Customer Reviews


531 Reviews
5 star:
 (458)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As addictive as it's subject matter
Having watched Breaking Bad since it's first release, I decided to buy send this DVD set to my parents in NZ as a Christmas gift. Both are in their 80’s and I worried that perhaps it was too violent and the language offensive for them but decided to risk it as they both enjoy gritty films and novels. They received it just before Christmas and then I never heard from...
Published 5 months ago by Sherchic

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disc quality is appalling
Breaking Bad is an absolutely brilliant TV series and I'd recommend it to anyone. This box set however is a joke, the disc quality is absolutely appalling. Several of the episodes were unwatchable, which, considering it costs 50, is a joke. Don't waste your time with this product, buy it from somewhere that knows how to record a DVD without making a complete mess of it.
Published 4 months ago by Fearnside


‹ Previous | 1 2 354 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy - terrible media, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this product despite reading negative reviews on Amazon regarding defective media in this box set. I thought maybe problem solved, but no. Season 4, last disc, last but one episode completely stuck after about 15 min. Our Sony Bluray player began making disturbing noises and could only be "calmed" by pulling the plug.
Luckily we still have a very old DVD player which can handle those discs, at least until the end of season 4.
Never experienced something like this.
The series itself would get 4,5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chemical Brothers' final hit, 19 Oct 2013
Until recently a cult favourite only, the ending of the show after its fifth season, as well as word of mouth and the usual accompanying hype, has resulted in a huge ratings hit and a TV drama that everyone seems to be talking about. If you're reading this you undoubtedly already have an idea of the show's premise; needless to say I only have good things to say, after following the rather unconventional stories of Chemistry teacher Walter White, and `Meth-head' dropout Jesse Pinkman.

Fairly light in tone for the first two series', the gruesome drug-related killings, corpse disposals, methamphetamine cooking, and run-ins with sociopathic drug dealers, are certainly dark, but are presented through a filter of comedy, resulting in a series that never takes itself too seriously but highlights the fine line between honesty and nihilism, whilst presenting morally repugnant characters for whom you cannot help but have sympathy.

From hereon in however, things gradually become darker, and our `heroes' start to cross the line in varying ways, dragging friends, associates and loved-ones into a maelstrom of violence, sordid behaviour, and ultimately despair. With arguably one of the best endings of any TV drama in the past fifty years, Breaking Bad will live long in the memory, and will no-doubt spawn a host of imitators in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best television series ever aired, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Possibly one of the best television series ever aired. The transformation from mild mannered chemistry teacher to sociopath is incredible.

I sat down to "give it a go" and the next thing I knew I'd watched the entire first series and the breaking bad binge watch didn't stop there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad - Breaking Every Bar Set Before, 8 July 2014
To start with i am a big fan of TV Boxsets but i am also very fussy so it has to be extremely!! good to get onto my DVD Shelf.

I have all the best boxsets such as Game Of Thrones, 24, The Sopranos, The X Files etc so 6 weeks ago while browsing Amazon for a new Boxset i started reading Amazon Customer Reviews about this series Breaking Bad about a High School Science Teacher Walter White diagnosed with terminal lung cancer who decides that he will turn his Science skills to manufacturing Crystal Meth...I have to say i thought "Nah!!! no way am i going to like this " but the Reviews were so glowing that i paid my 50 and am i ever glad i did because it just goes to show how wrong my initial instinct was, as this is WITHOUT DOUBT!!! the best TV Drama Series ever to grace the small screen bar none!! i know all TV Series are different Apples & Oranges so to speak but for me as a Game Of Thrones,Sopranos & 24 Superfan to say that Breaking Bad is better than them all is a massive leap but it is undeniably better than anything else ever on the small screen.

The way that the Writers Producers & Director episode by episode slowly but consistantly transform and mould Walt from the mild mannered, soft spoken, brow beaten Science Teacher, into the cold, ruthless, clever,calculating, drug making kingpin is so exceptionally well done that undoubtedly Breaking Bad is without exception the most brilliantly crafted and superbly scripted TV Show in history.

Add to that the superb Oscar Standard!!! acting abilities of Bryan Cranston (Walt), Anna Gunn (Skyler) & Aaron Paul (Jesse) not to mention every other actor in this gem of a series then altogether you have a series that in my opinion will never be surpassed in terms of either script, production quality, charecter depth, plot subject mater or acting standard

I will not write any spoilers here but i will say this,in 25 years of watching the best TV Series i can honestly say that the last 5 episodes of Breaking Bad had me on the edge of my seat like no other Series ever has before and i very much doubt ever will again, i could actually feel my adreneline pumping

If you do not make a space on your DVD Shelf for this gem of a Series then you are missing the Small Screen treat of a lifetime

This show in Television terms is an absolute Masterpiece without equal

I'm off now to start watching it again as i can't get my head around having finished watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-Notch Dark Humor, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful laugh-out-loud black humor from the very first episode. Love it unreservedly! Have only seen the first two discs, but the quality of the writing and acting is excellent, and the time watching an episode just vanishes, poof! because the program holds your attention completely. We look forward to watching one episode every night (my husband's "rule" so we have time to read in the evening). I would go on a binge and watch until the toothpicks no longer kept my eyes open. Great series. In my view the only other great series (so far) are The Wire and Spiral (French), with The Killing (Swedish?) and The Bridge (Danish/Swedish?) in the "almost great" category. If you love black comedy, Breaking Bad's for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant! You watch one and want to watch next. On last two episodes and gutted it's got to end. If you haven't seen it, get it! It's defo worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive viewing..., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As soon as my fella and I are settled for the evening, its a case of who's the first to say 'fancy a Breaking Bad session?'. The only problem is that we're dreading coming to the end of box set, but to be fair thats a long way off yet....you certainly get your monies worth :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this after all my friends were going on about how good teh series was... It was better then I was expecting!!!!! The first few series are good but 4,5 and the last were so good!!!! It deserves every positive review it gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All bad things must come to an end. Remember My Name., 29 May 2014
Walter H. White is a chemistry genius, but works as a chemistry teacher in an Albequerque, New Mexico high school. His life drastically changes when he's diagnosed with stage III terminal lung cancer, and given a short amount of time left to live: a mere matter of months. To ensure his handicapped son and his pregnant wife have a financial future, Walt uses his chemistry background to create and sell the world's finest crystal methamphetamine. To sell his signature "blue meth," he teams up with Jesse Pinkman, a former student of his. The meth makes them very rich very quickly, but it attracts the attention of his DEA brother in law Hank. As Walt and Jesse's status in the drug world escalates, Walt becomes a dangerous criminal and Jesse becomes a hot-headed salesman. Hank is always hot on his tail, and it forces Walt to come up with new ways to cover his tracks.

Well directed throughtout the series, great cast, great acting all round.
Superb drama, very addictive tv show. Each episode always leaves you wanting to watch another. I haven't been hooked to a TV show like Breaking Bad in ages.The creator, writers, directors and actors have paid attention to every single detail.

Get on your sofa now and start watching "Breaking Bad" from the very beginning, and don't miss a single scene.

Highly recommend this. Great tv show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift for my son, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this box set for my son. Fast delivery and a great price for a box set. A must buy for all fans of breaking bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 354 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Breaking Bad: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Bryan Cranston (Blu-ray - 2013)
61.80
Usually dispatched within 5 to 9 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews