Customer Reviews


774 Reviews
5 star:
 (666)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


209 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As addictive as it's subject matter
Having watched Breaking Bad since it's first release, I decided to buy send this DVD set to my parents in NZ as a Christmas gift. Both are in their 80’s and I worried that perhaps it was too violent and the language offensive for them but decided to risk it as they both enjoy gritty films and novels. They received it just before Christmas and then I never heard from...
Published 9 months ago by Sherchic

versus
57 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality of Discs = zero
Breaking bad

What a shame that for nearly £50 the producers of this series of DVD's cannot produce a reasonable product.

We are not talking here of the quality of the programme, this is great. We are talking about the little plastic discs you need to put into your player. These are, at best, second rate at worst a rip off. Fortunately I have three...
Published 10 months ago by besidec


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

209 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As addictive as it's subject matter, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched Breaking Bad since it's first release, I decided to buy send this DVD set to my parents in NZ as a Christmas gift. Both are in their 80’s and I worried that perhaps it was too violent and the language offensive for them but decided to risk it as they both enjoy gritty films and novels. They received it just before Christmas and then I never heard from them for about a week which was rather alarming. When I finally got through to them, all they could talk about was 'Breaking Bad', how exhausted they were from watching it all night and how they couldn't wait to get off the telephone and back to the final episodes. My mum couldn't stop talking about 'Jessie' and how she adored him; my dad said without the swearing and violence, it wouldn't be authentic. About 10 days after Christmas, they finally got to the end, did some food shopping, caught up on their sleep and hurt their backs from overworking in their neglected garden. I was so glad to be able to share it with them!
p.s They've now told me that nothing else on television compares to this so they're thinking of watching it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Brilliant, 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The other day I was raving about "Breaking Bad" to a friend, who stopped me by asking "hang on, what's it actually about?"
Well, I said, it's about a colourless, underachieving chemistry professor called Walter White ( magnificent Bryan Cranston) from Albequerque, long taken for granted by family and friends, who finds out that he's got lung cancer. Resentment and anger slowly begin to consume Walter, with the inevitable destructive consequences to himself and those close to him. Hopelessly unable to meet his enormous treatment bills (God bless the NHS!), he decides to cash in by using his skills to manufacture and sell the viciously addictive and destructive crystal meth. Unfortunately for Walter, he needs assistance with production and distribution, and when he teams up with totally unreliable crackhead Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul), he finds that his troubles are only just beginning...
"Blimey", said the friend; "sounds like a real turn-off! You're actually watching this for pleasure?". So here's the essence of the dilemma. A simple synopsis will make some people want to avoid it like the plague, but if you're so minded, I'd urge you not to be put off. Yes, "Breaking Bad" grows very dark, but by turns it's also bizarre, surreal, moving, ironic, viciously satirical and hilarious. An awful lot of formulaic and uninspiring tv drama has come out of the States over the years, but recently, the standard has improved considerably, and "Breaking Bad" has led the way. The writing is impeccable, the cast outstanding, and the dramatic tension superbly maintained throughout the whole five series.
The series has been criticised by some on the grounds that it trivialises or sensationalises depravity, but I believe such criticism to be misplaced. "Breaking Bad" is a moralistic fable, and its message is a simple but profound one; drugs destroy lives and ravage communities. There are no winners here. Morals aside, it is simply magnificent story telling; we want to know what's going to happen, and care deeply about the fate of the motley and disparate group of characters which is being dragged along on one man's journey to the dark side.
It doesn't get any better than this. "Breaking Bad" will grip you like a vice, and you'll be desperate to arrive at the denouement, yet at the same time, desperately not want it to end. A superbly artistic piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest TV Series Ever!, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Kenny G (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The funny thing about Breaking Bad is that when you urge people to watch it, and describe the basic idea of the show, they think it all sounds a bit ridiculous. Well, hands up, so did we when it was explained to us. To anyone out there who has these doubts - put them from your mind! This is, without doubt one of the finest pieces of drama ever made. There is not a weak performance from any of the actors, and the consistent quality of the storyline is maintained through all 5 series. I would go as far as to say that Bryan Cranston's portrayal of Walter White (mild-mannered chemistry teacher gone bad) is bordering on genius.

Although there is a fair degree of violence on show, there is also a thread of humour that runs alongside, particularly in the earlier series. It does get quite dark towards the end, but by that time you have probably decided that some of them are getting what they deserve! The ending is perfect and left us feeling a bit breathless and strangely bereaved! What are we going to do in the evenings now? The only minor gripe we have is that the quality of the packaging leaves a bit to be desired (Blu Ray version). It looks as though they rushed to get this out for Christmas before it was perfected. Didn't affect the playing of any of the discs, so no stars off for that.

I cannot recommend this highly enough. Buy, borrow beg or scrounge a copy - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For every action..., 1 Mar 2014
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've just watched the 62nd and final episode of Breaking Bad and here, without any major spoilers, is why you should begin the same breathtaking journey.

The series is an action-drama that centres on Walter White. He's a 50-year-old respected chemistry teacher, just about keeping his family afloat with the aid of a second job at a car wash, who one day is given a diagnosis of terminal cancer. With a wife, son (who has cerebral palsy) and soon-to-be-born baby to care for, not to mention his considerable medical expenses, he needs money - and fast.

Walt takes the fateful step of combining his perfectionist chemical know-how with one of his more street-savvy former students, Jesse Pinkman, to 'cook' and supply the highest quality crystal meth that their area has seen. He discovers that once on this path, although there are many detours, it's very difficult to go back. Walt's relationships with his family and friends (including his DEA agent brother-in-law) are suddenly beset with problems, and he frequently relies on resourcefulness, ingenuity and serendipity to both keep his illicit activities from them and play the criminal fraternity at its own game.

So why does the series enjoy so much acclaim? It comes down to a brilliant original idea from Vince Gilligan, working closely with a talented writing team who, over the course of five seasons, hammer out every single plot point and use all the narrative devices in the book to tell an utterly compelling story of one man's embarkation on a hazardous voyage. Not just that, it has the magical combination of a first-rate ensemble cast (Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul play Walt and Jesse respectively), innovative hand-held camerawork (beautiful timelapse establishing shots; out of kilter POV moments) and excellent characterisation.

Because Sony was taking a tentative punt on the series and it coincided with a writers' strike, the episodes in the first batch are few in number (just seven). However, each of the next three seasons comprises thirteen instalments and season five is split into two runs of eight apiece. The low episode count for season one works to its advantage as it allows plenty of time to set the scene and introduce characters while still telling a blackly comedic tale, which leads directly into the series proper, if you like.

This is a programme you'll want to stick with. It continually raises the stakes as it goes on and, come the final episodes, you'll be bingeing on it. Breaking Bad is, quite simply, one of the finest examples of television art. There are many British shows that could learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Aboard The Crystal Ship!, 26 Nov 2014
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
[Br]eaking [Ba]d
The timing of 'Breaking Bad's inclusion as Product of the week was extremely fortuitous for me as the day it was up, I was half way through the fifth and final season. However I waded through the last few episodes so that I could form a complete opinion of the series and write this review, whilst watching the final episode. All 62, 3/4 of an hour long episodes of the AMC networks most noteworthy bit of television. BrBa started in 2008 and managed to keep on gaining momentum throughout its 5 season stint into 2013. The two differing periodic elements Bromine & Barium make up the clever logo, while Bryan Cranston & Aaron Paul form a superb on screen tag team, but neither could prepare you for the premise of the show.

Heisenberg (Cast)
Cranston, famous for his hilarious role as the bumbling loved up idiot father, Hal in Malcolm in the Middle, but more recently, the nuclear supervisor in the awful new Godzilla movie (but in a good way!) stars as the enthusiastic chemistry teacher with his glory days of nobel prizes and prized scientific research, behind him. Working two low paying jobs (the second as a car wash attendant) in the high altitude region of Albuquerque, New Mexico, Walter White collapses on the job, awakening to the news that he has inoperable lung cancer, the day after his 50th birthday... After his diagnosis, he makes it his mission to support his family (pregnant wife and son with cerebral palsy) by any means necessary: enter Mr. Pinkman...

Aaron Paul makes his name recognisable now thanks to his portrayal as Jesse Pinkman, a high school delinquent in Mr. Whites class, spends most of his days getting high with friends and selling meth as 'Cap 'N Cook'. Currently living in his late aunt's house, he evades the judgment of his parents due to his dingy lifestyle - that is until they reclaim the house and intend to sell it. Walt entices (blackmails) Jesse into forming a partnership, cooking in an ancient RV and selling the product. With his strong background in chemistry and Jesse's connections in the drug trade, the team seemed destined to flourish... right?
White's brother in law is the spanner in the works and simultaneously, a deciding factor in his decision making. A DEA agent, Hank, takes Walt on a ride along for a drug bust, impressed by the amounts made by the dealers. Hank is married to Walt's wife Skylar's sister - so you can see where a large portion of the drama comes from. Hank spends the majority of the series hot on the trail of the cartels and drug activity in Albuquerque, especially a new player known as Heisenberg who is selling a high strength blue meth.

Methamphetamine (Plot)
Crystal Meth, that horrible drug that turns you into a right loon with dirt brown, rotten teeth, is the focal point of this crime drama. Considering the family ties of the characters, you can see where all the lies and deceit creep into the plot too. Character progression seems well done here also as the main characters relationship gets put under unreal pressure and one becomes disillusioned and haunted by his actions whilst the other becomes more and more hostile and proud. Being 5 seasons long, detailing any more of the story would surely prove to be a spoiler so for now, a wealth of words can be used to describe what's in-store throughout the episodes: Prostitutes, Surgery, Poison, Red Phosphorous, Prisoners, Money, Guns, Bombs, Trackers, Acid, Addicts, Cars, Wheelchairs, Dealings, Chicken, Silencers, Attorneys - Better Call Saul!

Felina
In the end it felt somewhat anticlimactic to me. Perhaps it was the amount of time spent investing in the series (over 45 hours) or the standard being quite high throughout. The ending sequence of events just weren't as epic as others and seemed a bit of a cop out. Although it was still pretty raw with emotion and full of action. Personally, 5 series is a bit much, because there were certainly elements that could have been left out, in fact a whole season could have been neglected if you added up all the irrelevant arguments and breakdowns. That being said, Breaking Bad clearly had me vaguely hooked from the first few hours, it's impeccable acting and thought provoking story deserved all the accolades it has garnered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TV series without equal., 11 Nov 2013
By 
Keith Douglas (Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt the most compelling series I have ever watched, after reaching the end of one episode I could not wait to see the next. The transformation of Walter White from chemistry teacher and mild family man to drug kingpin is a triumph of acting from Bryan Cranston. He seems not only to change physically, in bearing and stance, but you can almost feel the evil beginning to take him over. As the seasons progress the episodes do get darker, and towards the end of the fifth series I found some hard to watch, so involved did I become with the beautifully drawn and believable characters.
But the end is worth waiting for, and all in all, I cannot praise this series too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No TV show will surpass Breaking Bad, 4 Sep 2014
The "Breaking Bad" Complete Series collection is a must own for fans of the show. If you've always watched the show or if you've just discovered it recently, then you know how great it is. If you've never seen "Breaking Bad", then I encourage you to give it a chance. Rarely has a show had this much universal acclaim (a 9.6 on IMDb, a 99/100 on Metacritic, 3 Emmy wins for Drama Actor and 4 Nominations for Best Drama Series, etc). [Note: If you want to sample the show, the entire series is streaming on Netflix at the time of this review].

This complete series blu-ray set features the same disc content as the now out-of-print "money barrel set" that was released last year. It contains every episode of the show as well as the special bonus disc only available in the Complete Series sets. So for those that missed out on the barrel set or just wanted simpler packaging, this new product is the perfect option.

No Spoiler Review begins here:

If ever a character personified the dichotomy of good and evil, it's Walter White. I don't watch too much TV, but I do believe this is the most interesting television character I've ever seen. In the first episode, Walt learns that he has terminal lung cancer. Therefore, he must - no, he decides to - cook crystal meth and leave behind a large sum of money for his family. So while being a meth cook is illegal and perhaps immoral, Walt's ultimate intentions are good... at least that's his point of view.

Make no mistake, Mr. White is a bad guy - if you saw him in real life or read about him in the paper, you would absolutely say he should go to prison (or worse) without hesitating. But through the medium of television and the 50+ hour journey we've taken with the character, there are still moments where the audience can identify and sympathize with him. Despite all the despicable actions he has done and all the deception of those around him, I often still find myself rooting for Walt. I think this is due to the intelligent writing on the show as well as the amazing performance given by Bryan Cranston. I'm confident you will find this character as interesting as I do.

There are two main types of narratives in TV. There's the plot-driven shows, where things move fast and there are mysteries to be solved - a lot of the enjoyment rides on the twists and turns in the story. Then there's the character-driven shows, that move more slowly - the characters are more realistic and well-rounded. "Breaking Bad" is a perfect example of how to simultaneously execute both types of storytelling - the interests of both plot and character coexist peacefully. The pacing is just right. There are many plot twists and surprises, but none of them render the show unrealistic. And above all, you care about the characters and find them fascinating. This series also plays with tension and conflict in a way that is rarely achieved in TV or film.

If you think of yourself as a "movie person" more than a TV person, then this is your show. The production value rivals that of your average Hollywood feature film. The fact that the directors achieve this with only a fraction of the budget of a Hollywood movie makes the accomplishment all the more impressive. In particular, I would like to single out the cinematography of the show - the camera work on display is near perfect, especially the time-lapse and POV shots.

Now at first glance, the story of a dying man with cancer, cooking meth, and depictions of drug use may sound unappealing and even offensive to some people on it's surface. But I'm confident that once you see the show you will understand how much more there is to the story and the characters, and drugs are never glorified. "Breaking Bad" is the type of show that my mother would hate on paper... but then she gives it a chance and winds up getting hooked!

So if you've never seen the show, hopefully I convinced you to give it a chance. And if you're already fan of the show, now's the perfect time to watch it again - I've seen each episode a minimum of 3 times. I hope I shared what I think makes "Breaking Bad" special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad -complete DVD box set, 29 July 2014
By 
Malcolm Baguley "wharfedaler" (ilkley moor - england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Why oh Why is this not on British TV. Probably the most evocative TV series ever to come out of America. The complete series is an absolute must to anyone who has watched this award winning TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Series Ever, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
We are currently on season 5 of 6. It is the very best series my partner & I have ever watched period.

We have both said that we will feel lost when we come to the end of the DVD's, when we bought the DVD's we said that we would watch & then sell on via eBay. But we have now changed our minds and we will keep them to watch them all again in about 12 months time.

I have never seen a better series than this in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chemical Brothers' final hit, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Until recently a cult favourite only, the ending of the show after its fifth season, as well as word of mouth and the usual accompanying hype, has resulted in a huge ratings hit and a TV drama that everyone seems to be talking about. If you're reading this you undoubtedly already have an idea of the show's premise; needless to say I only have good things to say, after following the rather unconventional stories of Chemistry teacher Walter White, and `Meth-head' dropout Jesse Pinkman.

Fairly light in tone for the first two series', the gruesome drug-related killings, corpse disposals, methamphetamine cooking, and run-ins with sociopathic drug dealers, are certainly dark, but are presented through a filter of comedy, resulting in a series that never takes itself too seriously but highlights the fine line between honesty and nihilism, whilst presenting morally repugnant characters for whom you cannot help but have sympathy.

From hereon in however, things gradually become darker, and our `heroes' start to cross the line in varying ways, dragging friends, associates and loved-ones into a maelstrom of violence, sordid behaviour, and ultimately despair. With arguably one of the best endings of any TV drama in the past fifty years, Breaking Bad will live long in the memory, and will no-doubt spawn a host of imitators in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD]
Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [DVD] by Bryan Cranston (DVD - 2013)
£40.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews