Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A homage to the old school
I really liked More Than A Lot when it was first released. It provided a unique twist on different aspects of drum and base and dubstep that worked really well. This is the same kind of concept, but this time Chase and Status are revisiting some of the classic dance movements that have taken place over the last 20-30 years or so. Count on me is a brilliant rave track...
Published 19 months ago by Dave

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More M&S than C&S
One of the criticisms levelled at No More Idols was that it was a couple of track too long. This album, by contrast, is more like 10 or 11 tracks too long. The opener 'Gun Metal Grey' is a tedious dirge that blunders in a stoned haze into the uninspiring dance-hall nursery rhyme of 'International' so that by the time the first of the singles is over it feels like this...
Published 17 months ago by BobbyBread


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars C&S deliver!, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Yankeeeee (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Chase and status have always been one of those annoying acts for me. Some of the tracks they've released have been absolutely amazing. Blind faith springs to mind! However, their previous albums have been a bit heavy on the tracks I just want to skip. Having heard two tracks from this album, lost and found; count on me, I was very excited to hear it and to see what direction C&S have gone in this time.
First impressions? This is a very varied offering. If you like the aforementioned tracks you will PROBABLY like the album. They're not all like the tracks released as singles. Pressure ft major lazer is very basement jaxx like, and blk & blu could easily be mistaken for Artful Dodger in its uk garage feel. Deeper Devotion has a 90s dance feel to it. The standout tracks are definitely the ones already released, and the rest although not as good, are not tracks to skip.
All in all this is a very good, varied, well produced album. I love count on me, it's one of my tracks of the year, but I wouldn't want to listen to a whole album of similar stuff. This is definitely am album you can listen to all the way through, but just keep an open mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHHHHHHHHHHASE AND STTTTTTTAAAAAATTTTTTTTUUUUUUUUUUSSSSSSS, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
I see so much hate from people for this album, but really dont see what is to hate, just because they havent done what there other albums where... which doesnt make sense either... because there previous two albums were rather different.

This Album shows a whole new level in what Chase & Status can do and what THEY can achieve, SO many great tracks on this album that i just cannot stop listening

all this hate that they are giving will it ever be enough ;)

only song i never liked was 'heaven knows' yet thats grown on me and has a real nice sound

I really like this album, and am proud to own the CD along with the other 2 albums.

SO BEFORE YOU LISTEN TO THE HATES. LISTEN TO THE ALBUM AND LET IT EFFECT YOU IN ITS OWN WAY

ive become found. peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They keep on getting better!, 13 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. S. J. Rawsthorne "Roast Beef" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Thought More Than a Lot and No More Idols were great and wondered where C&S would go from there. Brand New Machine takes things to another level and showcases their creativity with some great collaborations and some brilliant samples. Can't wait to see them in November!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars (not so) Brand New Machine, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
This is the third studio album from Chase and Status and is the follow up to their critically acclaimed and celebrated No More Idols.

The push to move electronic music to the forefront of pop music is not a new phenomenon - this album comes just a week after Sub Focus released their new album Torus; both artists clearly doing a great job at bringing Drum and Bass (and its various offshoots) into the mainstream.

'Brand New Machine' is a tribute to the variety of electronic music that flourished in the 90s. The album is instantly accessible (much like their previous works) and dips into trip-hop, dance, drum and bass and even a hint of r&b.

A far cry from their underground roots on the Renegade Hardware label, Saul Milton (Chase) and Will Kennard (Status) have lost alot of the ingenuity and rawness of real jungle and d'n'b but have on the other hand manifested a formula that will sell out venues and festivals. Its a scintillating pop sound that is still generating classic feel-good anthems.

Listen to: 'Count On Me', 'Heaven Knows', 'Lost & Not Found', 'Alive'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 19 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Dont know what these othwe people were thinking who gave it 5/4 stars, im very sure they're publisher paid reviews because this album is absolute trash. Without the name you would NOT think this is C&S. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
Andy (North West, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Got hooked on Chase & Status from Blind Faith on No More Idols, this is another good outing from the pair.

Count on me and a few of the tracks have an 80's/90's feel to them the album is another eclectic mix of great tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars did not live up to my expectation, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
could not live up to the previous album which was brilliant, some good tracks on there but some album fillers which dont cut the grade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same, Same, but Different. Still Fantastic., 4 Nov. 2013
By 
N. Bennett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
It's fair to say that Chase and Status' new album 'Brand New Machine' is an evolution of the captivating sound that found the duo their fame. Some of the tracks certainly pay homage to the drum and base routes that captivated C&S's original audience, but the collection of tracks is so much more, infused with rock inspired rifts, neo-grime cuts, garage sound bites and rave tones. It's a clever collaboration of styles that works very well in the main and shows off the guys real talent for dance music.

Whilst Chase and Status' second general release album (No More Idols) cemented their huge fan base with a generous offering of pop chart friendly hits this new album is a little less mainstream. It still offers a number of dance anthems with lashings of melodic content that will please the masses (including general listeners and festival go-ers), but this time it feels like the guys have also concentrated on creating a larger number of more personal, pure and heavier tracks that aim to please longer serving fans.

Without giving away too much, if you're a fan of Chase and Status, cadet or veteran, then go grab this album. You'll almost certainly like it or love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort, 1 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
After 'More Than Alot' and 'No More Idols' I was looking forward to this album. What a disappointment. Aside from the fact that I have to wade twelve tracks in before I get to any drum and bass, the unimaginative and formulaic tracks all feel like album filler which is a great shame. In an attempt to please everyone with a mix of styles, what C&S have in fact done is create an incohesive, album which is instantly forgettable. Poor effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great beats, 28 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Great album. Not as underground and raw as previous albums but still a great production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brand New Machine
Brand New Machine by Chase and Status (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews