Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready to go and Duracell quality
Duracell pre charged AA batteries (4 pack)

I needed some reliable rechargeable batteries for my flash gun (Nikon Pro 910's). I have tried generic brands and found they did not hold their charge for very long even though they claimed to be much better than these Duracell's.

Straight out of the packet these have given me over 250 flashes which is much...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Richard The book boy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pre-Charged.......really?
I've only been using these batteries for a week or so and therefore can't comment on their performance as they'll have to discharge and recharge several times before they settle down. These batteries are advertised as being pre-charged but this is nothing short of a myth. I put them into my charger and they were only 30% or so charged. Now if you believe the further...
Published 6 months ago by WK


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready to go and Duracell quality, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
Duracell pre charged AA batteries (4 pack)

I needed some reliable rechargeable batteries for my flash gun (Nikon Pro 910's). I have tried generic brands and found they did not hold their charge for very long even though they claimed to be much better than these Duracell's.

Straight out of the packet these have given me over 250 flashes which is much better than I had been getting using better specified generic ones (2900Ah ones). It looks like you get what you pay for and these are expensive but will last so I will buy more of these for my flashguns.
These are also guaranteed by Duracell for 5 years which is a bonus. Excellent batteries and well worth the extra money over the generic rechargeable I had previously.
Just to mention the Amazon marketplace seller sent them using 24 hour signed delivery
and were very well packed. Very good service from Babz Media and as they were delivered in under 24 hours great service too. I have no hesitation in recommending them and I will certainly be using them again for my batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good cells, 3 Jan 2014
The claim that 'Duracell are the best' is generally not true, at least not compared to other top brands such as Panasonic. Duracell don't actually manufacture any of their own rechargeable batteries, but outsource what they want and wrap it in their own label with their own marketing spin on it. This has led to hit and miss quality in Duracell's rechargeable line in the past. However, their Staycharged cells generally make use of re-wrapped Sanyo/Panasonic eneloops (make sure to get the made in Japan white tops for this), and these now appear to be re-wrapped Sanyo/Panasonic 'eneloop pro' (or 'XX' to the UK and EU market). The eneloop line is widely accepted as the best in the market, so this is of course good.

I would emphasise, do not buy Duracell assuming that they are the best; their name on a battery doesn't mean it will be good. However, the 2000mah Staycharged (if white top and made in Japan version), and these new 2400mah made in Japan dark grey top Duralock cells are genuinely the top on the market right now, being re-branded eneloop/eneloop pro/XX cells.

The Staycharged white tops have 1000-1500 charge cycles and 2000mah capacity, whereas these Duralock's have 2400mah capacity (20% more) and only 500 charge cycles (50-66% less). If you want top capacity go for these, if you want greater longevity go for the 2000mah Staycharged ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality, 23 Jun 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
These are most probably re branded eneloop batteries, originally developed by Sanyo now being produce by Panasonic. They are pre-charged to around 75% at the factory.

Performance is top notch and ideal for high drain devices such as flashguns. I suggest using a quality charger for these batteries rather than dumb chargers to maximise battery life. I generally use Maha, Technoline and La Crosse chargers as these will monitor each individual cell during charging, hence they will prevent overcharging. Other good quality chargers are also available.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get some and help conserving resources and your pocket., 11 July 2014
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
These work very well. I use re-chargeables for devices that suck power. Not for remotes since that would kill the batteries and would be a waste of resources - use the Duracell Procell for those slow draining requirements - which are great and due to how they are packaged/branded they are much cheaper than regular duracell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pre-Charged.......really?, 4 Jan 2014
By 
WK (South Lanarkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
I've only been using these batteries for a week or so and therefore can't comment on their performance as they'll have to discharge and recharge several times before they settle down. These batteries are advertised as being pre-charged but this is nothing short of a myth. I put them into my charger and they were only 30% or so charged. Now if you believe the further product blurb, it claims they can stay fully charged for almost a year! Would I therefore be correct in deducing that the batteries I bought must have been sitting on a shelf for over 2 years to have discharged so much? Well no, because the year of manufacture on the packaging (if you can believe that as well) says 2013.

I think I'm becoming disillusioned with Duracell. They look good thanks to their colour scheme but the real test is their performance. Over the past year or so the only (alkaline) batteries that have leaked when in use in equipment have been Duracell, but maybe I've just been unlucky. I'll have to wait and see how their rechargeable batteries behave. Not the most promising start though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best buy batteries, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These batteries are the best! They came charged and ready to use. My son says they are great for his camera that non chargable batteries drain very quickly. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars batteries, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. I don't know why more people don't invest in these. The charger is easy and the batteries last a long time once charged. I liked the fact that they came ready charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good pre-charged batteries, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
Good value, very useful that batteries were pre-charged, although charge did not last that long. Hope 'life' will be better once batteries have had a couple of full charge cycles. Quick delivery on standard delivery, good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go green - best value pre-charged rechargeable, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Vinay (Eastleigh, Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These Duracell precharged batteries have a 2400mAh rating which surpasses Duracell's older generation of "precharged / ready to use" cells, which were rated at 1950mAh. So they should last 20-25% longer. They do cost a little bit more than the previous generation, but the extra capacity should be worth it for most people.

The packaging indicates the batteries are made in Japan, so the quality should be good. It is claimed that the batteries will hold 80% of their charge for upto 1 year. The batteries are also guaranteed to "last for 5 years or 300 recharges, whichever comes first". The older 1950mAh batteries were supposed to handle up to 1000 recharges, but I'm not sure how important that is in real applications. Even if you were a heavy user and recharged these every week, you'd still get 6 years use out of them - and save an absolute fortune on the equivalent alkaline cells.

The low self-discharge characteristics of these cells means they can be used in applications where traditional rechargeables would not have worked well - so things like wall clocks, radio-controlled clocks, remote controls should all be fine, along with normal items like wireless mice/keyboards, digital cameras, LED torches and various toys.

The cell capacity (as measured on a BC900 intelligent charger) was over 2500mAh for all 4 cells.

A reviewer on amazon.com thinks these batteries are the same as the new Sanyo Eneloop XX and I agree. If you ignore the plastic sleeve/branding, then these cells physically are identical to the new Eneloop XX. The Eneloop XX is spec'd at 2550mAh typical, 2450mAH minimum and these Duracell cells seem to match that. So buying these might save you 3 - 4 over the Eneloop XX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy pack, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duracell Pre Charged Rechargeable 2400mAh AA Batteries--Pack of 8 (Personal Care)
I was pleasantly surprised how quickly these turned up and being already precharged was a boon. I put them to good use straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews