Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Detailed Review of the Period
The text is well written and easy to read. Basically if you want to get some detailed knowledge of this period for non academic purposes, it's probable you have found what you're looking for here.
Published 7 months ago by Marga

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An introductory text
I purchased this book after I had read several texts about Richard III because I wanted to know more about the key women of the period. The book is simply and clearly written but somewhat repetitive and serves to illustrate how little information there is about these three women.
The narrative voice of any book is important to me and I like biographers to take a firm...
Published 2 months ago by gimmielinda


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Detailed Review of the Period, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
The text is well written and easy to read. Basically if you want to get some detailed knowledge of this period for non academic purposes, it's probable you have found what you're looking for here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars behind the White Queen......, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
I bought this after watching The White Queen on TV. I found it really interesting to find out a more factual account of the characters but it only strengthened my opinion of how dangerous a time it was and how influential these women actually were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good research, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a very detail insight into the lives of these three women. Very interesting and well written -
certainly worth reading for anyone interested in the period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent history of the Wars of the Roses, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
It took me only a few pages to realize this was going to be a very enjoyable read. This book is probably the number one book I would recommend to casual readers because it is so well written in an accessible, lively style. I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about these three women., 11 Aug 2013
This book covers everything you need to know about Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort and Elizabeth of York. I'm not that interested in detailed politics of the day because I'm more interested in these women's lives in general and controversial issues such as Elizabeth of York's alleged relationship with Richard III (a hot topic nowadays). This book is written in an easy-to-follow style, which is great because I don't like when narrative strays from the main topic (women) and describes unimportant details which I would, eventually, forget. I picked this book to learn about the women who played a major part in the Wars of the Roses and I really enjoyed reading it. I would definitely read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, interesting, informative, entertaining!, 12 Aug 2013
This book is an excellent account of the Wars of the Roses, and specifically, the leading ladies of the time. The book is well written and extremely easy to read, making history an approachable subject, rather than the dry topic that more academic book can turn it into. An enjoyably book recommended for anyone who wants to learn more about this era without subjecting themselves to text books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
Not quite as interesting as other books I've read, not finished, maybe will pick up at later point & continue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three for the Price of One, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
Great and interesting read. I Really enjoyed this book. Would read more by this author anytime. Happy hours passed by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Good read., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
Well written,leaving the reader with lots of facts but also lots to think about.putting the authors own views across.Well informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the lives of three women., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women of the Wars of the Roses: Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret Beaufort & Elizabeth of York (Kindle Edition)
The book flows well and it's a good book to dip into as the chapters break it up into manageable chunks. The book gives you a good insight into the lives of three women who played such a vital role in shaping the history of England. A lot of the narrative and conclusions are based on other sourced material but it allows you to make up your own mind. Some of the narrative is brief and I feel that vast chunks of their lives are missing.
Fir the price, it's good value and worth downloading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews