Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RARITY VALUE
Great to see old British movies revived again, in such good quality prints
If you are into old British movies you'll love it..if not then....well!!, but remember these were the films of the day and should not be dismissed...bring on more volumes
Published 4 months ago by B. Gilbert

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Musicals of 1930s
Think you have to be really interested to appreciate this..Love and collect music of 1930s.. bought it especially to see Henry Hall Music Hath Charm's..film.. rotten plot and dialog Worst still the actors talk over a favourite and forgotten number called 'Honey Coloured Moon' A few highlights featuring Henry Halls band. The other 3 movies.. Uggg!!
Published 3 months ago by Mr. R. Mrs J. Hampson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RARITY VALUE, 30 Nov 2013
By 
B. Gilbert (TADWORTH SURREY ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see old British movies revived again, in such good quality prints
If you are into old British movies you'll love it..if not then....well!!, but remember these were the films of the day and should not be dismissed...bring on more volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Musicals of the 1930s, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD set is a must for movie buffs who love the early musicals. .Many of the catchy tunes in these movies will never be available on CD and the idea of releasing these little gems on DVD is a revelation. The quality is good, the price is right, and I look forward to Vol 2. I'm also hoping that a very entertaining British musical called " Music Hall " (1934) will be included in this wonderful series,starring the very popular DeBroy Somers Band..

G Herbert
Hastings
New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical heydays, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Kevin T. Turner (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
All the films have been restored to a high standard. The one I least enjoyed was the H Hall picture, his name being mentioned in nearly every frame,however his music is still delightful to listen to.
The other films are all different in style and content with some great dance routines and musical content.
A nice change,with a pace easy on the eyes and ears.
Most enjoyable,and a relaxing way to relish the great days at British International Pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good example of the 1930`s musical, 9 April 2014
By 
J. M. Harman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A very good DVD; as a BBC man I found the musical, "Music Hath Charms" interesting from the point of broadcasting history. Also, the views of Broadcasting House London and the Langham Hotel, - at one time a BBC building - were of great interest to me, as I worked for a time in both these buildings.

The plot of the film was rather trite, but no matter, it still remains an important milestone in cinema history. Space does not permit analysis of the other films featured, but I would recommend this DVD to anyone.

John Harman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Musical DVD., 26 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Bruce Martin "pips dog" (Hatfield, Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am always interested in British musicals of the 1930/40 period. This dvd gives variety and the Henry Hall band a chance to shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Musicals of 1930s, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Think you have to be really interested to appreciate this..Love and collect music of 1930s.. bought it especially to see Henry Hall Music Hath Charm's..film.. rotten plot and dialog Worst still the actors talk over a favourite and forgotten number called 'Honey Coloured Moon' A few highlights featuring Henry Halls band. The other 3 movies.. Uggg!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars living on borrowed time, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my father who's 93 as he can remember this era well.
I thought he was going to lap them as I know he still enjoys watching many US musical films from the same era. However, when I asked for his opinion he said they were living on borrowed time, like himself. He felt they have not aged well, and weren't up to the standards of the US equivalent. I certainly won't be trying them as I'm 30 years younger than him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbccd3da4)

This product

British Musicals of the 1930s - Volume 1 [DVD]
14.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews