Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded Edition
Renegade is one of those albums which is often overlooked (and underrated) but it contains some absolutely classic Lizzy. Although Snowy White was often criticised for his laid-back stage persona, lacking Robbo's aggression or Gary Moore's energy, such criticism is irrelevant on record, where his ability is beyond doubt (if the best of this album and Chinatown had been...
Published 10 months ago by Derek Clacton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GRAMDAV
Not bad-maybe not vintage thin lizzy-but certainly worth a listen. If you prefer the raw rock music of lizzy then this album is probably not for you-but you pays your money and takes your choice.
Published 19 months ago by GRAHAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded Edition, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
Renegade is one of those albums which is often overlooked (and underrated) but it contains some absolutely classic Lizzy. Although Snowy White was often criticised for his laid-back stage persona, lacking Robbo's aggression or Gary Moore's energy, such criticism is irrelevant on record, where his ability is beyond doubt (if the best of this album and Chinatown had been on one release, I'm sure it would be regarded as a classic). The album opens typically strongly with the epic "Angel Of Death" - with Darren Wharton's atmospheric lengthy keyboard intro an instant indication of a new dimension to the traditional Lizzy sound until the guitars come crashing in. And with echoes of Jeff Wayne's Musical Version Of War of the Worlds (to which Phil Lynott had contributed with such great effect), it's full of menace. Although also over 6 mins long, the following track "Renegade" (a Lynott/White composition) is in total contrast musically; with its chiming guitars and evocative lyrics, strong on cinematic imagery: surely one of Lizzy's best! It takes until the third track, "The Pressure Will Blow", for the classic Lizzy harmony guitars to really make their presence felt and despite the sheer quality of the first two tracks, the familiarity of the twin guitar sound is more than welcome. "Leave This Town" isn't your typical Lizzy rocker (although it includes a typically clever lyric from Lynott) - it's more of a ZZ Top-style boogie, adding to the sense that the album would have a diverse approach. And perhaps that's where some of the dissatisfaction lies in some quarters - the willingness to take risks pays off in some areas more than others. For instance, "Fats", with its lyric inspired by jazz star Fats Waller, although musically close to "Dancing In The Moonlight ...", might have been more at home on a Philip Lynott solo album. Elsewhere, "Hollywood ..." was certainly a firm favourite with some supporters and album closer "It's Getting Dangerous" has some of Phil's most poignant lyrics.

As for the extras, I always felt that the "Trouble Boys" single was more Rockpile than Thin Lizzy and the b-side "Memory Pain" clearly reflected Snowy's blues background. Having them included here is great for completists, as a record of the time (and brings back memories of the band's somewhat shaky appearance at the Milton Keynes Bowl). The edited single version of "Renegade" and promo single and 12 inch versions of "Hollywood" complete the bonus tracks. It could be that the (unusual) absence of any hit singles accounts more than anything for the poor sales of the album. I reckon if the record company had released "Leave This Town" things might have been different but they seemed to give up supporting the band. More live material recorded at this time was released as b-sides and extras to singles from what would prove, sadly, to be Lizzy's last studio album (Thunder And Lightning) and the Deluxe Edition of that album has those extras. So although Renegade has relatively few bonus tracks compared with the other re-issues, the bargain price might tempt those not yet convinced about this particular line-up. It's one of those albums I don't play as much as others but each time I do I think wow - there's some great stuff on here. Although Lizzy's days would soon be numbered, the Renegade tour was a cracker (certainly to start with) and Phil seemed re-energised; confident enough in the new material to open the show with three unfamiliar songs - a risk which paid off (helped in no small measure by a great stage set complete with the album's red flags and lighting crew in cages above the stage, like ball turret gunners!). Even if it's maybe not a match for Lizzy's absolute best, there are plenty of highs on this album and this remastered Expanded Edition has a well-written and presented booklet - really, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Classic Rock, 22 Jan 2011
By 
S. Sutcliffe (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
This was always the best sounding Lizzy album on my top end sound system. Renegade shows the band at its most versitile while retaining the riffs. The title track has time and beauty and Pressure is great. Hollywood should have been a hit all around the world. I hope they remix the albums completely in running order, as Lizzy guitarist Scott says "We never had production". Did someone find wild one? Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but underrated, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
By the time Thin Lizzy recorded this, their eleventh studio album, the cracks in the band were not so much just beginning to appear, but rather to split wide open. Phil Lynott's sad dependency on hard drugs was spiralling out of control, and it can be heard - much of the soulfulness of his voice is gone and in it's place a gravely, strained tone; a shadow of his former self. Guitarist Snowy White appears on his second album with the band after 1980's 'Chinatown' but delivers little to the overall sound. He was, by Lizzy's own admission, more suited to playing blues rock than the driving hard rock of Thin Lizzy, and never really fitted in. They could certainly have used the talents of Gary Moore here. The album also does sound a little over-produced, like so many other hard rock and metal albums of the 80's.

Having said all that, the talents of Lynott and Scott Gorham are still there to be heard in spades and there are some outstanding tracks on the album, not least the melancholy title track 'Renegade' and the spine tingling 'It's Getting Dangerous', two of my very favourite Lizzy songs. There are other good tracks too; from a personal point of view, 'The Pressure Will Blow', 'Hollywood' and 'No One Told Him' are the other standouts.

Lizzy purists always seem to cite 'Renegade' as the bands worst album; they dismiss it out of hand, but I categorically disagree. Maybe it is disliked because there was a new sound emerging, a style dissimilar to the classics 'Jailbreak' and 'Black Rose', albums I love also. However, unlike the previous effort 'Chinatown' and the awful 'Thunder and Lightning', forgettable this is definitely not. It is at times a slightly frustrating effort; it has its ups and downs, but the ups are truly outstanding.

Why is it that this is the Lizzy album, more than any other, that really affects me? I believe its because it is a last hurrah, an album with flashes of pure brilliance, but ultimately flawed, the personification of Lynotts own personal struggles. This is the sound of a band in turmoil, disintegrating, but not going down without a hell of a fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rebel, a fool, an underrated album, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
Renegade is a very musically diverse album from the borderline metal Angel Of Death with it's eerie keyboard intro solo, to the jazzy track Fats. Some Thin Lizzy classics to come from this album in my opinion include Angel Of Death, Renegade, The Pressure Will Blow, and Hollywood. Those tracks alone should have been enough to gather at least a 3 star review from the "professional critics". If you read the review on AllMusisGuide, you will see a "critic" stating how the title track fails to "tug on the heart strings". That struck me as rather odd, as Renegade was as heavy as Lizzy could get before Thunder and Lightning. If any track on this album is meant to tug on the heart strings, it's It's Getting Dangerous. Here's some lyrics from the song.

"I remember him when we were friends, when we were young, way back then
But now we're all grown up and we're strangers
You see, bit by bit, part by part, we slipped and slipped
Till we'd grown apart and now we're strangers."

This was the second Thin Lizzy album I've ever listened to in full, and loved it. Fats and Mexican Blood are the only real detours if you're looking for straight up hard rock. Fats as I said above, is a jazzy track, with a great flow that is Would have been great on one of Phils solo albums as well as Mexican Blood, a more Spanish sounding ballad then Mexican, but I really don't care as I enjoy the song. Brian Downey, one of rocks most underrated drummers is as solid as ever, and truly shines on Angel of Death and the title track. Give Renegade a few listens and and judge for yourself. Don't listen to critics. Who cares if it's not the classic "Thin Lizzy sound", it's still a great album. 5/5 from me.

If you get this on CD, DO NOT GET THE WOUNDED BIRD REISSUE. Some of the worst crap I've heard in my life. Muddy sound with lost dynamics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thin Lizzy album you have to have, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
A Thin Lizzy album you have to have as it's now remastered and you get some extra tracks , GO GET IT .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GRAMDAV, 1 Jan 2013
By 
GRAHAM (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
Not bad-maybe not vintage thin lizzy-but certainly worth a listen. If you prefer the raw rock music of lizzy then this album is probably not for you-but you pays your money and takes your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace! Brilliantly transfered to CD, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
The quality of this disc is brilliant........CD transfer people take note.....THIS IS HOW ITS DONE!!!
If you owned this album you will not be let down with this CD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
An album that go some negative reviews when it was originally released, unjustifiably if you ask me. It's a good album, quite diverse, with a mixture of styles. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Getting Dangerous!, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Cecil A. Allen "Wickerman" (NoWheresville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
Thin Lizzy is great no matter what, so really, just saying that should be enough for you to buy this album. But I won't leave it at that. Out of everything they have done, this is still one of my favorites, not sure why that is, it ranks up there with Black Rose, Bad Reputation, and Thunder & Lightning, yes,Live and Dangerous. This album needed a major overhaul, remastering, which I think was achieved with great success. if you're like me, you are on a mission to replace the old versions with new, remastered, expanded editions, just get them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars renegade, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renegade (Audio CD)
A good album didn't deserve the title worst lizzy album ever . I enjoyed the album very much more so as I am older now . Lizzy always were a better live band than studio band . This album is the band moving with the times. Good album enjoyable but different very polished .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renegade
Renegade by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews