Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super value for money !
Always been a fan of the Sony Walkmens, from casette to MD and now MP3 ... so I just had to had this item on launch date.

I am very satisfied with the item. Its a very nice Sony product made in good quality, its simple to use though it also have some new features like "kareoke" (removing the vocals in the songs), dance (pitching the dancetracks), senseme (the...
Published 10 months ago by rimini

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars After buying Sony for 20 years I'm taking my money elsewhere .
I have always bought Sony because they have made excellent quality portable players. Unfortunately I was disappointed with this one. The player has less useful features and far lower build quality than my older Sony players. The casing around the usb cable has fallen apart. All in all not what I expected from Sony. My advice to Sony is either increase your quality or...
Published 5 days ago by Chris Ouellette


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super value for money !, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Always been a fan of the Sony Walkmens, from casette to MD and now MP3 ... so I just had to had this item on launch date.

I am very satisfied with the item. Its a very nice Sony product made in good quality, its simple to use though it also have some new features like "kareoke" (removing the vocals in the songs), dance (pitching the dancetracks), senseme (the walkman finds automatically the songs depending on your mood - and it actually works 90% of the time) - amazing ! Unit also do drag and drop podcasts directly from Sonys transfer tool called "Media Go", which can be installed very easy directly from the Walkman.

Most of all I bought this Walkman to play mp3s, and this job it does 10/10, it has a high volume output, which is missing on many other newer mp3 players. It is also not oversteering when it have to work for a high volume, I like this a lot !

When you get it in your hand you wont believe this small thing can give such a super sound output. Very nice finishing and nice to hold in the hand.

The walkman also have a very nice hires screen that can play videos in a very stunning quality, jpeg, bmp and other pictures can be shown flawless, even in high quality. When "importing" the videofiles from PC, the bridge from Sony will automatically adapt the file (smaller or bigger size) so it fits for the player. Good thinking from Sony !

Only things I missed was for Sony to include a 220V adaptor (the unit have to charge from PC USB), this can though be solved buying a standard 5V USB adaptor, the wire will fix right in. Also make sure to buy a cover, since this is not included in the standard package.

Overall, Sony did it again - this unit is amazing and very good quality ! 10/10 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does everything i want it to do, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
firstly, i didn't like the earphones, (the shape of them) though there's nowt wrong with them, (my mate nabbed them), so kept my own from a previous much cheaper player.
it's loud enough for me when noise reduction thing is turned off (i'm a bit deaf so need it loud.)
It has a hold button so it doesn't get accidentally activated.
i can download any song i like in loads of formats and videos. also a function on it for audiobooks.
i have accumulated a lot of songs and stuff over the years in many formats from many different sources and all went on smoothly without a hitch. i like the media go software, seems very logical. i can make playlists in the software on my laptop and also 'add to' playlist thing on the go from the mp3 player itself. sound is brilliant. like the buttons, totally controllable and all of it does exactly what i want it to do, as does the media go software. i can rearrange, rename, and generally do what i want with my music in the software, brill. just what i want. I tell IT what to do, it doesn't tell ME.its small and light and battery life lasts for ever before i need to recharge it. I listen to it for 8 hours solid at a time and it only needs recharging after the 3rd day or so. love it to bits. wouldn't be without it. had fun with the voice record, picks up even the quietest murmuring and subtleties. the video playback was a nice surprise the quality was excellent, playing cartoons for my grandchildren when they're bored on the bus is a life saver and saves loads of battery on their parents smart phones etc (cos they don't have to use their phones to access cartoons on the net on the go for them, brill.
love it to bits. ordered it and got it next day. no probs. love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
This arrived so quickly, promised by the 10th and arrived on the 7th which was brilliant as it was a birthday present. One very satisfied young man who is autistic and now calmer due to being able to listen to what he wants and shut out all other noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great MP3, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
A very good MP3 player, the battery lasts for absolute ever. Very easy to use and the sound is great. Definitely better than the iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to transfer files to, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Theo Hengist (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
This is a very compact and good quality MP3 player that comes with straightforward software for transferring files from my PC hard disk. The noise cancelling earphones are very good at reducing the background noise on the train during my morning commute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds amazing, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
I didn't buy this from Amazon but looked at the reviews before buying. Was a bit apprehensive as people said that the sound, especially the volume was awful. I downloaded approx. 12gb of music, switched the supplied in-ear phones with other Sony's that I had and pressed play. The sound was better than I expected. Turned up the volume and there it was, the sound I was waiting for. Went into sound settings and made a few tweaks and hey presto a great sounding mp3 player.
I always used to have Sony mp3 but have recently been listening to music on my smartphone. Big mistake. Never again. Back with Sony and will stay true to Sony.
Those of you who want to listen to your music through a piece of fruit you are missing out. And being taken for a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kicks the @ss of my creative, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Had 3 creative dens. First was probably 15 years ago and was great but big. Replaced it with a smaller one with better battery life but in the end it was too big and old. Got another creative Zen 18 months ago which was awful, full of software glitches and less functionality than its predecessor. Binned it and got this. I love it. Small, extremely light, but robust enough. Good noise including a decent bass and the battery life is eternal! If you want as I did a non-apple product this is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Bought for memory size and the fact that it's not an Ipod. Comes with software to download CD's. Comfortable ear plugs and lovely sound. Small and light weight. Easy to use. While Sony make many speakers for Ipods, they don't seem to make many with the WM port for their Walkman, which is a pity. No bluetooth on this one, which would solve the speaker issue. Overall happy with price and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Recommended MP3 Player with Great Sound and Build Quality, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
I bought this MP3 Player to commute with due to its fantastic battery life in comparison to my phone's battery which is quite bad! In any case, it's a lovely little unit with a sturdy, mostly metal build and nice, clicky buttons. But it's also very small and light - very comfortable in your pocket and easy to carry around. You could almost fit two of them into my phone screen!

I've had Walkman MP3 Players before and the sound has always been excellent - this is no exception. The sound is wonderful with details picked up well, none of the crackle you can get on cheaper MP3 players and rich bass. The bundled earphones also deserve kudos with built-in Noise Cancelling and great siund quality in and of themselves.

I do have a few criticisms to level, however. First up is the available memory - like most MP3 Players you don't actually get 16gb - the available memory is 13.6gb - it's not a huge issue but it something you should be aware of. Also, since the screen is so tiny, watching videos on it isn't going to be a fun experience. And the fact that it uses a proprietary WM-Port means that it is difficult to find a dock for it, if that matters to you (they are available, but in a very, very limited selection and almost exclusively from Sony themselves).

With that in mind, however, it is still a great MP3 Player. If your primary purpose is listening to music, especially on the go, then you won't go far wrong with this Walkman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound, 8 April 2014
By 
Mr B Horton (Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
The audio quality is excellent. The controls are easy and I can navigate through my music library and audio books quickly. The sound is much better than the iPad Air.
The Media Go software makes transferring content from a PC easy. There is plenty of storage space. I doubt I will ever use all of it.

Long battery life and it only takes 4 hours to charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews