Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars8
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2013
For the past four years I've bought The Economist's excellent 'Pocket World in Figures'. This year I've also treated myself to The CIA World Factbook 2014.
The CIA book is completely different, with detailed sections for each country rather than league tables.
Some of the statistics are new (marked 'estimated July 2013'), most are fairly recent and a few are much older (as old as 'estimated 2003').
The type is small so you'll need good eyesight and/or a spotlight above the book. The country and regional maps are in greyscale, sometimes blurred and generally very poor.
I've spotted a couple of typos but so far haven't seen any glaring statistical errors.
This book is a great achievement, easy to dip into and a bargain. For around £6.36 (or let's say the price of three High Street coffees), Amazon will deliver this almost 1,000-page book to your door.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Loads of facts. This is not glossy - cheap paper and tiny print. A few gaps in the information. However, you can impress (or bore) your mates with impressive knowledge of the GDP of Moldova for example, or life expectancy in Guatemala.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
An excellent guide for anyone who needs to know the specs on various countries, quickly. Lots of useful information, well laid out and easy to use. Need to know what language they speak in a given country? or the majority faith? or the main export? Population? and much more. All here. Dont be misled by the name of the book, it pretty accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Thought this would be interesting but it's the most boring book you could imagine. Political facts about population, finances. Pages of figures. I thought there might be some criminology in it but no.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
This is the third CIA Fact-book I have bought. Excellent reference work and super value for money.
The detail is excellent, although the layout and priorities could be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
What can I say, worth every penny and is a very large book, covering every country in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
My son wanted this and loves it! He said its brilliant he loves anything like this and has enjoyed it very much
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)