Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Shadows
Originally released in 1991, this expanded edition boasts considerable extra value - over 30 mono tracks available on CD for the first time as well as a number of stereo tracks previously only available in mono, such as FBI (whose stereo master tape was only rediscovered in 2008).

Containing everything recorded by the group during 1959 - 1966, this means that...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality a little underwhelming
I received the box set today after deciding to put some of my older Shads CDs up for sale to refresh my collection. I had hoped that the sound quality on the tracks would generally be a step up from my mid-90s triple CD 'First 20 Years at the Top' but it actually isn't. For the earlier tracks up to Dance On, the single Greatest Hits CD containing both the stereo and (I...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Euan M. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Shadows, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1991, this expanded edition boasts considerable extra value - over 30 mono tracks available on CD for the first time as well as a number of stereo tracks previously only available in mono, such as FBI (whose stereo master tape was only rediscovered in 2008).

Containing everything recorded by the group during 1959 - 1966, this means that all of the big hits are present and correct - Apache, Man of Mystery, FBI, Wonderful Land, Dance On, Foot Tapper, Atlantis, amongst many others.

But the major joy of this release is coming across less well-known gems. With 185 tracks across 6 CDs there's plenty to discover - some of their later recordings, such as A Place in the Sun and The Dreams I Dream were new to me and they are quality recordings which show the group in a slightly different light.

The CD comes with a well-illustrated booklet which contains an extensive essay by John Tobler from the original release in 1991. This is then followed by an addendum which lists the additions to the 2013 re-issue. There are also full track credits, which list exactly where each track was sourced from - single, album, ep, etc.

Retailing at around the £12.00 mark for 6 CDs, this is incredible value for money. Housed in a jewel case, it isn't the most lavish looking product from the outside (and the front cover doesn't do it much favours, as it looks rather like a public domain title) but it's the content inside that's important, and The Shadows - The Early Years is a quality package containing everything recorded during the peak years of one the UK's most influential groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice companion set, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
Great to own this new expanded set incl.Sound of the Shadows in mono for the first time on cd.Great to also have ALL the Thunderbird ep tracks in stereo. This makes a great companion to the A & B sides 4disc set which means that now that the all important period in the Shads career (1959/66) is covered, what with this new set including all the ep, s too.And at a bargain price.I had a mammoth session listening to all 6 discs...LOUD.So ive either annoyed or entertained my neighbours today.Haha.A shame it only came jewel cased instead of boxed like the earlier issue. ..but hey at this price who, s bothered, its the music that matters.Top notch remasters also.
CD Firsts
Thunderbirds tracks all stereo
FBI...orig.newly discovered stereo master take
2 tracks from Dance With in stereo for the first time
Only minor negative ...South Africa (1962)live tracks not included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection to have, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. F. Reid "Frank Reid" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to The Shadows, and now at 63 I am learning to play guitar, so being able to play along with such wonderful tunes is brilliant.
If you want one Shadows collection, then this is the one to have.
Excellent price, good sleeve notes and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers exactly what it says in the box!, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
I bought this expanded version having bought the original box set many years ago. This new expanded version delivers exactly what it claims on the box. Everything The Shadows recorded from 1859-1966 for Columbia / EMI is present and correct in the best audio quality. Many of the tracks are presented in Stereo for the first time. F.B.I in particular sounds amazing in true Stereo rather than the 'mock' electronically reprocessed 'Stereo' that has been available since their 'Greatest Hits' release of 1963. At this price I would thoroughly recommend this release even to the casual Shadows fan. These are the master recordings from EMI and not just a cheap cash in as many of the now out of copyright releases from bootleg type suppliers are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Music was Simple and Pure ..., 10 Jan 2014
By 
Pieter Stok (Geelong, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
This is a collection of music that brought tears to an old fan's eyes. This catalogue of songs shows the progression, development and experimentation that made the Shads great. It is a worthy replacement for all the early albums. It is worth every cent, penny or whatever currency you use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like it says on the label, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. W. LLOYD "Mike the busman" (Wigan, Lancs, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
The Shadows were Britain's greatest group, consummate professionals who not only backed Cliff Richard but also made some of the greatest instrumental recordings ever on their own account. They inspired more than one generation of guitar players and were undoubtedly responsible for the popularity of the Fender Stratocaster guitar in the UK. Shadows material has been re-issued constantly on cassette and CD but often in dribs and drabs, with items missing or transferred to other records,etc. This 6-CD set covers "their complete studio recordings 1959 - 1966." And indeed it does - singles A and B sides, EPs and LPs and Shadows-only tracks from Cliff's recordings, particularly film-related material. This is the first time that all this material has been made available in strict chronological order in one collection and it renders unnecessary at a stroke a whole lot of compilations and reissues, etc. It also covers the golden years of the Shads output, so it's superb music. It's the soundtrack to my life (and many other people's too!) and the price is amazingly low. It's a fully-legal edition, with appropriate royalties paid, as well - nothing bootleg or dodgy about it. Don't know how I managed without it all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic melodies on here and never heard before as well as the best loved tracks of the past. Greatly enjoyed., 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
Some fantastic melodies on here and never heard before as well as the best loved tracks of the past. Greatly enjoyed and will keep as a momento of those icononic times. (the sixties)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Group, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
Brings back my early years I recommend this to everyone who enjoys the Shadows to purchase this as a reminder of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shadows - The Early Years 1959-1966, 13 April 2014
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
I had the 20 Golden Greats album for many years. With this collection I now realise what a music genius Hank Marvin was/is. The band The Shadows were an extraordinary group of musicians. Although the music sounds simple, try to play any of these songs with the same passion and skill, I bet you can't.
The incredible musicianship and timing these guys had was impeccable. The song The Savage is a good example of timing, skill and an incredible song. I never get sick of Hanks great tone and melody.
The kids of today would look at the cover of this box set and say geeks etc, but these guys really started what we all love today and i am very glad i have this collection to educate my kids what great music can be.
The sound is top notch as is the mix of songs, great collection all up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded version of "The Early Years" at a shrinked price !, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Early Years: 1959-1966 (Audio CD)
After 2 or 3 years trying to find the original 6 CD box set at a reasonable price... what a surprise to discover a few days ago that it would be soon available in an expanded version and for a ridiculous price ! I ordered it even before it was released ! (and received it very quickly, just 4 days from the UK to France). Almost everything of the legendary group - or let's say everything you need of their beginnings - is gathered in this compact set: great standards as well as more exotic things... A "must have" for any Shadows lover !
A delighted french Shads addict who at last found its treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Early Years: 1959-1966
The Early Years: 1959-1966 by Shadows (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews