Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost as good as Iggy Peck, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
Maybe if I had read this one first, it would have got five stars but the story is not as good as Iggy Peck. Still worth reading and the fabulous stylised illustrations delight in their own right.
Also good to have a female engineer as a role model.
Way to go Rosie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
A refreshingly techy book for little girls who don't want to be just girly. Rosie is a role model for the girl of today. My 4 year old Rosie recipient loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
S. watkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
A wonderful book for little girls with enquiring minds that deserve so much more than a disney princess for a role model. My daughter loves this book and we have read it many times. The only downside is that the book is american and so is the language so some of the lines don't rhyme unless you say them in an american accent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as Iggy Peck, Architect, 8 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
This doesn't quite have the panache of Iggy Peck, Architect, but it is still lots of fun, and any book featuring a female engineer and celebrating the role of women in aviation history is a good thing in my book. It is also a book about persevering when things fail at first. I think maybe its worthiness dulls the story slightly?

So Rosie is in the same class as Iggy Peck (who isn't mentioned but is recognisable) and as you'd expect she likes to make contraptions. However, one of her earlier such inventions results in her getting laughed at by her uncle and she gives up showing people her inventions. Then her great-great aunt who used to build aeroplanes turns up and says she wants to fly. Rosie can't help but to try and make her a helicopter. However, when the helicopter only just gets off the ground briefly, her aunt laughs and she is filled with dismay. However, it turns out that of course her aunt is laughing with enthusiasm and of course everything ends happily.

The book did feel a bit American - less due to the language it uses than to the references to hot dogs, cheese spray etc. I felt it interfered a bit more with the book than with Iggy Peck architect but not ridiculously so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, beautifully illustrated, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Dawes "Flowspace Architecture" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
Leading on from Iggy Peck Architect, another great kids story about the kids in grade 2 from Blue River Creek. My five year old loves it! Again amazing illustration from David Roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream big, little ones., 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
Rosie has fantastic ideas and works so hard to make them real, then presents them to her favourite Uncle and...he laughs. The heartbreak! She grows more timid, but is inspired to try again. Will this time be different? Well, at some point in all our lives, we learn that sometimes never trying is worse than failing.

Great companion book to Iggy Peck:Architect. My 3 and 5 yr old kids love it and at the end of each reading, they hold their fists up chanting, "We can do it!" Great story, wonderful inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely loved this book as well as Iggy peck architect, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
My 7 year old nephew and also my 7 year old son, absolutely loved this book as well as Iggy peck architect, more please, we love it. On some levels educational but written in a very engaging way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this book, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Kindle Edition)
This is one of my five-year-old son's all-time favourite books. We bought it for him a year ago, and it still regular comes out when he's choosing books for story time.

I love it, as well. They key message—that failure isn't something to be feared but to be learned from—is fantastic. It also doesn't hurt that the main character—a creative, ambitious, budding engineer—is a positive female role model.

I don't write many reviews, let alone may five star reviews, but this book very much deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely daytime reading time material, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
Not as good as Iggy, but a great addition and a lovely story. Lots of interesting side details to look at, great for reading with the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl power!, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Scottish reader (High Blantyre, South Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosie Revere, Engineer (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, my 7 year old loved it!! Great strong message, rhyming text a la Julia Donaldson. Going to buy more as pressies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosie Revere, Engineer
Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty
£6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews