Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and inspiring, 5 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is powerful, well written and I was able to read through it easily in chunks without it being a novel-style page-turner. The author is honest about the times that he or his siblings fought with each other, all in the hindsight of the fact that the original abandonments and then abusive upbringings damaged their relationships to begin with. I didn't feel like there was any "poor me" in the book, just a general explanation of the after-effects of being dragged up in care and by abusive foster parents.

Since starvation also came into play as well as other forms of abuse, this memoir also brings to mind the story of Unloved by Peter Roche, where food was withheld deliberately and almost made into another drug which drove people to theft. It comes across that Cummings' legal fight gave him some catharsis. I say that but it's an assumption, since there is no description of the therapy undertaken by the author overseas, just that he had some. Even without this you can check the author's website for more information about the case.

I think it's well worth a read and was selling at a good price at launch, so if it hasn't gone up as of 2009, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart breaker, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this book because i was brought up in this area,and about the same age as les cummings,its unbelievable what this poor boy suffered! when i think back, i must have past him many a time going to school not knowing of his plight , i had a very happy childhood ,with loving parents, and family.after reading this book, i realise how lucky i was,this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that brings to light the total incompetence of the care system, a revealing book , a story of a child constantly moved from one abuse to another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LES REMEMBERS A HORRIBLE LIFE, 18 Oct 2012
Les Cummings as a man sees something that takes him back to his childhood,one he'd tried to put behind him,well it's hardly any wonder he wanted to forget it.
We learn how life was fine if not anywhere near perfect with his single mother in the early days,then she gets arrested and imprisoned and life becomes something different.
Handed from place to place with his siblings,he soon learns children's homes aren't the safe places they were meant to be.
Les goes on to tell us of the evil people in charge of kids and the things they did,the power they loved to have over kids and Les always tells of his false belief that one day his mother will save him from all this hellishness.
Going from unsafe child homes to other unsafe homes,it's no wonder he soon became very angry at the world,certainly when you consider he even told authorities of his problems and they just ignored him,hardly any wonder at all he became bitter.
The people he goes on to live with soon treat him like dirt,starving him,locking him under the stairs,other horrible things and eventually sexual abuse.
Though he soon finds some happiness,life is less than perfect,far less. And though he soon becomes a bitter bad boy,doing things he knew he shouldn't,it's no wonder he went off the rails,when love came,it was too late,the damage was done.
This is a most interesting true story of how less had to overcome the odds,told in gripping fashion.
I would say it's not the most shocking abuse book i've read,but it is disturbing. It's a life no one should have to live. They say monsters don't really exist,try convincing Les Cummings of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars children's homes, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Christine Jones (Cardiff. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
bought this for my husband as he was brought up in a children's home in the 50's - it rang a few bells. Very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Child Should not Have to Go Through This, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs C "Chris in Hampshire" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another well written book documenting a tragic, sad and unbelievably cruel childhood. It seems that children like Les are still suffering and very little has been learnt over the years of how to save these abused children. The courage of the authour is outstanding. The Authorities that failed him and the Foster Parents and Carers (so called) in the Children's Home should be imprisoned for their wrong-doing. They should read this book, so that the true horror that Les and other children like him had suffered at their hands, can sink in and embed itself in their heads. A very good book but you have to be strong to read about this suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 25 April 2009
honestly written, eye opener, he doesn't make himself out to be an angelic child. he admits to being a 'normal' child who gets in trouble occasionally. he did not for one second deserve the treatment he recieved. it was apalling what supposed 'human beings' could do to a child...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was in this childrens home in the 50s, ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was in this childrens home in the 50s, This book brought back all of the unpleasant memories for me and my two sisters.this book needs to be read to find out the true story ofwhat really happened in this place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews