Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couch potato paradise!
Having previously owned a Roku XS2, I decided to upgrade and now use the older one in the bedroom. I have to say this is much snappier (things load like you'd expect a modern streamer to do (almost instantly), whereas with the XS2 there was always a delay of 3-5 seconds for each app to load. Not essential, but very welcome--though it will still depend on the speed of your...
Published 4 months ago by Ric03

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The cost of the Roku 3 in the US is $99.99,with the current exchange rates the cost to the UK customer should be approximately 60,but best price that I could find was 89.99,that's over 20% more than the US price.
Reviews are misleading because they are usually American reviewers,they write about apps that are missing on the UK Roku 3,and they are major...
Published 10 days ago by J. WALLACE


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couch potato paradise!, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
Having previously owned a Roku XS2, I decided to upgrade and now use the older one in the bedroom. I have to say this is much snappier (things load like you'd expect a modern streamer to do (almost instantly), whereas with the XS2 there was always a delay of 3-5 seconds for each app to load. Not essential, but very welcome--though it will still depend on the speed of your internet connection (anything above 5mbs should play fine). I never use the headphone socket on the remote, but it is a nice feature if you want to watch late at night or use it (as another reviewer suggests) as a portable music player.

They are fairly easy to set up. You need to plug it in, let it find your network (and enter your wireless password if you're using wireless), then go online and register at Roku. The box will give you a code to enter online, then it installs all the channels and you're done. You can add/remove channels in the channel store.

As for content, you get:

BBC iPlayer (includes TV/Radio and the ability to store favourites)
Netflix
4oD (nice app and has a huge catalogue of older programmes--same as 4oD website)
5oD
YouTube
BBC News
Sky News
Now TV (Sky Sports 9.99 for 24 hours, Sky Movies 14.99 per month and Sky Entertainment Package (includes Sky Atlantic) currently 4.99 per month introductory rate)
Sky Store (tons of New and old movies, Pay Per View between 99p and 3.49)
Plex (Stream Video files, YouTube, iTunes and some other channels from your Computer, also bookmark web videos from your browser to watch on the Roku later)
Crackle (some decent older movies--see the website--but ad-supported)
Spotify (requires premium membership)
Vevo
DailyMotion
IGN
Fox News
Russia Today
Euronews
Angry Birds

450+ Rubbish channels.

I really only use it for iPlayer, 4oD and Netflix. Though the news channels are useful (on Sky News you can watch the latest weather report whenever you want). The picture on Netflix is fantastic (though it seems to auto adjust to the best picture depending on your internet speed). I'd highly recommend one if you can afford it, if not then the Roku 2 is probably your best bet. If Netflix isn't essential then you should probably just get a NowTV player from Sky for 10. I'd certainly not recommend a PS3 (as another reviewer suggests) unless you specifically want to play games (besides the initial extra cost, Roku consumes around 5 watts, whereas PS3 is 100+ watts).

UPDATE: Recently got a TV card for my PC and use it a lot for recording films. Using Plex I can stream things recorded with Windows Media Center to my TV with the Roku app. You just have to install Plex Media Server on your PC, add a "home movie" collection to your Plex media library and link it to the folder you keep the video files in. It plays Windows Recorded TV Show (.wtv) files fine :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 7 April 2014
By 
J. WALLACE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
The cost of the Roku 3 in the US is $99.99,with the current exchange rates the cost to the UK customer should be approximately 60,but best price that I could find was 89.99,that's over 20% more than the US price.
Reviews are misleading because they are usually American reviewers,they write about apps that are missing on the UK Roku 3,and they are major omissions!
B Sky B is a major shareholder of Roku,so their Now TV service is included along with Sky Store.Amazon Instant Video is missing,Why?....I'll let you draw your own conclusions.
There is an Android and iTunes app called-ROKU CHANNEL GUIDE,it's an app that lists what is available on the US version of the Roku,with careful research you'll discover what's missing on the UK box....one missing item is M-GO,a Film Buy/Rent service that has a built in search engine,allowing you to find the film or tv series you want with price comparisons,this is a major omission,Crackle,the free film provider has also withdrawn its service from the UK market.
There's good content on the Roku,but you have to plough through a lot of poor stuff to find it,then there's the missing Gems!!!!
I won't return my Roku,I'll give it away sometime in the future.There's always the "Smart" tv choice,or Google Chromecast with Amazons Fire TV on the horizon,two big muscle companies ......watch out Roku!!!!!
We always seem to pay more and get less,or is it just me?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1 star reviewers didn't read the description or instructions, 12 Oct 2013
By 
N. S. Mitchell "Geek" (Plymouth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
This is the best media streaming box I have used, previously I have worked with the PS3 and XBOX 360 to stream iPlayer, Netflix etc. Roku 3 is faster, easier to use and has the AWESOME WiFi remote with a headphone jack to relay sound to.

This audio output in the remote is excellent for Spotify, TuneIn or even your own music (via USB or the PLEX media server app on PC, Mac or mobile device.) take the remote into another room, plug some speaker in and enjoy your music throughout the house.

The PLEX app also enables access to Video and photos on your other devices too - And PLEX is an awesome DLNA replacement - It creates order from the chaos that is my "Videos" folder on my PC, organising shows into seasons, getting synopsis data from the web even looping the theme tunes as background music!

PLEX can also access iTunes on your PC.

But of course, Netflix and iPlayer will be what is used the most, and they work perfectly, great picture, great sound, simple navigation. Add in the mobile device remote and you can even have voice navigation.

And it has a USB port which can accept USB sticks or external HDDs - perfect for backup copys of DVDs and blurays!

The only downside so far is the lack of of 4OD, YouTube and ITV player - but I'm sure they are coming soon.

***Update 4OD and YouTube are now available *****

*****New Media (was USB) app update makes it much easier to use AND IS DLNA COMPLIANT! - and the "Play on Roku" function of the mobile app is superb. *******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded already high expectations. Perfect cord cutters device., 1 Feb 2014
By 
Kieran (Aylesbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
I buy a lot of these gadgets and help friends set up etc. So familiar with the Apple TV, Chromecast and Western Digital Media streamers.

Hope you find this review useful, as the other reviews left me with a good few unanswered questions.

The reviews online and technical specification gives a list of apps that are supported on Roku. However that is the tip of the iceberg. Think iOS or Android App store, and you have a better idea of just how diverse the apps are on Roku. If you can steam it in the via a tablet or PC, I would be willing to bet you can get it on here. The app store is found from within the Roku menus, no installing via computer required.

Particular star apps for me:

Plex - The reason I bought this device. It lets you play Movies, TV shows and Music that you have on your PC or Mac, using the power of the computer to transcode the video so it can play via the plex app on the Roku, iPad, iPhone etc etc. This means no longer having to worry about movie formats etc. The reason Plex was on my hit list, was the amazing community based artwork and reviews system that you get when it adds your movies to the list. Like browsing a professional on demand movie system but from movies you have simply stored in a folder. Next level way of watching movies, much more than just putting them in an alphabetical list.

Screensavers - Great surprise to have apps that allow you to randomise your picasa web pictures, facebook pictures or if you want something eye catching, have a fish tank in your TV or maybe a lava lamp? Awesome for setting atmosphere. Was not expecting this so really pleased how cool these various screen saver specific apps are.

Spotify - Not something I had really contemplated using on a TV, but the App is fantastic and can see myself having it on screen next time we have people over.

Sky News and other big brand content providers - Never would have thought I would want this until I had a play. The Sky News 'channel' is amazing, it isn't at all as boring as I would have expected, can go right to programs and shows, such as Tech news like SWiPE (20 minute program updated weekly I believe). Really in depth apps, which when opened reveal lots of interesting sub section, think Youtube for the Sky News network. Just have a browse through articles you think you might like and kick back for 10-30 minutes.

Remote control is also perfectly adequate, with batteries included and no issues at all with signal or distance (tested with approx 5m away from TV). Not tried the headset that came with it, which you will probably have read allows audio bypass if you want to watch something late at night or have kids sleeping in the room. Not mentioned on most sites, is that you also get a volume rocker on the remote control for when in headset mode. Nice touch.

One single negative (minor) thing I have noticed, is that content on Netflix and Crunchyroll take approx 10-15 seconds to go from normal quality to HD, slowly improving during that time. Most apps on computer or iOS that I have used, scale up to full quality HD within 3-5 seconds. Still, nothing to grumble about. (ps. I have 120mb cable, so it's not my connection).

Hope you found this review helpful. Great work Roku.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultraviolet solution, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
I have been trying to find a simple way of watching my ultraviolet film collection on my tv ....and not just on my tablet. Whilst some smart tv have a flixster app, they only show trailers, not my film collection.
I am delighted to say that the roku 3 is my perfect solution. Simple to set up, easy navigation and the flixster channel showing my ultraviolet film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Streamer. Bad personal media player, 2 April 2014
By 
K. Howard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
As a Streaming media player for playing subscription services from the internet like Netflix, NowTV and the BBC iPlayer I found the Roku 3 to be a very good, simple, competent device. Channel support was high, picture quality was acceptable and setup and controls were simple and easy to use. I particularly liked the accompanying Android app which allows you to use your smartphone as a remote, finds and adds new channels and even pushes media from the phone to the Roku box.

As a personal media player for playing music, videos and photos stored on computers, NAS drives and USB disks I found the Roku box to be awful. It supports DLNA, but not windows shares like most modern media players that I've used. I found navigation basic and ugly, file format support poor and the minimalist remote simply not up to the task of controlling some video files. A high percentage of my video files simply wouldn't play or played without sound.

Until something better comes along I will be using 2 media players under the TV.

Pros: High channel support, decent picture quality, excellent Android (& iPhone) app, headphone socket on remote
Cons: No Amazon Prime, poor file format support, no support for windows shares, box is unusable without creating a Roku account and giving them personal (and credit card) details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every Penny, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
I've only had the Roku 3 for a couple of days but I am very impressed with it. I didn't think it was going to work because I live out in the sticks and my Internet connection isn't as fast as it should be. However, it works like a dream, was very easy to set up and is an aesthetically pleasing piece of kit. Admittedly, a lot of the channels available aren't worth storing but if you are a Netflix subscriber, a fan of the BBC and Channel 4 and enjoy YouTube, the Roku is indispensable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little streamer with a patchy app line-up, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Philip (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Streaming boxes such as the Roku, or the New Apple TV (Latest Model - Launched Mar 2012) are single purpose devices. Unlike consoles such as the PS3 and the Xbox 360, which also play discs and of course, games, these devices live or die by how many third party streaming services they give access to. The Apple TV is still a total dud for UK audiences, so the market is wide open for Roku to fill it.

Sadly the results are rather poor, and improvements arrive at a glacial place. The easiest way to illustrate how useful this box will be to anyone reading this, is to list which streaming services it provides access to.

BBC iPlayer - Yes (720p)
Netflix - Yes (1080p HD)
Demand 5 - Yes (SD)
4OD - Yes (SD)
Now TV - Yes (720p)
YouTube - Yes (720P)
CrunchyRoll - Yes (SD)
Spotify - Yes
VEVO - Yes
BBC News - Yes (SD)

Amazon Instant Video - No
Amazon MP3 - No
ITV Player - No
Sky Go - No
Animax - No
MUBI - No
Curzon on Demand - No
Blinkbox - No
Sainsbury's Entertainment - No
Knowhow Movies - No
Wuaki TV - No
Last FM - No
BBC Sport - No

The big omissions are clearly the Amazon services (ironic, given how Roku originally distributed the Roku in the UK exclusively through Amazon), and of course, ITV. As a film fan, I can't manage without Amazon Instant Video, which I find to be the best of the UK film streaming services by quite some margin. If you're a fan of art house, classic, and non English language cinema, MUBI is also essential.

Roku are very keen to trumpet their hundreds of channels, and that's true, there are plenty in the channel store. However, the aim has clearly been quantity over quality. Outside of the well known services everyone looks for, you'll find little of interest in the store. The mix is spread fairly evenly between obscure films - and by obscure, I mean straight to video efforts made for pennies, non-English language TV - which are mostly Indian and African, UFO/Ghost/Conspiracy Nut/Nonsense channels for crazy people, and most terrifying of all, a very wide array of ultra hardcore religious channels. The abysmal quality of 99.9% of channels makes looking at the channel store a total waste of time.

I should add that there is no support for DLNA streaming in the Roku, although you can install the very bare bones PLEX app if you run a PLEX server on your PC and stream local content that way. It's worth stating the obvious however, that PLEX won't stream anything which has DRM on it, such as video bought from iTunes. One nice feature of this latest Roku is a headphone jack in the remote, which could be useful for those who don't want to disturb others in the house.

Sky now sell a variant of the previous generation (and now discontinued) Roku 2 box as a way to push their Now TV service, and presumably because of this Demand 5 and 4OD have recently appeared on the platform. Given that Sky block Netflix from their own branded Roku 2, it seems highly unlikely they will want Amazon Instant Video to arrive. Roku UK seem totally disinterested in acquiring new services, so if you want to watch Amazon Instant Video, or use Amazon MP3, then this isn't a box I would recommend. If you're happy with iPlayer, Netflix, 4OD, Demand 5, and Now TV, then this may suffice, although I'd still recommend a PS3 instead, which does a lot more for only a small premium over the price of a Roku 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An excellent device flawed by intrusive advertising and an arrogant attitude, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
From a technical point of view the Roku 3 is great. I bought it as a low-hassle replacement for a PC I was using to provide BBC iPlayer and Plex for my TV. It does have one massive glaring fault for a device costing nearly 100 - large and intrusive adverts in the user interface. These adverts cannot be turned off or opted out of. They take up nearly a third of the 'channel' screen. Lots of people have complained on the Roku forums and the only Roku response is that they hope people will find the adverts 'valuable over time'. How patronising? You can block the adverts if you block the following sites on your router..

api.roku.com
cloudservices.roku.com
channels.roku.com/images

The downside to this is that you can't add new channels without re-enabling access to these sites. Truth is, you should not have to just through these hoops to keep a device you paid 90 or 100 for free from adverts. Come on Roku - sort this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for use with fast broadband, great purchase., 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 3 HD Streaming Player (Electronics)
I bought the Roku 3 after seeing a review on You Tube by "Before You Buy" and recommended by a colleague at work. It makes my 4 year old flat screen HD TV as smart as most of the new TVs out there. Would recommend to anyone with a good TV that just needs something to connect it to streaming services. I know Apple do something but if you want to avoid going into the "walled garden" that is Apple then the Roku 3 is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8b65b8)

This product

Roku 3 HD Streaming Player
79.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews