Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blazing Fast SSD
The Samsung 840 EVO drives are definitely blazing fast SSD. I do feel that SSD drives in general are still slightly overpriced when considering the fact that these are now mainstream, and no longer belonging to a niche market. Yet to be fair, it could still work out as a much cheaper option than buying a new laptop or desktop computer.

The SSD in my review is...
Published 2 months ago by A. Camilleri

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as fast as I expected
I updated my PC recently with this SSD recently and wasn't impressed with the bundled software, it failed to work after several attempts to clone my entire C:/ drive, so after all that messing about I decided to do a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate luckily I own the retail version so it wasn't a problem.

I did notice a slight increase in speed but nothing...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Ben Tyreman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blazing Fast SSD, 9 Jun 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
The Samsung 840 EVO drives are definitely blazing fast SSD. I do feel that SSD drives in general are still slightly overpriced when considering the fact that these are now mainstream, and no longer belonging to a niche market. Yet to be fair, it could still work out as a much cheaper option than buying a new laptop or desktop computer.

The SSD in my review is mounted on a desktop running Windows 7 (64bit), i7 processor with 16GB RAM. My motherboard does not support SATA 3 yet the speed increment is astounding!! Windows 7 actually starts in 7 seconds!!

-----------------

Pros:

✓ Lightning fast drive

✓ Super easy installation

✓ Light on batteries (for laptop users)

✓ "Samsung Magician" software works great for firmware updates and SSD optimization. The software also gives you 4 options: Max Performance/ Max Capacity / Max Reliability / Advanced (Custom mode)

✓ Macbook Pro compatible. I had issues with other SSD drives, yet I bought a smaller EVO to fit in the MacBook and it works a treat

*Prior to mentioning the cons, I would like to point out that these apply to most SSD and not just the Samsung.

Cons:

- Samsung recommends turning off indexing for reliability. Doing so means that you can no longer search for files from the "Search programs or files".

-----------------

Considerations:
- In order to use the drive to its full potential, AHCI Mode must be enabled in the bios, and motherboard should support SATA 3.

- A 500GB SSD or greater is recommended as one of the features Samsung software offer is Over Provisioning. A part of the
SSD itself is used for this option thus decreasing the physical size of the disk. The Magician Software itself says:
Quote "Over Provisioning (OP) optimizes the performance and lifespan of your SSD" unquote.

Time will tell how reliable this blazing fast drive will last. I have selected not to turn off indexing, as I need to search for files quite often.

SSD technology is the future, and these drives will improve and prices will continue to decrease.
If you need a fastest SSD to date, than the Samsung Evo drives offer the best bang for the buck.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fast, needs better instructions, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. A. Clarke (Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
This has transformed my windows 8 pc, from fully off to useable in 10 seconds.

I migrated the hard drive but to make it easier
1) download the latest version of the software, the packaged version crashed every time after 3%
2) remove all unused program's and defrag the drive before migration

Very simple ( with the latest software) and a huge improvement on the old drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic piece of hardware, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
I've put this into a VMWare ESX host and it goes like a rocket!

I would definitely recommend buying one of these. In fact I'm just about to buy the 1TB version too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent performance increase, 30 Nov 2013
By 
C. D. Knapp (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
Fitted this to a SATA 2 desktop PC after I had pruned old data and programs and the PC now boots in about 40 seconds compared to 150 seconds previously. Photoshop opens in 10 seconds, I can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars biggest speed upgrade for a PC, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
This is the biggest boost to performance for a PC. If you are looking for an upgrade in performance this is better than a faster processor or more RAM, assuming you have an SATA 3 interface. PC now boots in around 3 seconds from entering the login password. Programs load in a flash.

Supplied software is easy to use and will enable you to clone your current hard drive on to the SSD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
Such a great, fast and reliable hard drive. No problems whatsoever. I definitely would highly recommend this product. it was cheapest one that I found on Amazon compared to other websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
Best thing I could have done for my laptop, its response times have increased dramatically, especially when opening programmes and access files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great piece of kit, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
installed with no fuss, only a couple weeks in but the change is very noticeable coming from a HDD. shuts down quick, starts up quick, using the pc is now my quicker, i think laptops should all have SSDs as standard, i no longer get the tons of heat and noise produced by the old HDD, which is better for all the other laptop internals too.
im using it in my sony vaio sa 13" laptop and didn't need the upgrade kit version of the SDD (comes with plastic spacer and data transfer cable) the cable is necessary but i picked one up for cheap on amazon. be aware however if your laptop requires a spacer there is no way to buy one separately, you must purchase the more expensive samsung evo SSD with upgrade kit.

buy this you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung 840 EVO 500GB, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
The new Samsung EVO SSD is an ideal upgrade for anyone who is either wishing to move to SSD's or increasing the capacity of a previous SSD. Fully Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new drive, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 500GB SATA3 2.5 EVO Basic SSD R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm, MZ-7TE500BW (R:540ˇMB/s,W:520ˇMB/s,7mm 840 EVO Series) (Electronics)
This is a winner, its fast and its quiet and so easy to install also good price. recomend this instead of HDD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews