Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sub Focus delivers on new album 'Torus'!
Loving this album!
The standout track has to be 'Safe in Sound' with vocal samples from Mary O'Hara's recording 'Óró Mo Bháidín' soaring beautifully over the track. Uplifting and life-affirming! If you want background on Mary O'Hara www.maryohara-travelswithmyharp is a good place to start
Go buy - you won't regret
Published 9 months ago by JDS

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre sophomore effort
UK dance producer Sub Focus has found moderate success in today's dance sphere, playing a host of visually dazzling festival shows and having a slew of chart hits. On his sophomore LP 'Torus' he mainly sticks to the tried and tested formula of euphoric build ups and crushing breakbeats. It admittedly works well in places, particularly on the stellar 'Tidal Wave', but over...
Published 9 months ago by Peter Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sub Focus delivers on new album 'Torus'!, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
Loving this album!
The standout track has to be 'Safe in Sound' with vocal samples from Mary O'Hara's recording 'Óró Mo Bháidín' soaring beautifully over the track. Uplifting and life-affirming! If you want background on Mary O'Hara www.maryohara-travelswithmyharp is a good place to start
Go buy - you won't regret
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From start to finish, this album is pure brilliance, from one of the best producers around right now. Every single track is good, but Out Of Reach, Safe In Sound and Tidal Wave are big stand-outs. This is a must buy for fans of dance music, or generally of electronic music, it's just wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
Love this album! Have played it to death in the car on the way to work! Every track is worth turning UP! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
Its very a unusual album, as Sub Focus was originally a drum and bass producer but going into dubstep and EDM was ok, but this album is a good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars torus, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Arsen Solovka "Arsen" (Mraclin, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
This is very good. A big comercial sound is here, but , in my opinion, very good choices of guest vocals and fine melodies. Also here we have 4/4 beats and synth pop & 80s sounds influences that improves complete listening expirience of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
Absolutely amazing album, cant stop playing it. One of the best electronic dance music albums out at the moment. There isnt a rubbish track on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
Great Album from Sub Focus like all of tracks just about off this album. Heard before Tidal Wave, Turn Back time etc.Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy but not too cheesey, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
I already knew more tunes on this CD than I was expecting which suggests a few had been around for a while before the CD I'd been so egerly awaiting arrived. That's not to say I was disappointed, its a good feel good CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey, this album warms the soul!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
D. Hooper "Dan H" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
This might be the first album review i've written in 20 years on Amazon so that may tell you what I think of this CD after 3 months of listening to it! The power, energy & feeling recharges my batteries no end, it gives me chills.. I am a fan of the first album and although Torus perhaps doesn't have the dirtier more basic sound it more than makes up for it for being a stunning collection of varied sounds and collaborations. Virtually all of the tracks are high scoring in my opinion but stand outs are Safe in Sound (feat Alex Clare), Out the Blue (feat Alice Gold), Out of Reach (feat Jayelldee), Tidal Wave (feat Alpines), Until the End (ferat Foxes).

I know some people may be grumbling that the sound has become commercial and I can appreciate that if they were hoping for a promising underground sound to continue.. but I'm very glad that this exists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torus (Audio CD)
one of my best albums to listen to in the car! :) definitely a good buy
can listen to over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torus
Torus by Sub Focus (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews