Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A huge help with family history!
I couldn't do without this book. I started researching my family tree over 2 years ago and found that there were things I didn't understand, information I needed but didn't know how to get and this book points you in all the right directions. It also details what certain occupations were about and their importance and has a few links to the programme - shows how they...
Published on 20 April 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reinforced my existing knowledge
I found this useful as a top up of my existing genealogy knowledge. I hardly need to use it now as the extra knowledge it gave me was soon absorbed.
Published 11 months ago by Ronald Pettet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who do you think you are, 16 May 2012
This book is fantastic, once you start you cant put it down. Help me so much in my family tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new bible!, 25 April 2011
By 
M. Hardman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been tracing my family history on and off for over 2 years and thought I knew what I was doing. Not exactly so. This book gave structure to an otherwise chaotic pile of notes and focused my mind on a more methodical approach rather than my pile-in-with-both-feet method that was just leading to confusion and frustration. Great tips and, even if you've already started tracing your family tree, don't omit the chapters for beginners. There's always something to learn even when you think you know it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, best one to start with, worth every penny, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, a good book to start researching with, thoughtful, well written, easy to read, rather heavy but comprehensive can 't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who do you think you are?, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Clive Bushell (worcestershire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is very informative for the new researchers in family history, it enables you to follow suggested routes to find your decendents and tells you the best places to find the information you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anstry, 4 May 2009
By 
S. Carrier (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it is very usefull for what i wanted. it gave good information on how to trace your family.also how to use the files at any arcives office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Fans of the Show, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for someone who is a huge fan of the show and loves researching family history. Said it was an amazing guide to finding out where to get more information and was great to dip in and out of when doing genealogy research. The book itself was in perfect condition and arrived on time :) A+ product from an A+ seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this as a present for some-one who had just started researching their family tree, they were very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative, 13 Feb 2014
By 
G. Amis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are? Encyclopedia of Genealogy: The definitive reference guide to tracing your family history (Text Only) (Kindle Edition)
Being new to genealogy this book has been really useful although it does contain rather more information than I needed for my own use - a lot to get through - and it would have been better to own it as an actual book rather than the electronic version I have as then it would be easier to flick through to recap and go back to the important info as and when needed. But very comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my husband., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has used this Encyclopedia from the library and is delighted with his own copy. We have attended talks by Nick Barrett and find his knowledge amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who do you think you are? encyclopedia of genealogy the definitive guide to tracing your family history, 11 July 2013
By 
iris (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book recently from amazon, and I have to say I am suitably impressed
I am currently tracing my family tree ,and felt that a good book such as this, would be helpful to me .this is more than excellent this book really does go the extra mile to help you in your quest to uncover your family history, all the sections are easy to read and packed full of really useful information in fact this is the family tree bible ! written by Dr Nick Barrett of Who Do you think you are ,
this really is the definitive guide to genealogy highly recommended and extremely pleased with the great value for money for this book !an absolute must have for any family historian or those keen on learning more about genealogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10b60630)

This product

Only search this product's reviews