Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super value for money !
Always been a fan of the Sony Walkmens, from casette to MD and now MP3 ... so I just had to had this item on launch date.

I am very satisfied with the item. Its a very nice Sony product made in good quality, its simple to use though it also have some new features like "kareoke" (removing the vocals in the songs), dance (pitching the dancetracks), senseme (the...
Published 13 months ago by rimini

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Second Sony Walkman to quit in a year, on ...
Second Sony Walkman to quit in a year, on both occasions told it was my fault for getting it wet when all I did was change songs in a little bit of rain. Expect a sturdier product for this price. Maybe they should only sell it in countries that are predominately desert.
Published 2 months ago by BAD


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super value for money !, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Always been a fan of the Sony Walkmens, from casette to MD and now MP3 ... so I just had to had this item on launch date.

I am very satisfied with the item. Its a very nice Sony product made in good quality, its simple to use though it also have some new features like "kareoke" (removing the vocals in the songs), dance (pitching the dancetracks), senseme (the walkman finds automatically the songs depending on your mood - and it actually works 90% of the time) - amazing ! Unit also do drag and drop podcasts directly from Sonys transfer tool called "Media Go", which can be installed very easy directly from the Walkman.

Most of all I bought this Walkman to play mp3s, and this job it does 10/10, it has a high volume output, which is missing on many other newer mp3 players. It is also not oversteering when it have to work for a high volume, I like this a lot !

When you get it in your hand you wont believe this small thing can give such a super sound output. Very nice finishing and nice to hold in the hand.

The walkman also have a very nice hires screen that can play videos in a very stunning quality, jpeg, bmp and other pictures can be shown flawless, even in high quality. When "importing" the videofiles from PC, the bridge from Sony will automatically adapt the file (smaller or bigger size) so it fits for the player. Good thinking from Sony !

Only things I missed was for Sony to include a 220V adaptor (the unit have to charge from PC USB), this can though be solved buying a standard 5V USB adaptor, the wire will fix right in. Also make sure to buy a cover, since this is not included in the standard package.

Overall, Sony did it again - this unit is amazing and very good quality ! 10/10 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over iPod!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
I had an early Sony Walkman tape player and years later bought the original iPod when it first came out. I bought this Walkman as I was looking for a way of listening to music on something that wouldn't need to be recharged every few hours. A while ago I bought a 64gb iPhone 4S which does the job but the battery isn't great even though I have had the battery recently replaced and have as much background stuff switched off. I am just back from a 3-week cycle trip and felt there must be a music player that has a better battery life and here it is. Buying this has allowed me to transfer a pile of music files from iTunes indirectly to the Walkman (download provided software called Media Go. You then have both Media Go and iTunes open side by side as windows. Drag music files cross to Media Go). This has a battery life that would easily exceed the occasions I would have listened over 3 weeks on a single charge. But the bonus is the sound quality. No matter what I do to the same music file the sound from an iPod or iPhone through the same headphones are vastly inferior to the music from the Walkman. Yes it has a few downsides such as it requires a direct connection to add music or podcasts but the sound, battery time, overall size outweigh the iPhone. It is time for Apple to wake up as Sony is back in town. Apple has sat on its laurels assuming everyone would naturally migrate from an iPod to iPhone which will then allow iTunes to dominate but not everyone wants this arrangement. Some of us wish to manage OUR music OURselves. Last time I updated my iPhone my music library disappeared to be replaced by music I had bought from iTunes only. Enough ranting. The Sony Walkman is a better music player and I'll shut up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does everything i want it to do, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
firstly, i didn't like the earphones, (the shape of them) though there's nowt wrong with them, (my mate nabbed them), so kept my own from a previous much cheaper player.
it's loud enough for me when noise reduction thing is turned off (i'm a bit deaf so need it loud.)
It has a hold button so it doesn't get accidentally activated.
i can download any song i like in loads of formats and videos. also a function on it for audiobooks.
i have accumulated a lot of songs and stuff over the years in many formats from many different sources and all went on smoothly without a hitch. i like the media go software, seems very logical. i can make playlists in the software on my laptop and also 'add to' playlist thing on the go from the mp3 player itself. sound is brilliant. like the buttons, totally controllable and all of it does exactly what i want it to do, as does the media go software. i can rearrange, rename, and generally do what i want with my music in the software, brill. just what i want. I tell IT what to do, it doesn't tell ME.its small and light and battery life lasts for ever before i need to recharge it. I listen to it for 8 hours solid at a time and it only needs recharging after the 3rd day or so. love it to bits. wouldn't be without it. had fun with the voice record, picks up even the quietest murmuring and subtleties. the video playback was a nice surprise the quality was excellent, playing cartoons for my grandchildren when they're bored on the bus is a life saver and saves loads of battery on their parents smart phones etc (cos they don't have to use their phones to access cartoons on the net on the go for them, brill.
love it to bits. ordered it and got it next day. no probs. love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
This arrived so quickly, promised by the 10th and arrived on the 7th which was brilliant as it was a birthday present. One very satisfied young man who is autistic and now calmer due to being able to listen to what he wants and shut out all other noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony now restored to the lead with latest WalkMan product, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Having always regarded Sony as a bit overpriced, I can't deny that their old WalkMan products were about the best available for portable audio..... until Apple came along and stole the crown.

Time moves on, Apple lifted the bar to a good standard with their original iPod, and certainly raised everyone's expectation of what they have to pay. The trouble is, their products haven't exactly moved on, their battery life isn't so great, the quality has (in my opinion) dropped, they have kind of lost their touch. This has left the door open for Sony to step in with their new WalkMan range, and they appear to have done a pretty good job of it.

If a 4 hour charge for over 70 hours of playback fails to impress you, the noise cancelling arrangements are sure to blow you away. I am unsure if this works on the basis of the supplied "bud" type earphones or uses a built in microphone within the device itself (which I suspect), but the effect on aircraft and train background noise is remarkable. Put it this way, the effect is as good as my £100+ Sennheiser noise cancelling headset, which makes this offering from Sony very worthwhile. Add in the ability to record voice, and you have a very useful conference recorder.

Despite the sales blub telling you that it won't work with FLAC, I found that mine works very well. The software provided ("Media Go") is actually pretty useful and very easy to use. Download what you want, don't waorry about DRM (who does?) and enjoy your sounds in superb quality.

On the downside, the proprietary Sony USB interface is a disappointment, and Sony's legendary post guarantee service (legendary, inasmuch as they charge you more to fault find than the product is worth, so nobody bothers) is bound to disappoint., as anyone who bought one of their EBook readers and then got abandoned by them will testify. The 16G is a bit of a misnomer, too, as there is only around 14.2G available after you have deleted the sample media.

Overall, move over Apple, an old and highly respected favourite has returned, with some bright new features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds amazing, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
I didn't buy this from Amazon but looked at the reviews before buying. Was a bit apprehensive as people said that the sound, especially the volume was awful. I downloaded approx. 12gb of music, switched the supplied in-ear phones with other Sony's that I had and pressed play. The sound was better than I expected. Turned up the volume and there it was, the sound I was waiting for. Went into sound settings and made a few tweaks and hey presto a great sounding mp3 player.
I always used to have Sony mp3 but have recently been listening to music on my smartphone. Big mistake. Never again. Back with Sony and will stay true to Sony.
Those of you who want to listen to your music through a piece of fruit you are missing out. And being taken for a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kicks the @ss of my creative, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Had 3 creative dens. First was probably 15 years ago and was great but big. Replaced it with a smaller one with better battery life but in the end it was too big and old. Got another creative Zen 18 months ago which was awful, full of software glitches and less functionality than its predecessor. Binned it and got this. I love it. Small, extremely light, but robust enough. Good noise including a decent bass and the battery life is eternal! If you want as I did a non-apple product this is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acessing NWZE585 Walkman, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Better than expected , simple to use once you try couple of times even without any instructions.
Easy to access pages searching for a particular song , and although it is NOT 16 GB , more likely 13.5,
there is plenty of space to squeeze your CD library . And for those prospective crooners , the karaoke function
is great fun . After going through two iPods the last four years and both developing some problems , I opted
out for the Walkman , and I am glad I did . Fully recomending it .
Takis E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
Bought for memory size and the fact that it's not an Ipod. Comes with software to download CD's. Comfortable ear plugs and lovely sound. Small and light weight. Easy to use. While Sony make many speakers for Ipods, they don't seem to make many with the WM port for their Walkman, which is a pity. No bluetooth on this one, which would solve the speaker issue. Overall happy with price and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to transfer files to, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Theo Hengist (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZE585 16GB Walkman Video MP3 Player - Black (Electronics)
This is a very compact and good quality MP3 player that comes with straightforward software for transferring files from my PC hard disk. The noise cancelling earphones are very good at reducing the background noise on the train during my morning commute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews