepts are new and fresh, which is a wonderful change of pace. The stories are interesting and edgy, and could definitely pull in readers who don’t usually buy books in this genre. I’m absolutely going to spread the word of this book to some of my friends to try and broaden their horizons. But, don’t take it from me… buy the book and find out for yourself… you won’t be disappointed. I will be looking for more books from this author in the future; I can’t wait to see what is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews