Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2006
Lantos' world came undone when - as a small boy - he was deported by the Nazis to Bergen-Belsen. Many years later, after becoming a medical doctor in England, he returned to Hungary to reconstruct what happened to him and his family. His memoir is beautifully written and captivating, and he has done a wonderful job of discussing terrible suffering in simple, moving, and insightful ways. He has not only written a sensitively narrated memoir, but he has also done an expert job of sleuthing his family's history in order to fill in the heartbreaking gaps left by the Holocaust. I recommend this book highly.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
This is an immensely readable memoir by a very remarkable man of events which will never lose their power to shock.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Such a lovely, inspiring book, which kept me riveted throughout. A true account of a young boy's journey from childhood to Belsen, his survival and subsequent journey into manhood. A heartbreaking account of the suffering of the Jewish people and small pockets of kindness shown. A truly remarkable man who describes his life without a hint of self pity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Peter Lantos' book 'Parallel Lines' is an amazing account of how the lives of his Hungarian Jewish family were affected by events in the second world war, and how small chances could allow people to be killed or live. Deported as a small boy along with his parents from Hungary to Bergen Belsen, Lantos tells how his father died and how he and his mother's lives were saved when they were put on a train out of the camp which was eventually liberated by the Americans. Other trains ended up in Auschwitz, his took a different turning. At the end of the war he and his mother returned to Hungary to discover that his elder brother had died. Other members of the family died, others survived. After the war the family were subjected to continuing anti semitism and then to action from the ruling Communist authorities. Lantos eventually came to this country where he became one of our most prominent neurosurgeons. Our gain was Hungary's great loss. One of the most poignant stories in the book is the telling of the death of his own mother who after surviving all the tribulations of the war died in a road accident. Lantos is a remarkable man and this book is fascinating, a few different turns could have led to a totally different story with very sad consequences.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
The life story of a wonderful man….who allows us to see what was THE MOST HORRIFIC PART OF HISTORY, through his eyes…

It is not a book for the beach… and it is not a light story…
But it is a valuable book and it makes you think and APPRCIATE LIFE… and the luxury to be free…

THANK YOU Peter Lantos to share YOURS STORY with all of us….
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Although I would not normally read this sort of book, it was one which had been selected for our book club and all members found it to be a moving story (although some found it a bit depressing).

Seen through the eyes of a child and also learning somebody managed to survive and make something of their lives despite such a tough start was interesting and provoked quite a bit of discussion in our meeting.

I recommend it as a good book .....
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I was a little unsure on downloading this book due to the sensitive nature of the subject, but I decided that Peter had a story to tell that he wanted the world to know. The basic outline of the book is a subject known to many, but from a child's innocent eyes, understanding nothing as to the reasons why he and his family were embarking on this journey made this a unique read. I can't recommend this highly enough, in fact, the book could have been twice this length and it would have still gripped me cover to cover. It put into perspective our daily gripes and when we feel things aren't quite going to plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
The story of a life tuned upside down and then the right way up again. From Child to adult - living through the most horrendous times of war on the Jews.
The story told from a child's perspective as to how life changed and the not knowing why, what or where?
Compelling read!
The writer came up against so many situations for which he got no answers, but had to live on in acceptance.
It is amazing that anyone survived to tell the tale.
Thank God his life was spared and he was able to pursue a wonderful career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A truly outstanding book, very well written and easy to follow.
I say a genuine thank you to the author.
Llew Sadler. Bolton Lancs
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
I really enjoyed this, a non-emotional retelling of a story of one family's outcome during the Second World War told mainly from the perspective of a young boy but extending into his early adulthood under another repressive regime. Whilst obviously being aware of the history and having read many more 'dramatic' accounts, this touched me, particularly the writer's attitude, coming across throughout the book of wanting to understand the reasons for it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.