Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific 'supernatural' thiller
Amusing in parts, very tense in others. This is a great thriller with a supernatural edge. I read this in one sitting - couldn't put it down.
Extremely well written and paced.
Published 15 months ago by Neb

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I did not like this book. The story seems to be interesting, but the way it is told made it difficult to read for me. Too much dialogue and not enough feel for the setting and characters. As a result it felt flat and shallow. Shame, because it could have been so much better.

I thought the main character's wife was supposed to be a goody, but she irritated me...
Published 9 months ago by hamptoncherry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific 'supernatural' thiller, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Kindle Edition)
Amusing in parts, very tense in others. This is a great thriller with a supernatural edge. I read this in one sitting - couldn't put it down.
Extremely well written and paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Download now, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully written book, a real page turner. The late Richard Matheson was a great writer. If you liked this book you should consider downloading I am Legend and What Dreams May Come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Paperback)
Couldnt put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real joy, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Paperback)
Having heard about Richard's passing earlier in the year, I found myself wanting some nostalgic reading. After all I loved the tales he wove within the Twilight Zone, and I've also enjoyed other books that the author had written, but for me, having really enjoyed the Kevin Bacon film " A Stir of Echoes", I'd never taken the time to sit back and read the tale that inspired it.

So without as a tribute to the author, I finally decided to bite the bullet and get round to it. Its wonderfully written, has some great prose and whilst showing its age, it does entertain the reader as they weave their way throughout this cracking story. Back this up with some wonderful turns of phrase, great dialogue and a wonderful arc all round makes this something special to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Kindle Edition)
I did not like this book. The story seems to be interesting, but the way it is told made it difficult to read for me. Too much dialogue and not enough feel for the setting and characters. As a result it felt flat and shallow. Shame, because it could have been so much better.

I thought the main character's wife was supposed to be a goody, but she irritated me. The male character came across as a weak and indecisive individual. Ghostly apparitions and paranormal events failed to engage or interest.

I found myself skipping paragraphs and pages, which I do not usually do.

I expected more after reading about this writer on the web
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stir of Echoes (Kindle Edition)
Excellent service as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Stir of Echoes
A Stir of Echoes by Richard Matheson
£4.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews