Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stealth Game on PS3?
In short, Yes.
After months of speculation about whether or not this entry into the Splinter Cell franchise would finally give us a game up to the high standards of Pandora Tomorrow and the epic Chaos Theory, I am pleased to say that Ubisoft have finally done themselves proud here!

STORY:
A secretive terrorist organization known as the 'Engineers' are...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. M. Osborne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few new gadgets
the latest instalment of splinter cell is definitely a solid stealth action game. Sam has some very interesting new gadgets at his disposal, and the missions are both challenging and dynamic. I had expected a few improvements when it comes to motion control, especially during situations where the usage of weapons is relevant. However, the game has not improved a lot in...
Published 4 months ago by Matthias


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stealth Game on PS3?, 26 Aug 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
In short, Yes.
After months of speculation about whether or not this entry into the Splinter Cell franchise would finally give us a game up to the high standards of Pandora Tomorrow and the epic Chaos Theory, I am pleased to say that Ubisoft have finally done themselves proud here!

STORY:
A secretive terrorist organization known as the 'Engineers' are essentially holding the United States hostage, using terror attacks and threats to blackmail the government into pulling their troops out of various countries. Every seven days, an attack will happen, the only clue is the names on the 'Blacklist'. This is standard Tom Clancy stuff, high tech terror cells, high risk missions and high end rewards. The story is thoroughly entertaining, albeit nothing we've not seen before. Still, a solid one. Unfortunately, Michael Ironside who has been voicing Sam since day one is absent, instead replaced by a audibly younger voice actor who does Sam justice, I personally felt he did a great job.

OVERALL: 8.5/10

GAMEPLAY:
Splinter Cell veterans will feel right at home in Blacklist, skulking around dark shadows, stalking a guard you just have to take out has never been more rewarding. The controls are tight and the cover system is fun and responsive! Of course, this being a Splinter Cell game you are given some tasty gadgets to play with! Classics like sticky shockers and cameras make a welcome return alongside the Tri-Rota, a small aerial assault drone that you can control. Mark your enemies, attract them and even shoot them down with sticky shockers!

Also, you have the opportunity to completely customize your gear! spend the money you make on missions to purchase and upgrade equipment! Don't like your goggles? Fine, upgrade to sonar or thermal. Don't like the colour? No problem, spray it what colour you want! I really liked this aspect of the game, almost giving it an RPG edge, which in my opinion is always welcome! Do the same to your weapons aswell!

The enemies are not your usual mindless idiots like in alot of games nowadays, they are very proficient hunters! You creep by one, he gets the faintest whiff, listen to him chat to his buddies (or himself) questioning what they just saw, or if they're going a little crazy?!

Side-Missions now play a part here, with high spec gear to be unlocked and obtained at their completion. These usually consist of sneaking into a base, retrieving three pieces of information and getting the hell out of there! But beware, you get spotted once and its a trip to the beginning of the mission for you. This encourages a sort of trial and error aspect, it can be quite frustrating making it all the way to the end, only to be seen just as you reach the extraction point. But when completed, very rewarding! I would recommend playing these missions to get the best gear!

Now, there are three distinct play-styles to choose from, but the likelihood is you'll blend into others throughout the game.

GHOST: (My personal favourite) this is classic Splinter Cell. Its all about complete stealth and non-lethal takedowns.
PANTHER: Stealth with the added flair of brutal and lethal take-downs.
ASSAULT: Balls-to-the-walls action, go in there and blow everyone away, a typical action affair.

OVERALL: 9.5/10

GRAPHICS:
Blacklist's graphics are extremely solid. Shadows and other lighting effects are masterfully done, the cut-scenes in particular are very well made. Slight screen tearing aside, this games presentation is top notch! Lip synching is superb and the atmosphere is most levels is spot on! Can't wait to see Sam on PS4!

CONCLUSION:
To put it basically, if you want the best stealth game on PS3 since Dishonored, buy Splinter Cell: Blacklist. Simply put, it is excellent.

FINAL SCORE: 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top game, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I ve never played a splinter cell game before but it didn't take me long to get hooked. The campaign is entertaining and quite easy once you've done some levelling up. The real challenge is the side missions of which there are plenty. Even though some took me quite a few attempts, you know you only have to take eleven of them out stealthily to proceed. So you can always see the end, no matter how hard, you just have to execute the best route. The gadgets are very good and they should not to be neglected. Certain weapon upgrades make things a lot easier. Graphics are good enough but not brilliant. The side mission called 'Hawkins Den' is sublime but some side missions can only be completed in co op but they're worth doing. Overall if you like stealth games (it reminded me of Hitman absolution) then this is for you. It's one of the best games I've played over the last year or so and as I play a few here is a list of my favourites of recent times in the order I enjoyed playing them:

1 Far Cry 3
2 Tomb raider
3 GTA V
4 Splinter Cell Blacklist
5 The Last of Us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the new Sam Fisher, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Being a 50 year old housewife I understand I am not the demographic for a game like this but I thought it was the best Splinter Cell for years (since the first three games). The graphics are sumptious, the story is substantial, the new Sam Fisher is sexy and I played from start to finish without getting stuck by some geek-fest, over complicated gameplay which just irritates people like me.
Very much looking forward to the next, new Sam Fisher game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splinter Cell Blacklist, 2 Jan 2014
By 
B. Rodriguez (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Splinter Cell is back and I am overwhelmed to say the least. I recall those teenage years several years ago when I'd be up all night playing Pandora Tomorrow and Chaos Theory, such fun was had on such tremendous games.

I can report that Blacklist is equally as good, if not better than the original trio from many moons ago. I completed this game without alerting a single enemy and the stealth element is fantastic. The graphics are fantastic, there's no texture or lag issues and the enemy AI is top notch. The controls are a doddle and very smooth, I also find the addition of old claasics such as sticky shocker welcome!

I love the game music, its very stealthy and covert. For some reason this game severely reminds me of Call of Duty 4, I think it's the middle eastern vibe - this is a great thing!

I can't recommend this more, if you liked the original trio then you will certainly love this. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 19 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Great Game! One of the best stealth games I have ever played! I'm new to the Splinter Cell franchise and i am truly satisfied with this game.

Great graphics,great enemy AI, brilliant storyline and exelent gameplay.

[...] - IGN Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game has lots to offer, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. B. J. Shaw (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Loved this game gave me plenty to do i cant wait until they release the next one or a version for the next gen games console. Plays really well has really tense moments to it and gives a new image to Sam fisher. One thing did bug me and that was how similar the new Sam fisher looks so similar to the default Sheppard from Mass effect. Apart from that this game is really gritty giving you a feel of being an ultimate commando.

Unlike the other games it gives you 3 different ways to play it which are assault, panther and ghost. Assault is just gun ho style, panther is stealth with lethal effects so killing them and ghost is so you cant be detected so leaving no bodies to be found and subduing your enemies.

Sam fisher has many ways to be customized as well as the whole team and departments that they work in. To add to that any money you earn online can go towards the performance of Sam or your online characters.

Now for the online well i loved playing it and am pretty good at this it has many modes to it and a few in which you can customize your different classes. However it does have really annoying gadgets that get used against you. When this game was released it was really fun as nobody had these but in the first week people unlocked them. The most annoying one they had was the stealth suit(spies) really feels out of place and belongs in a game more like metal gear. Another gadget is a scrambler device(mercs) that when activated shuts down your electronics and devices that you use but what i don't get is how it effects your vision. Last is a mini uav(mercs) that has the ability to scan the area a reveal the location of the opposition sounds helpful and would be great if it could shoot but cant, instead it blows up next to people giving the easiest and most unskilled kill in a match. People will use some more than others but if they didn't exist the game would be better online hugely. This being said there is a mode where you can play a classic version where mercs and spies have the devices given to them and cant change them, this mode is only 2v2 but soo much more fun i played this a lot but as time went on people stuck to the other modes as you can only use your custom devices in them.

But with all of the above said i thoroughly enjoyed the game from story mode to online modes. I liked the fact that you had challenges to beat others you knew online for score and time on stages and the fact that you could set them for you mates to beat. If you like metal gear and the other splinter cells its a mix of all games of that genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aaah the good old days, 24 Aug 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Happy to report that the game is brilliant. Very much in the vein of the older games. Hide in the shadows and hide bodies etc. Theres 3 distinct styles to play Ghost,Panther and Assault. Ghost is little to zero impact. No kills etc. Panther ( my fave ) is where you kill enemies stealthily and skillfully and assault is a guns blazing shoot em up.
I prefer to play as a mix of ghost and panther like the older games. Chaos theory was my fave and it is most like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stealthy game, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Great stealthy game. More about the gameplay than a really grippy story. And a really well balanced multiplayer (if you play the classic spies v mercs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but missions can drag, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is great but it seems to go on for ages... I know this seems weird because the longer the better right?? it just feels like some of the missions drag on a bit more than they should but thats just me!

I would recommend buying this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GAME TO GET if you wanna get your 007-style secret agent on., 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
awesome smooth gameplay. Tonnes of weapons and gadgets and ways to kill your enemy. You choose how you wanna do your thing. super stealthy,knocking out and non lethal (ghost). reasonably stealthy but killing along the way (panther) or just go for it and power through the enemy cod style (combat). The stealth mechanism is done really well so the levels are challenging and realistic. there are also great multiplayer options and co op missions to do with friends. Only real criticism is with the single player story only having 10 levels and around 10ish other spin off levels the game can leave you wanting more just as your really getting into it. Even so it is THE GAME TO GET if you wanna get your 007-style secret agent on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Standard Edition (PS3)
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews